User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 8th Decenber 2019) with Wittenden on the Pub Forum

The Queens Arms, South Kensington, SW7

30 Queens Gate Mews
SW7
SW7 5QL
Phone: 02078239293

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Castle (Mitchells & Butlers)

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Quinno _ left this review about The Queens Arms

An unbranded M&B mews pub on a cobbled street, very picture postcard and close to the museum strip / RAH. The ornate and highly unusual curved entrance doors reminded me of the like the Wykeham Arms in Winchester. The inside is an old two bar place that sadly has been knocked through quite heartily sometime in the last 50 years. Decor on the left hand side is a bit dull, I preferred the right side which had black and gold wallpaper. Nice patrons in situ, polite and amenable. Eight ales on and - shock! - they were really good. Doom Bar, St Austell Proper Job (NBSS 4), Titanic Plum Porter (3.5), Laines Mango (3.5), Hop Back Summer Lightning, Wooha (3), Vocation Cooler Shaker (3.5) and Tim Taylor Landlord. Having got stuck into the beer for longer than originally anticipated we decided to eat here and the food was fairly good for the price. A real find.

On 10th August 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3921 recommendations about 3909 pubs]


Graham Coombs left this review about The Queens Arms

A nice mews pub with a good range of 8 ales and a well-run feel. Despite an emphasis on the food trade it is still a good place for drinking. The list at time of visit was Robinsons Blonde, James Blonde, Skinner's Betty Stogs, Ossett Yorkshire Brunette, Dark Star Partridge, Brew York Turtle Peach, Landlord, Proper Job and Doom Bar, with a similarly varied selection listed as coming soon. Definitely worth a visit.

On 12th June 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2084 recommendations about 2038 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Queens Arms

Tucked away in a quiet mews, but not far from the Royal Albert Hall, Imperial College and the Science Museum. Even though opened out at some stage, the bar is not exactly large. Attractive façade, and gastro-pub type furniture and decor. Reasonable atmosphere, and decent beer from eight handpumps (e.g. Leeds Gathering Storm, £4.20, on my latest visit). NB - As an unbranded M&B (Castle) house, the real ale choice is normally similar to that found at one of the more adventurous Nicholsons outlets.

On 29th October 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 5831 recommendations about 5831 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Nick Davies left this review about The Queens Arms

It has upped its game on the real ale front in the couple of years since I wrote the account below. Always a decent selection and deservedly in the 2014 GBG. Well worth seeking out but best best go in the afternoon, Imperial currently has just two mediocre bars for several thousand people so it gets mobbed out in the evenings.

2011 review
-----------
In the 35 years I have known the area this ex-Charringtons, now a "Metro Professional" branded M&B pub has always been one level better than any of the large number of identikit ex-Watneys, now Punch/TW branded pubs around here. M&B's more upmarket brands can be OK when they've got their fingers out and this one isn't so bad. Of course it isn't a traditional two bar Victorian local any more, there's just a pillar in the middle and the positions of the doors to remind you of the original layout. An unending series of refurbishments leaves us with a fairly standard gastro-ish arrangement, bare floors, scrubbed tables, menus on blackboards. It's not cheap, well over four quid for top-end lager, but this doesn't deter the large local student population - perhaps not surprising given the demographic all three local colleges attract. Beers are from the usual suspects, with a couple of guests though you're unlikely to get anything too esoteric. It does get very full in the evenings, even more so in summer when the proms are on, and service can be dreadfully slow and offhand. Best to call in the afternoon for a more civilised experience.

On 29th September 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 467 recommendations about 459 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Queens Arms

This pub still has on a really good ale selection. They had on Red Squirrell London Black IPA, Doom Bar, London Pride, Summer Lightning, Butcombe Great Grey Owl APA, Bath Summer Gold, Lancaster Brewery Lemon Grass, and Stonehenge Eye Opener. Just a small niggle - not knowing Eye Opener I asked the barman if it was a brown bitter style and he said they were all bitters. In those circumstances a pub with such a commitment to real ale might have offered a taster. But that's just nit picking; the Eye Opener turned out to be just what I wanted, a brown bitter in excellent condition.

The pub is still as described previously, with the fixed price menu still available. I even recognised some of the dishes on offer, such as old spot sausages & mash, and gammon steak.

