User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
BITE bites the dust???? with NickDavies on the Pub Forum

Wetherspoons, Birmingham

31 Paradise Place
Birmingham
B3 3HJ

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 4 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about Wetherspoons

Small and fairly basic JDW that acts as more of a cafe than pub, what with it being tacked onto the shopping arcade. Interior has a dual mocha colour scheme with the usual Spoons fixtures and fittings. There’s a basic patio garden and least a decent amount of natural light inside. A very limited selection of ales by Wetherspoon’s usual standards, my ale from Warwickshire wasn't up to much (flat). Serves a purpose but not one I’d imagine myself being in again given the Figure of Eight isn’t too far away. As mentioned below, if they couldn’t even be bothered to think up a name for the place then what does that tell you?

On 11th November 2014 - rating: 5
[User has posted 4042 recommendations about 4030 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Wetherspoons

Smallish and usually busy bar in a small shopping mall linking the city centre with Broad Street, but particularly crowded when visited during the 'Frankfurt' Christmas Market. Cramped interior, with seating supplemented by a few patio tables outside. Six of the eight handpumps were on, including a decent pint of the seasonal Elf Esteem from Caledonian Brewery (£2.35). Overall, very ordinary.

On 25th November 2012 - rating: 5
[User has posted 6199 recommendations about 6199 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Wetherspoons

After walking past it so many times, I decided to call in. It has an atmosphere similar to a railway or airport Spoons. I suppose it will have with the amount of people walking through the Paradise Place. Still it's always busy enough, I had a Black Hole Brewery beer and then scarpered.

On 29th July 2012 - rating: 4
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about Wetherspoons

Situated in Paradise Place, a small covered former shopping centre and walkway between the City Centre and the entertainment/pub/club area of Broad Street, the entertainment mile of Birmingham [sic], now mainly low budget food units (Greggs, McDonalds, Eat4less).

The pub is basically one of the retail units and therefore suffers as a place to relax, drink & eat because its like drinking in a shop. It is not the sort of place you would really want to spend a whole evening. I think the fact they couldn't be bothered to think of a name says it all.

Light, modern and airy is about all you could say.

6 real ales of ok quality.

also suffers from that common Wetherspoon trait of staffing - poorly organised & lack of any customer focus.

On 15th October 2011 - rating: 4
[User has posted 1281 recommendations about 1258 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john mcgraw left this review about Wetherspoons

This is not one of the better Wetherspoon's.Although there was a fair range of real ales the pub lacks any sort of atmosphere.

On 19th September 2011 - rating: 4
[User has posted 2044 recommendations about 2025 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about Wetherspoons

This Spoons with no name lurks in a corner within Paradise Place, simply partitioned off from the walkway though from Chamberlain Square to the Broad St area.

It is open plan, with, what little walls there are, being in red and white, with a few historical pictures on the little wall space. There is no ceiling. There are the usual Sky TVs. The service was fine, the clientele mixed.

Beer; usual tap stuff, with several real ales, including the usual Abbots and Ruddles. I had Jennings Cocker-Hoop, which just about passed - or was just passed by someone.

Even for a Spoons, this place is poor, however, it did seem like Paradise Place when compared to the Slug & Lettuce, which i endured next. I wouldnt entertain the idea of going here normally, but a free night's drinking persuaded me - well, principles only go so far!

On 14th November 2009 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3053 recommendations about 3048 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about Wetherspoons

This is a very basic JDW and may as well have been in an airport for all the atmosphere that it has. It's just a partitioned off area in a shopping mall with a bit of a patio area. I often end up walking through Paradise Place when I'm in Birmingham and I also often pop in here to see what's on the bar. Sadly the answer is often "not very much of interest" and then I continue walking. Every so often I do see an interesting beer and the quality is usually pretty good. There's also a quiz machine near the entrance that entices the people who don't know what they're doing to have a go, so I often find that my pint is free. Not worth a visit if you're not passing anyway though.

On 10th July 2009 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2868 recommendations about 2788 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


William Harrison left this review about Wetherspoons

A bit lower than the average Wetherspoons. If that's what you're after, The Figure Of Eight on Broad Street is nearby and much better. I found a used syringe wedged under a toilet seat once. Haven't been back since...

On 28th October 2008 - rating: 2
[User has posted 29 recommendations about 29 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


John Horton left this review about Wetherspoons

In the Central Library complex at Chamberlain Sq - next to the Town Hall. A Weatherspoons house - that just about says it all except that this one has loads of TV screens dotted about (suppose they're there to take your mind off the booze). Parking, forget it!

On 13th July 2008 - rating: 4
[User has posted 148 recommendations about 148 pubs]