User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Yet another list with Tris39 on the Pub Forum

The Malt House, Birmingham Central, Birmingham

75 King Edwards Road
Birmingham
B1 2NX
Phone: 01216334171

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Taylor Walker (Spirit Pubs)
Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Al Bundy left this review about The Malt House

Large canalside Greene King pub. I found this to be a pleasant, if very expensive place (£2.45 for half Black Sheep anyone). Set on a couple of floors this mainly open plan pub pretty generic for Greene King. Menu cluttered tables can be a pain and this place was no exception. There are 8 handpulls and your usual Greene King staples were on. I'm not sure if it was the extremely hot weather or paying £2.45 for a half of Black Sheep that made me jump into the canal but at least the canal tasted a bit better.

On 25th July 2019 - rating: 4
[User has posted 3378 recommendations about 3295 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Malt House

First revisit since the Greene King takeover, but little seems to have changed from the previous Taylor Walker days other than the menu branding. Otherwise, it remains a large, but rather unimaginative, conversion of the former maltings with multiple seating areas / dining areas on several floors (not all always open), although the exterior balcony seats overlooking the canal junction can be a good spot if the weather is right. Anyway, on this visit, five of the eight handpumps were in use, and with no IPA on the choice was London Glory, Olde Trip and the seasonal Un-beer-lievable were available plus two local guests from Silhill - Russian Pale Ale (£4.15) and North Star Porter.

On 1st July 2018 - rating: 6
[User has posted 5898 recommendations about 5898 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Malt House

A former maltings,but the "olde worlde" faux interior doesn't make use of any original features,and feels quite corporate.Greene King insignia on the outside doesnt instill confidence,but it's clean and tidy.There is a mix of furniture on the bar level,some high tables,lots of fitted benches,some raised areas,while the upstairs level has more conventional dining tables but with a balcony giving great views over Farmer Bridge Junction,the real heart of the West Midlands canal system with lots of boating action.Greene King pub grub menus much in evidence.
There was a positive surprise on the real ale front,with three of the six pumps carrying Silhill Pure Star,Gold Star and Blonde Star (decent).The other three had GK IPA,Robinsons Trouper and a third regular reversed.
I was in during a quiet period,on summer weekends I have seen it rammed which may colour your experience.Better than my worst fears,and better than a lot of identikit bars in the immediate area.

On 6th June 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2032 recommendations about 2032 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The Malt House

Large 2 floor canal side Taylor Walker pub. Real ales and food served.

On 2nd August 2015 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2659 recommendations about 2602 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Malt House

Canalside pub at the back corner of the entertainment area around Brindley Place, but on the doorstep of the NIA, albeit over the canal bridge.

Its a nice brick building with a balcony and terrace but I always find it gets missed in favour of the other bars which is a shame as its potentially a nice place.

Large open plan inside with a fairly standard layout.

One real ale - Beartown Ginger Beer on my visit, strange choice perhaps when there is only one beer?

On 31st October 2012 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1276 recommendations about 1253 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Malt House

A good spot to sit outside with a beer. Can get really mobbed, especially being so close to the NIA. Staff are pleasant enough and serve some interesting ales. We were served a Stonehenge Brewery, Autumn Envy, which was green - that's a first for me! The interior needs a bit of sprucing up, but apart from that, it's alright.

On 13th October 2012 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2934 recommendations about 2934 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Andy Ven left this review about The Malt House

Original Pub Co establishment, next to the canal, NIA and Sea Life Centre. Open plan interior that I felt was in need of some redecoration as the existing decor was a little tired. It was very quiet during my visit on a Wednesday lunchtime but the food we ordered arrived in about 5 minutes - draw your own conclusion as to its freshness. The pub does have a claim to fame in that Bill Clinton popped in for a pint during the G8 summit in Birmingham in 1998 - sadly it can't live off that endorsement forever.

On handpull there was Wells Bombardier, Bateman's XB and Greene King IPA. The other two handpulls - maybe there to act as adverts had London Pride and Greene King Abbot marked as 'Coming Soon'.

Typical family chain pub, the interior is like many others, but handy if visiting nearby attractions and that is when I'd be most likely to venture back.

On 10th January 2012 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 244 recommendations about 240 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about The Malt House

A canal-side pub/eatery in what one assumes was a former malting house, which is in undressed brick with balcony and patio area

The interior is on long room, but there are two floor and i love ROBs description of a 'featureless barn sort of way' as it is spot on. The decor is the different but plain wall colours - red, terracotta, cream, with some undressed brick. There is a part wood floor as well. The place is all foody based and with no real pictures or ephemera it does look generic and a little boring. There were a few TV's, the one above the bar had some silent programme on - why? turn it off, especially as there were jazz musicians playing as a part of the Artsfest. The service was fine and the clientele all seemed quite mature.

Beer; tap stuff with Bombardier and Courage Directors - which i just had a half of and was fine.

Not really worth the effort for a real ale drinker, it is generally there for the budget food.

On 13th September 2010 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3053 recommendations about 3048 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Taylor left this review about The Malt House

Pretty useful place for people visiting nearby Sea Life and NIA (National Indoor Arena)

President Clinton once dined and drank in here in mid 1990's.

However despite its superb locatiom, it is pretty soulless and expensive. Even Fiver can buy you bowl of soup! They do have 3 ales on ale (Courage's bitter, Bombardier and pedigree) which is not bad but drinkable. Nearby The Prince Of Wales is better choice for drinks.

On 4th February 2010 - rating: 6
[User has posted 75 recommendations about 75 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about The Malt House

This is a massive pub on two floors. It's got loads of canalside seating and also an upstairs outside terrace with good views over the canal. It quite nicely done inside in a featureless barn sort of way and there are loads of dining tables everywhere. It has a dance floor area upstairs but I don't know if this is used, it certainly wasn't being yesterday at about 5 of course. There's a huge TV screen over the bar and there's also a quiz machine, they also have live bands on at times. There are an incredibly optimistic 10 handpumps on the bar, some look as if they've never been used. There were only two beers on and these were the really boring Bombardier and Directors, come on guys show a bit of imagination. I had a Bombardier which was pretty good really and promptly won £8 on the quiz machine, so all in all I was pretty happy.

On 1st July 2009 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2779 recommendations about 2703 pubs]

Page: 1 2