User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Covid Rules Stuff with london calling on the Pub Forum

Telford's Warehouse, Chester

Tower Wharf
Chester
CH1 4EZ
Phone: 01244390090

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about Telford's Warehouse

As the name implies this is a converted warehouse, replete with an original crane in the middle of the bar – so worth dropping in just to see that. Situated on the banks of the Shropshire Union Canal, the big windows afford nice views down the waterway. The open-plan interior has been done pretty well - wood floor, exposed brick, vaulted ceiling and a random telephone box. Clientele were quite middle class and posey. Bizarrely on a busy Friday evening the upstairs area was unavailable so a scrum formed downstairs and it was standing room only, resulting in a pretty uncomfortable drinking experience. Six pumps, all on - Youngs Bitter, Salopian Oracle (NBSS 3.5), Weetwood Cheshire, Big Bog, some random Wild Beer collab, Marble Pint. Lots of keg fonts serving more leftfield international choices eg Kona Big Wave, Chouffe, Timmermans. Service was a bit offhand which didn’t help. Worth a stop for the curiosity value and probably best sampled at a quieter time.

On 1st March 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3997 recommendations about 3985 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rob Hunter left this review about Telford's Warehouse

Visited on Tuesday lunchtime. Wasn't sure what to expect as it appears to be surrounded by student accommodation, though obviously this building predates all that. There was a fair mix of customers in, and most seemed to be dining. At the bar are six hand pumps (two banks of three) offering Maori by Mobberley, ITI by Hawkshead, Late Night Amber by Liverpool Craft, Cheshire Cat by Weetwood, Oracle by Salopian, and finally Young's Best Bitter. Also noticed on the chalkboard that Gamma Ray by Beavertown was listed as a can option at £3.85.

I went for a half of the Late Night Amber at £1.80 (£3.55 a pint), which was pleasant enough, followed by the Maori, which I was slightly disappointed in compared to other Mobberley ales I have had in the past.

There is a nice view from the main bar area overlooking the canal through the large windows, and some kind of machinery workings in the centre of the room as a reminder of the building's history. Pleasant enough place.

On 28th February 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 540 recommendations about 481 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Telford's Warehouse

Historic canal-side building, the name saying all, with the former loading dock extending over the basin to become a new-style bar that mixes the traditional and modern quite well. Split-level layout, with a feature window at the end of the bar overlooking the waterway. Also has some wooden benches out on the quayside. Six real ales on handpump, ranging from Young's Ordinary and Salopian Oracle through to Weetwood Cheshire Cat, two from Merlin - Elixir and Blizzard - and the Beer Refinery Oscuro dark mild (£3.55). Well worth the walk.

On 22nd January 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6175 recommendations about 6175 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Oggwyn Great left this review about Telford's Warehouse

Taking young Rays advice we walked along the canal from the disapointing Lockkeeper to Telfords , the pub is well described below , being a sunny day we had our first drink on the canal side patio which was very busy and the tables are a bit close together , we had our second drink upstairs in the main bar which was a pleasant area , lots of people eating , a good mixture of customer from students to buisnessmen .
Staff were decent as was the beer choice , lots of continental beers on draught and six handpulls with Weetwood Cheshire Cat , Youngs Bitter , Salopian Oracle , Derby Drop it like its Hop , Ticketybrew Spring IPA and Big Bog Spring Bog , The Spring Bog and Cheshire Cat were spot on .
I liked it in here its a good pub

On 6th May 2017 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 779 recommendations about 668 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about Telford's Warehouse

A good pub on the canal and a bit of a walk from the town centre. 6 handpumps are now on the bar serving a changing variety of beers. The outside benches along the canal are now overlooked by a building site at the moment as some flats are being built therefore its noisy and dusty for now.

On 7th June 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3389 recommendations about 3303 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Telford's Warehouse

After our visit to the Lockkeepers, we decided to take a walk out to Telfords Warehouse along the canal. Expect a good 15 min walk, once we hit the lock gates, we crossed the canal, walked along the road for a bit and then across the car park and we were there. The pub was busy on our lunch time visit, so waiting to get served was lengthy and a few idiots sitting at the bar drinking coffee didn't help. There was a choice of five ales on handpump, so we went for the Derby Brewery Ryt On and a Weetwood Cheshire Cat.