This pub is tucked away down a mews, as are just about all the decent pubs in this general area, originally to keep them away from the sensitive eyes of the occupants of the grand houses lining the major thoroughfares. How times have changed. Of course you are not going to find an unspoilt backstreet boozer anywhere near here, and this one has certainly had the upmarket treatment. But it has perhaps surprisingly retained one or two of its original features, such as the bar counter and half height wood panelling on the walls. There are no pool tables, dartboards or fruit machines, although there is a smallish TV on one of the walls. Free wi-fi is advertised. When I visited there were masses of flowers outside, adding to its attraction.

All things considered this is still just enough of a pub to make it an attractive destination for me. And eight ales, with only two of the usual suspects on parade, is a definite plus. I would be happy to visit again.

On 17th August 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2552 recommendations about 2470 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Queens Arms

This pub is tucked away on a corner in a surprisingly large grid of mews buildings just along from the Royal Albert Hall and Imperial College. It is an L-shaped smallish single room, bare boarded, half panelled light coloured walls and not much in the way of decor apart from a number of pot plants. My afternoon visit found a rather laid back, long lunch feel to it with barely audible music playing and couples and a larger group mostly dining. The place gives the impression of being rather foody and the main menu looked pretty good and interesting with main courses mostly £9.50-£12 with steak at the usual high premium. There is also a more simple fixed price menu at £7/10/13 depending on how many courses you choose. Sandwiches and snacks available too. Menus are listed on a number of chalkboards as well as on clipboards at the tables. Seating is generally standard but there is one high table and a drinking shelf along one side. No outdoor seating but a railed off designated area is provided for our nicotine hungry friends with a sign advising no drinks outside of this spot.
On to the main matter, the beer. Eight handpumps, seven were in use; Pride, Doom Bar, Purity Pure Gold, Adnam's Ghost Ship, Sambrooks Junction, Butcombe Rare Breed (£3.80) and unusually I thought Nicholson's Pale Ale from St Austell as this is certainly not a Nicholson's establishment. Proper ciders from Weston's plus an unusual selection on some of the fonts including Sierra Nevada PA, London Meantime PA, Kozel and Leffe.
I liked it here, it was quiet, chilled and unhurried despite having a few in, reading other reviews perhaps it hots up a little in the evenings.

On 11th November 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1685 recommendations about 1662 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


paulof horsham left this review about The Queens Arms

In the unlikely event that this reviewer finds himself living in a multi-million pound mews house in West London, The Queens Arms could well be his local and he'd be content with that. While it's clearly aiming itself at the well-to-do folk of the locality, there's much to enjoy for those of us of more limited means. Plenty of seating at tables and stools, plus room outside, you should find somewhere to sit without too much trouble. And then you can check out the beery delights at the bar. While the pub's website (currently, and for some time) states that they've been mostly enjoying London Pride and Doom Bar, there are six more available from quality micros such as Ilkley and Hopdaemon. Summer Lightning was making an appearance on my visit and very fine it was too. Not only that, but the taps also offer up an interesting selection, certainly more than the average pub: Sierra Nevada Pale Ale just had to be tried. I can't help thinking that they could do more online to push this aspect of their offer.

Food seemed very reasonably priced considering the location and the bar staff are certainly enthusiastic and knowledgeable about the various beers that are available.

All in all, definitely worth investigating if you're in the museums area of South Kensington (but make sure you have the Pubs Galore map, as you could struggle to find the place otherwise).

On 11th August 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 274 recommendations about 265 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Queens Arms

Basic single room pub located in a pleasant mews to the rear of the Royal Albert Hall. The interior comprises of one large, open room, with some high arches and pillars and bare wooden floorboards. The walls are half pine panelled with the remainder painted in neutral shades with some dark patches daubed on top and used to display menus and drinks offers on them in chalk. Furniture is fairly basic and extra seating can be found in a small area to the right hand side of the bar.
The pub has a bit of a student bar feel to it, which makes sense given its close proximity to Imperial College. Loud music was playing on my Friday evening visit and the lighting was very subdued. There were three ales available at the bar – London Pride, White Horse Black Horse Porter and Copper Dragon IPA – as well as a decent selection of premium lagers including Leffe, Erdinger and Franzkaiser Weisse Bier. My pint of Black Horse Porter was in good condition and it was served to me by a friendly enough barmaid.
There aren’t too many pubs in this part of town, and whilst there is nothing especially to commend this place on, it was good enough for a decent pint before moving on. Worth a look if you’re in the area.

On 13th March 2011 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2362 recommendations about 2362 pubs]