User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
WHERE are you drinking RIGHT NOW. with Brainypool on the Pub Forum

The Florence, Birmingham Central, Birmingham

29 Newhall Street
Birmingham
B3 3PU
Phone: 01212002423

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about Edmunds Brewhouse

An attractive exterior perhaps less so inside. A vaguely L-shaped space with a boarded floor and a dark green paint job. The squint ended bar softens the feel to a certain extent despite the deliberately distressed green and white counter front which extends to the columns and some of the panelling. A raised area to the front has high tables, there are drinking ledges around the columns, regular stuff elsewhere. Lighting comes from various clear glass dangling bulbs. Another corner has some dark wood panelling and prints of butterflies and a separate darker room to the rear called the Library has dark red walls, subdued lighting and as you might expect shelves of books. Beers were Edmund s American IPA, Pale Ale and Gold Hop plus Wye Talley Butty Bach and Doom Bar. Food served at premium prices. I didn't really warm to it here and I can't really explain why, perhaps the designer decor being incongruous with a decentish beer selection. Worth a visit for one though.

On 8th April 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1681 recommendations about 1658 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about Edmunds Brewhouse

Nice from outside a bit dull inside. 5 ales available. Its another one of those pubs were the interior doesn't do justice to the exterior. Still, it didn't have rugby on so that'll do for me.

On 23rd September 2015 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3349 recommendations about 3265 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about Edmunds Brewhouse

Quite a plain L shaped interior serving 5 real ales.

On 28th July 2015 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2582 recommendations about 2526 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Graham Coombs left this review about Edmunds Brewhouse

Just to expand a little on the earlier reviews, the main area is furnished in a smart modern style, with lots of dark green paint, but tucked away at the back is a "library" area which is a bit cosier. Confirmed that the Pale Ale is very drinkable and a genuine pale ale, as opposed to IPA.

On 23rd July 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1912 recommendations about 1869 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about Edmunds Brewhouse

02/07/2015 - Refurbed and now a brewhouse. Apparenlty they buy the kits and then brew them on the premises, with 3 beers available, plus 2 guests. I found the Pale Ale the best. They were ok, maybe a little warm.

The refurbed pub is functional, neat, modern & tidy.

A good effort

08/09/2010 Good review below from ROB Camra which I go along with. Its a modern, smart city lounge bar, which I don't always like, but this one is comfortable, not over the top, and still uses its original features in places, such as the stone windows. Its not the biggest space in the world, but its well presented.

Its a bit pricey for both food and drink, as seems to be the norm in this quarter.

3 real ales, a couple of local(ish) Purity brews and Sharps Doom Bar. I had a Purity Gold in its own special glass, as the Belguims do so well. The beer was a little too warm for me & Purity isn't a personal favourite, but marks for effort.

Overall a nice place

On 3rd July 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1235 recommendations about 1212 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Edmunds Brewhouse

The Edmunds 'Lounge Bar' has now been rebranded as a 'Brewhouse', although I'm not sure whether their beers are brewed on site or elsewhere in Birmingham. The traditional sort of city centre pub exterior was also temporarily covered by scaffolding on this visit, presumably as part of the refurbishment which seems to have been completed once you get inside the corner door. The 'L'-shaped layout features modern furniture and decor in a slightly-oppressive dark colour scheme. Three of their own new beers - Pale Ale, American IPA and Gold Hop (£3.40) - were available from what is now a row of five handpumps, with the old regular Doom Bar supplemented by Slack Alice cider. I couldn't really imagine spending the evening here, but it's certainly OK for a quick pint.

On 22nd June 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 5697 recommendations about 5697 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about Edmunds

Edmunds is an upmarket bar that is situated in the ground floor of a grand looking building.
Once inside there was a square shaped room with the bar to the rear,there was a small raised area to the front left,the main area was bare boarded,the seating was a mix of leather bucket type chairs and normal tables and chairs.
There were two real ales on the bar,i had a drink of Wye Valley HPA which was a very nice drink,the other beer was Doom bar.
There was some decent background music playing and the bar had a laid back feeling on my late Saturday afternoon visit.

Pub visited 17/8/2013

On 17th August 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Edmunds

An upmarket suits bar with top-end prices. Women swigging out of bottles of Becks and blokes drooling over them. I also counted five staff behind the bar laughing and joking amongst themselves and tables left full of empty glasses. Dent Golden Fleece and Idle Brewery Idle Tongue priced at £3.60 a pint and one of which was a bit flat.

On 25th July 2012 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2844 recommendations about 2844 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about Edmunds

This self-styled lounge, bar and eatry occupies the ground floor of what is a fantastic Victorian building on the corner of Edmund St and Newhall St, where if i remember correctly, the first set of traffic lights in Birmingham were sited around 1928. The place was formerly the Cornerhouse, but i had not been in since it was the Hogshead, the previous incarnation. The building is in red brick with some moulded stone and has a slight mock-Tudor look. There are a few tables acting as a patio area on the street.

The interior in general is an L-shaped room. The decor is mainly white and brown walls and ceiling, though with some coffee colour, some wood panel and red patterned wallpaper, with a mix of wood and stone floor. The place is generally foody based, with dining tables and chairs. I didn't eat so can't comment on the food, but the menu wasn't cheap, although they do do food offers, so check before you go! The place seemed a little bare, with just the odd old photo, mirror and potted olive tree dotted about for decoration. There was a TV which had something on, but it was silent and subtitled. The background music was general and at a decent level. The service was good and the clientele a good mixed crowd, though it wasn't rammed

Beer; the usual tap stuff with UBU Purity Gold, UBU and Sharpe's Doombar. The Ubu was decent and served in it's own glass, which is a nice touch and certainly beats a Carl*ng glass!

I found Edmunds a generic foody drinks place for this area of town, but saying that it is perfectly fine to pop into for one.

On 27th November 2011 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3053 recommendations about 3048 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about Edmunds

I too last visited here when it was the Cornerhouse, and yes it has been smartened up a lot since I was last there. Beers were Millstone Square Peg, Shep Neame Spitfire and Black Country Pig on the Wall. Millstone 4.3% was £1.55 a half. Comfortable pub to relax in with a drink.

On 21st October 2010 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1296 recommendations about 1186 pubs]

Page: 1 2