On 11th January 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Telford's Warehouse

This is one of a number of converted canal-side industrial buildings in Chester, now housing an excellent pub and live music venue. A grade II listed former warehouse, the building was converted to a pub back in the 1980's, but was badly damaged by a fire in 2000 which led to a lengthy closure and restoration which has brought us the pub in its present form.
The pub is split across three floors, with the entrance taking you into the main bar at ground floor level. This is a spacious open-plan room with wooden floor, bare brick walls and a wonderful centrepiece in the shape of an old crane presumably once used to lift goods into and out of the warehouse. Seating is mostly in the form of scrubbed tables and standard chairs, although there are a few sofas on a slightly raised area in one corner. Large windows on the right hand wall give a wonderful view out across the basin which is lined with benches for those wanting to drink outside in warmer weather. There are some fairly odd bits and bobs decorating the room, including some painted pallets hung on one wall, an old red phone box and a wicker pig, none of which detracts from what is otherwise a nice space, made even better by the attractive bar back which was very nicely presented and included an old beer bottle collection. A low stone archway to the left leads to the lower level which has plenty more seating and is used as the live music venue. There is a restaurant space and contemporary art gallery upstairs, although I didn't get round to having a look myself.
There was a good range of beers to suit just about all tastes. Five handpulls offered regulars Weetwood Cheshire Cat and Thwaites Original plus guests in the shape of Beerworks Doctor Morton's Snake Oil, Boggart Rum Porter and Mordue Workie Ticket. An extensive keg range included the light and dark versions of Erdinger as well as Ashai, Timmermans Strawberry Beer, La Chouffe and Warstiener. I gave the Snake Oil a try which was in top condition and served to me by a very friendly and helpful barman.
It's good to see a building like this being put to such good use and it appears to be very successful, with a handsome list of well-known artists who have played here displayed on their website and a great beer policy. I was a bit sceptical about this place but it won me over and I wouldn't hesitate to call in again the next time I'm in town.

On 23rd February 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2512 recommendations about 2512 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Blackthorn _ left this review about Telford's Warehouse

A large barn like conversion of a former warehouse in a pleasant spot next to the canal. It’s a good sized pub over three floors, with a different feel to each level.

The ground floor is the biggest area with large floor to ceiling windows completely covering one wall and offering views down the canal. There is also some outside seating here. The walls are all exposed brick, big rafters in the open vaulted ceiling and in a nod to it’s industrial past, a large crane in the centre of the room. The upstairs area is a little cosier and more geared up for dining, while the lowest level is through some brick arches and has low ceilings, perhaps a little more rough and ready, and is split in to two. One half has a table football game and a few leather sofas, and the other side is open with a stage at one end. Bands feature prominently here with something on most weekend nights. Forthcoming acts were chalked up on a board above the bar.

Good choice of beers on tap with Thwaites Original and IPA, Weetwood Cheshire Cat, Harviestoun Bitter and Twisted and the local (for me, that is) RCH East Street Cream. Ciders were Kingston Press and a Stowford Press Export, which I’ve not seen before.

On 17th July 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1749 recommendations about 1684 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about Telford's Warehouse

Good choice of real ales and a great view over the canal moorings. It's a bit out on a limb though. We usually visit here for a late lunch, so I cannot comment about night time. Ususally call in for one whenever I'm in Chester though. There's a derrick in the middle of the pub, probably from this warehouse's past. It's actually on 3 levels. There's the main bar area, an upstairs area that serves food and behind a curtain there's a lower area where the bands play. There's a few benches and tables alongside the canal for outdoor drinking. All in all we like it.

On 3rd December 2009 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2865 recommendations about 2785 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about Telford's Warehouse

A large brick build former warehouse that looks pretty neat from the waterside, but a little scruffy from the road. There is a nice beer patio.

The interior is on two levels and mainly set out for food. The brick, beams and wood floor, which give a feel to the place regarding its former use, are matched against some sofas, arty pictures, three bits of wood crate on the wall (representing the working man!)and a red telephone box. With a slightly upmarket feel and prices, i couldnt warm to the place too much, especially as the service was functional, though of course, as i didnt like it, it was well attended!

Beer; tap stuff, with a decent Rudgate Ruby MILD and Cottage Brewery Triumph Stag on handpull. There was also the untried Thwaites Original and Weetwood Cheshire Cat.

Cant moan about the beer, thats why it is in the new GBG. The interior has good and bad points, not quite to my taste, but i have seen much worse. Worth a visit.

On 22nd October 2009 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3053 recommendations about 3048 pubs]