User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 20th September 2020) with Tris39 on the Pub Forum

Quakerhouse, Darlington

2 Mechanics Yard
Darlington
DL3 7QF
Phone: 01325245052

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Rob Hunter left this review about Quakerhouse

This is a smallish pub in an unassuming building in what is basically a courtyard between two rows of shops in the centre of Darlington. I couldn't see any signage at all from the outside, but then it was absolutely lashing it down so I didn't hang around staring at the outside. I wasn't even sure if the place was open at first but then spotted the open door so in I went. You enter into a bit of a small lobby area with the disabled toilet, stairs to the toilets and a door to the left to enter the main bar.

At the bar are 9 hand pulls, two of which were off at the time of my visit, and a chalk board behind the bar lists all the ales with prices per pint and per half. I had a Mad Scientist bourbon stout (£3.30/pint, £1.65/half) which I didn't realise at the time was brewed on the premises. The beer itself had a slightly sour tang, which I put down to the bourbon, but I can't be 100% sure if it was meant to be like that. It was perfectly drinkable though. Nice music was playing at the time of my visit, and it is the kind of place I would be happy to come back to.

On 16th January 2020 - rating: 8
[User has posted 534 recommendations about 479 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Graham Coombs left this review about Quakerhouse

I was beginning to despair of Central Darlington until we found this excellent pub hidden down an alleyway just behind Binns. There is one very atmospheric bar with a superb range of beers and enthusiastic staff. The tiny Mad Scientist brewery is located in the cellar and their beers can only be found here (not to mention the brewers!), while upstairs is a function room which hosts occasional live music and other events. Definitely one to seek out.

On 8th June 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2259 recommendations about 2207 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about Quakerhouse

Smallish pub with a good selection of real ales on offer. Would probably revisit.

On 18th January 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1673 recommendations about 1671 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about Quakerhouse

It's unlikely you could ever come across this place by chance as it is stuck down a narrow alley between Skinnergate and High Row. It also has very discreet signage so even when you end up a few yards away it isn't immediately obvious that it is a pub. I rather doubt that this was always a pub, in fact someone said it was formerly a cafe or coffee shop. It seems to be an old building as can be seen from the interior with exposed old brickwork and wooden floors. It's not very large and a steep staircase at the entrance leads to the toilets and another room which was unused.
The beer selection was large and interesting. It was difficult to see the pump clips as the stools at the bar were taken up. I noticed a couple of North Yorkshire beers but went for the Black Metal Yggdrasil and the Rudgate York Chocolate Stout both of which were in ecellent condition. It's certainly a must visit pub but the upstairs toilets andf bar stools are a bit of a pain.

On 12th May 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Quakerhouse

This is a superb pub and should not be missed when visiting Darlington. The reasons for my high rating is their range of beer across nine handpumps and the excellent quality of all the beer. Also, as soon as we entered, the locals were very welcoming and brought us into their conversation. This was a difficult pub to get out of, so allow some time. Our beer choice on the day was Goosnargh Red, Norland Barn Stormers, Norland Best,Stockport Brewery Bitter Lemon, Rudgate Grain Check and a good session ale was the Walls Cascade at 4.3%.

On 22nd March 2015 - rating: 10
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about Quakerhouse

A 2011 Good Beer Guide pub that has to be included on any tour round Darlington looking for real ales. As stated below it is a good pub for choice of beers and the quality is first class. Enjoyed beers from Allendale, Wyre Piddle and Morrells ( brewed at Wychwood/Marstons?) these days.

On 28th September 2010 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1306 recommendations about 1196 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about Quakerhouse

A gloomy, dark, cellar like bar in spite of it being at street level. Basically a bit of a tickers pub with 10 handpulls carrying beers from mainly micro and smaller breweries. There is also A UK lager, A stout, A euro lager and A keg cider. There is a scrumpy too – Old Rosie. Beer quality is great as you would expect from a multi CAMRA award winning establishment, but it falls into the beard, sandles and matching beer bellies stereotype which does not appeal to everyone. With live music on sometimes I guess it will also draw in a younger clientele. Upstairs is a function room, apparently keg only. Under threat of being sold by S & N Pub Enterprise hopefully the current licensees will buy it and retain its ambiance.

On 9th November 2009 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2277 recommendations about 2108 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


James Joines left this review about Quakerhouse

Real Ale paradise with ever changing range around 60 beers a month.
Live rock bands on Wednesdays.
Big Screen sports.

On 3rd May 2008 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 841 recommendations about 835 pubs]