User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
How Will Pubs Open? with bcfczuluarmy on the Pub Forum

The Snooty Fox, N5

75 Grosvenor Avenue
N5
N5 2NN

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Snooty Fox

I enjoyed my visit here,the open plan and wooden floor feel right in what is a modest sized interior.The two long bench seats in dark green leather are offset by wooden furniture and square tables giving a modern vibe,while the photos dotted around of popular vocalists fit well with a well chosen muzak selection.There is also a juke box if you want to influence the music choice.The open kitchen to one side was producing some good smells,and the menu looked interesting with a chalk board of daily specials and a menu of rotisserie chicken,burgers,cod and steaks with main between £10 and £20,but food doesn't dominate.
There are 4 handpumps drawing on my visit Otter Bitter,Theakstons Tour de Wot,ELB Pale Ale and a very good Dark Star American Pale Ale and at £4.10,given the nature of the area,quite reasonably priced.
The quiz adds to the community charm and there was a good mix of ages enjoying the wares on my Tuesday late afternoon visit.
A decent pub ,well worth a visit given the rotating ale range and deserving it's GBG listing.

On 8th August 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2090 recommendations about 2090 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tris C left this review about The Snooty Fox

Bizarrely, we were on our way to this pub when I was 'pinged' by the review below. Now that's what I call a coincidence!
A first in what was originally The Grosvenor Arms and unsurprisingly it hadn't changed much since Ray reviewed it...errr...about six minutes earlier. The pub is still part bare brick, a rough bare floor, basic old school furniture, brown ceiling, TV projector and ugly aircon ductwork; there's an open kitchen which I don't like because they tend to be noisy and generate excess heat, unwanted on a very hot day.
Ales: Something I couldn't quite see, Wimbledon's Copper Leaf, East Bay's Pilgrimage and Otter Brewery's Ale at a fairly steep £2.05 a half and ok, nothing more.
This pub is fine but I can't see myself rushing back though there's not much else around here; worth a look, especially if you want a 1.00 am Friday/Saturday night drink.

On 17th June 2017 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1001 recommendations about 986 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Snooty Fox

A good pub this one, I went for the Totally Brewed Guardian of the Forest, which was an excellent pint on our Monday afternoon visit. The interior is quite gastro with an open plan kitchen adjacent to the bar, flowers on the table etc. We got here at 4pm when the pub had just opened, so there was only 6 other drinkers in at that stage, so it felt more pub like. I would definitely return here for the beer quality alone.

On 17th June 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about The Snooty Fox

Gastro style pub but still retains a pubby feel,pretty rammed on my Saturday evening visit and it was a bit of an effort to make your way to the bar through the cluttered tables and chairs,My pint of Cloudwater Pale was excellent. I liked this pub and will include it next time Im in the area, hopefully at a quieter time so to appreciate it a little better.

On 1st June 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1357 recommendations about 1343 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Snooty Fox

Located on a corner, close to Canonbury station, with an understated curved façade. However, the same cannot be said about the jumbled gastro-pub interior, with its closely-spaced plain furniture, b&w photos and other memorabilia. Benefits from large windows during daylight hours, but dimly lit later on. Nice, relaxed atmosphere. Four of five handpumps in operation this time, including Time and Tide Smugglers Stout (£4.10). Local Camra award winner, and you can see why.

On 22nd October 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6222 recommendations about 6222 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Snooty Fox

This pub has something of a retro feel to it. There’s an old juke box here, alongside a DJ booth decorated with old vinyl 45s; one wall has old black and white photos of mainly 60s female icons – we spotted Janis Joplin, Tina Turner, Marianne Faithfull, Dusty Springfield, Christine Keeler, plus several others there. Beneath this montage there are some prints of Ronnie Wood’s paintings of the The Stones. And they put on a Stones album – perhaps my chum and I looked like the types who would enjoy it. Like just about everywhere in this part of North London it was bare-boarded, had solid wood tables and chairs, including several school dining room style long tables and benches.

This is the 2014 CAMRA North London pub of the year, so obviously real ale is important here. There were four ales on – Castle Rock Harvest Pale; Redemption Trinity; Otter Ale; and Blakemere Jewel as the guest ale. A CAMRA discount is available, but only on the sole guest ale. Pints of the Otter Ale and Harvest Pale came to £7.80, so an average of £3.90 a pint, which is the going rate for this part of the world. There’s an open to view kitchen, and rotisserie food seems to be the order of the day. A full rack of ribs is £15, and we also saw advertised the “Snooty Roast” on Sunday.

Despite the somewhat Spartan furnishings, I rather liked this pub. It had a nice feel to it, and I would be happy to pay a return visit.

On 23rd June 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2577 recommendations about 2495 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about The Snooty Fox

This a large gastro pub on the corner opp Canonbury station.The inside is a bit cluttered with tables everywhere and little room at the bar for standing.4 cask beers usually from London brewers.They have beer fests about 3 times a year.Well worth a visit.

On 11th May 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 940 recommendations about 927 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Snooty Fox

This is a single room, street corner pub very close to Canonbury overground station. The pub has a modern take on a traditional interior with lots of retro artifacts which enhance this feel. There are dark floorboards and furniture, which combined with the muted lighting, gave the place a warm and cosy vibe, although in some spots it veered a bit too much towards the ‘gloomy’ end of the spectrum. The servery runs along the back wall and has blackboards above it which list drink and bar snack options. The rest of the room is filled with a mix of standard seating with some comfy seats on the right hand side and a few benches on the left, where you can see into the open kitchen. A blackboard listed the food options with most of the main meals coming in around a tenner. The room is nicely decorated with lots of old movie and music posters and there is an old fashioned juke box near to the front door under a TV screen which was turned off during my stay. The pub didn’t strike me as the sort of place to show live sport, but there appeared to be a large screen lined with hops above the fireplace on the right hand wall.
Four ales were available on handpull – Otter Ale, Redemption Trinity, ELB Foundation Bitter and an outstanding London Brewers Alliance Collaboration London Stout, which set me back £4.00, but was well worth it for what is by far the best pint I’ve tried this year. Addlestone’s Premium Cloudy Cider and Sandford Devon Mist Cider were also available. There is a nice collection of Northern Soul themed pump clips from the Northern Brewery behind the bar, which fits in nicely with the pub’s image.
This place was packed when I visited on a mid-week evening, and I thought it was rightly popular. It has found a nice balance which should attract a young crowd without alienating the traditionalist and the beer, if my pint is anything to go by, is kept very well and offers an interesting selection. I would be more than happy to seek this place out again the next time I’m in the area.

On 10th March 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2546 recommendations about 2546 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Snooty Fox

I visited here midweek one evening three weeks ago and found a rather dimly lit corner pub that had open blinds on the windows making it feel even smaller than it is. The bar is to the right where there was also a projector screen that was showing muted cartoons and to the left is an open kitchen that was dishing up some gastro fayre. There is an old style record jukebox by the entrance and some obscure 60s music was being played as background music. I found the barman to be friendly enough and he poured a decent pint of Guinness. Apart from some Fosters the other draught was of the premium type and the two hand pumps that adorn the bar were drawing Tribute and Sambrooks Junction.

There is some outside seating that wraps around the outside of the pub behind some railings.

The Ale Rattle and Roll beer festival was recently held here and the whole pub is also available for private hire. I’m not sure how this affects normal punters when it is hired out, I wouldn’t like to think the pub was randomly off limits to the locals some nights.

This place isn’t really my scene so I doubt I will return.

On 8th October 2010 - rating: 5
[User has posted 3592 recommendations about 3571 pubs]