User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Covid Rules Stuff with Spinko on the Pub Forum

Bridge Hotel, Durham

North Road
Durham
DH1 4SP
Phone: 01913868090

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Star Pubs & Bars (Heineken)

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about Bridge Hotel

Called in because the Station House was closed temporarily. Alas, no ale of any note to try so had a half of lager and left to catch my train.

On 5th January 2017 - rating: 4
[User has posted 1673 recommendations about 1671 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about Bridge Hotel

The Bridge Hotel is very hand for Durham train.
Once inside there is a single room which runs the width of the pub,the seating is bench type and normal tables and chairs.
There were three real ales on the bar,i had a drink of Hook Norton Lion which went down well,the other beers were Caledonian Flying Scotsman and Everards Mad Hatter.
I thought this was a very pleasant pub to end my Durham crawl in.

Pub visited 19/3/2016

On 24th April 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about Bridge Hotel

A disappointing visit here before catching our train from the nearby station. The three beers on the bar were Theakstons Lightfoot and two from Caledonian: Flying Scotsman and Autumn Red. I've had the train beer before, notably in very good nick last month in the Town Hall pub in Richmond; the autumn beer was a new one for me, but was described on the blackboard by the bar, as on the Caledonian website, as being russet red in colour. Both beers, although they came from different taps, were identically copper coloured, similar to Black Sheep or Pedigree. They were so cold it was not possible to discern any flavour at all, whether of "Hersbrucker and fresh spice" or "sweet caramel from the rye crystal malt" in the case of my "red", or "profoundly malty aroma" with "hints of raisins, spice and toasty dryness" in the case of Flying Scotsman. Both came across as thin, tasteless brews, and were a huge disappointment. We didn't stay to argue about it with the landlord, as we had a train to catch. This pub is no longer in the Good Beer Guide, so I think someone from Camra must have had a similar experience.

On 1st December 2014 - rating: 3
[User has posted 2641 recommendations about 2490 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Bridge Hotel

A short walk from either the bus or railway station. It is a very inviting looking pub and is worth a visit. The only downside for me was their choice of ales, Deuchers, Caledonian Flying Scotsman, which was ok. There was also another ale on, made with Orange and coriander, which wasn't for me.

On 13th August 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about Bridge Hotel

First time visit to this 2012 Good Beer Guide entry, and we found it to be a friendly pub with 3 ales on priced at £3.25 a pint. It is not far from the bus station and is popular for it's food, which I was told is given with generous portions. We chose Leeds Yorkshire Gold and Caledonian Flying Scotsman, both of which were served in good condition.

On 24th March 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1306 recommendations about 1196 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about Bridge Hotel

Decent looking pub on two levels, obviously majoring on food. The top area has a few tables for drinkers and the bottom area is all dining tables. It's quite nicely decorated in a very corporate sort of way. 3 handpumps selling a pretty uninspiring selection of beers. It was so uninspiring that I can't remember what I had, although Deuchars was on the bar, I didn't try it. The beer was OK as is the pub, but it's not worth a special visit.

On 7th December 2011 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2863 recommendations about 2783 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Jan Thomson left this review about Bridge Hotel

Warm and inviting pub serving good home made food.The bar staff are friendly and helpful.

On 28th January 2007 - rating: 10
[User has posted 2 recommendations about 2 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


The Babbies Boys left this review about Bridge Hotel

Part of a small chain of pubs which are all exactly the same. Except this one doesn't sell good beer.

On 24th November 2006 - rating: 4
[User has posted 13 recommendations about 13 pubs]