User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Bottled Beer Bargain Alert with london calling on the Pub Forum

Market Vaults, Tamworth

7 Market Street
Tamworth
B79 7LU

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Quinno _ left this review about Market Vaults

Classic Joules pub. Tasteful olde worlde refit over two rooms on different levels with a side corridor between the two. Front bar is a classic tap room style whilst the rear with its stained glass, mirrors, brass, grandmother clock and traditional furniture is a nice place to settle. Friendly licensees were good for a chat. Five Joules beers; That Choc One was in fair shape (NBSS 3) but the Pale wasn't and tasted of phenol (1) – whose fault that was I wouldn’t like to say but someone behind the bar should have caught this. Shame, as this one was heading for an 8+ otherwise.

On 5th March 2020 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3997 recommendations about 3985 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Market Vaults

Excellent real ale pub with a narrow frontage but extending back through two bars to a slightly raised seating area at the rear. Very traditional furniture and decor throughout, although the piped music was a bit of a surprise. Eight cask beers, ranging from the regular Joule's Pale, through the Holt's Two Hoots (£3.60), one each from Holden's and Rowton, a couple of Oakhams and Jaipur to Sarah Hughes dark ruby mild.

On 21st April 2018 - rating: 9
[User has posted 6198 recommendations about 6198 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Hurdle left this review about Market Vaults

A very welcoming and well run traditional old pub. On ordering a beer, the bar staff/management always ask if you have a CAMRA card. Later on they came round with free portions of chips and garlic mayonnaise.
On entry, there is a small bar room with a large Joules mirror over the fireplace. There is comfortable bench seating under the window and a small two sided bar with 8 handpumps in the opposite corner. A large fridge on the right contains more than a dozen traditional boxed ciders. Customers ordering cider were offered samples to try. A larger long narrow room with its own bar followed behind the entry room. A top class pub deserves a maximum score from me.

On 9th April 2018 - rating: 10
[User has posted 677 recommendations about 626 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Market Vaults

There was a small hand written note on the main door on our arrival, which read, 'all welcome come on in, great atmosphere'. Obviously the manager was right, as we did get a good welcome and the atmosphere was friendly and jovial.
The front room consisted of a small corner bar, which had a substantial looking brass handrail surrounding the countertop.
There was also a Victorian cast iron fireplace, with a lit fire.
The front area also had buttoned red leather banquette seating. Between the front room and back lounge, was a short lobby housing a wooden pew. The chap I was talking to, said he used to sit there in the early 1970's whilst he watched his Father playing dominoes and came out when the sandwiches arrived.
Eight handpumps on the front bar, so we went for the Joules Pale Ale, Teighworthy Climate Change, PenPoint Stormer IPA and Colchester AK Pole. Also, there was a choice of 16 ciders, served from the fridge in the front room.

On 13th March 2016 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about Market Vaults

The huge Banks's window on this old pub didn't bode well but inside it was a revelation. The front room is a small public bar with a few tables and chairs and a wooden floor while up a step leads to the plusher carpeted saloon bar. There is a Joules mirror on the wall of the front bar but the cheerful landlord assured me it's not tied to them, they just have an agreement to stock Joules Pale as a permanent beer. The bar has eight hand pumps one of which was blank and to go with the Joules Pale were Dancing Duck Dcuk, Kelham Island Pale Rider, Oakham Bishop's Farewell & Tranquillity IPA, Sarah Hughes Dark Ruby Mild and Holden's Black Country Bitter. I went for the Tranquility IPA and the Ruby Mild (both £3.50 reduced to £3.40 with the CAMRA discount). Both were excellent in fact the Tranquillity was so good I stopped for another, giving up on going to another pub. This is a great traditional boozer with a landlord who is clearly a real ale enthusiast. I'm almost tempted to give it a ten as it's a 9.5 for me. Highly recommended.

On 29th February 2016 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about Market Vaults

A cracking 2 roomed pub serving 7 cask ales. The handpumps are located in the front bar with another bar to the rear. A good traditional style pub.

On 22nd July 2015 - rating: 9
[User has posted 3389 recommendations about 3303 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Colin Gooch left this review about The Market Vaults

Further Update August 2010 - Now taken over and once again serving food

Update - Due to be taken over on 17.07.10 by new folk whom promise a re-descovered pub serving the local community in one of the oldest pubs in town


No longer serving food and closed some lunchtimes

On 4th August 2010 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 60 recommendations about 57 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about The Market Vaults

This pub is a narrow, but long building that retains a lot of character. It seems to be a Georgian facade, but there may well be older elements in the building. The interior has two rooms, one with a TV and a free jukebox. The furniture and fittings are based on the wattle and daub look, but are tastefully done. There is a nice beer garden as well. Service was fine. Clientele was mixed, and got a bit trendy later as all the youngies were hitting town - well it was Friday night!

Beerwise: usual stuff with Hobgoblin and Jennings Cocker Hoop on handpull - i am sure there was another, but failed to make a note. Both were fine.

The downside to this pub was the volume of the music. It drove us into the beer garden as we couldnt hear ourselves speak. Would love to come back in the week, hopefully when the music is lower - i think it would be really good.

On 7th September 2009 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3053 recommendations about 3048 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Colin Gooch left this review about The Market Vaults

Lots of brass (that could do with polishing) and dark wood in this traditional pub. Real ales and traditional food at lunchtimes and some evenings. Fruit machine and juke box. Market Vaults reputedly has a secret tunnel running through part of the cellar linking it both with the church and the castle.

On 8th December 2008 - rating: 6
[User has posted 60 recommendations about 57 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Taylor left this review about The Market Vaults

Bank's tied house. Can be very busy on market days (Tues, Thurs and Sat) as it's street name suggests. It got three parts, ground floor is drinking room, second dining room and lastly toliet and smoking area outside (Beware of countless steps leading to toilets!). Sometimes sells real ale. Also serves luchtime foods for shoppers

On 21st September 2007 - rating: 8
[User has posted 75 recommendations about 75 pubs]