User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Pub Of The Month - November 2021 with rpadam on the Pub Forum

Cabot Court Hotel (JD Wetherspoon), Weston Super Mare

Knightstone Road
Weston Super Mare
BS23 2AH
Phone: 01934427930

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

J D Wetherspoon

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Cabot Court Hotel (JD Wetherspoon)

This is a large, sprawling Wetherspoons pub set across several floors in a converted hotel on the seafront. The front entrance takes you straight into the main bar area – a rather stripped back space given over to vertical drinking for the most part but with a few high tables and stools thrown into the mix as well, mainly around the large pillars that break the room up. The servery runs along the right-hand wall and there are some bench booths towards the rear part of the room that look quite comfortable, but overall, this was one of the pub’s less inspiring spots. Stairs to the right lead up to the next level – a dark and cosy spot with long banquettes and comfy chairs under some striking pieces of art including a set of video screens showing waves lapping at the shore. The room had a nice, pub-like quality to it and only really suffers from being on the main route through the pub, making it a bit cramped at time with customers and staff jostling their way through. At the end of this area, the pub turns 90 degrees and you start heading towards the rear of the building, where a large lounge-style area can be found. This was arguably the nicest place in the whole pub with its plush carpets, large windows looking out to the pier, eclectic photos on the plain, half-panelled walls and cool aerial view painting of the pub and surrounding seafront area. There’s no doubt as to the room’s most striking feature though – a giant birdcage with a single table inside which was proving very popular with young families. The far end of the room has an impressive fireplace which was lit when we breakfasted here, creating a homely feel rarely associated with this pub chain. The stairs continue up to another level where you’ll find a second bar and a seating area that winds itself around the servery, offering plenty of basic table and chair options, most of which were either occupied or else filthy as the staff struggled to keep pace with the unseasonably high turnout, even closing the doors and turning people away at one point. From here, you can go up another flight of stairs to reach what I believe is the top level, although I didn’t get a proper look at this room, which appeared to be another simple seating space. Outside, there is a good-sized patio area on a raised platform offering excellent sea views and beyond this is an appealing triangle of grass with plenty more benches which looked like it was out of bounds in the off-season.
Thankfully I was here with the other half who has the Wetherspoons app on her phone, as without it I think I’d still be waiting for my drinks now, such was the disparity between staff and customer numbers. The app allowed me to choose between three ‘Spoons regular ales and three guests and it was a bit of a no-brainer to go for the Theakston Old Peculiar at a bargain £1.69 a pint. I love this beer and it was in great nick her – well worth the wait. In a first for me, we also stayed the night here, as they still offer a number of rooms upstairs. Our room was a good size and had a small balcony outside with great views along the seafront. We’d got a good deal on the price of the room and I would definitely consider staying here again.
I’m pretty sure I didn’t see this pub at its best as the limited number of staff tried manfully to cope with the unexpectedly large weekend crowds on an unseasonably warm, bright day. However, putting the uncleared tables and long waiting times aside, I can imagine this would be a very nice ‘Spoons if it were running on a more even keel. It’s fitted out to a high spec, has some well-kept beer on the bar and a nice garden for the summer months. I enjoyed this despite the obvious issues and would happily return either as a pub-goer or as a hotel guest.

On 19th November 2020 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2630 recommendations about 2630 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Cabot Court Hotel (JD Wetherspoon)

This hotel is now a Lloyds No 1 Bar, although you wouldn't necessarily notice unless you see the sound system and lighting in the upstairs bar. Unusual grey-based colour scheme and various decorative features adding a bit of interest in the various seating / dining areas, and some windows have decent seafront views. Seven real ales on handpump in the main ground-floor bar, including two from Moles - Gold and The Tunneler (normally £2.49, but 40p less on a Monday). Also has eight more handpumps upstairs, although these were either duplicates or unused.

On 15th April 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6620 recommendations about 6620 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about Cabot Court Hotel (JD Wetherspoon)

This place is listed in the JDW directory as a Lloyds as well as one of their hotels but I saw no evidence of it as I didn't venture up the stairs where according to one of the reviews below and What Pub there is a dance floor at the top. Because the majority of the place is standard JDW I wouldn't class it as a Lloyds at all. The fixtures and fittings are better than average. The sea is immediately across the road from the front door of this place so I would imagine it's fun in the winter storms.
The downstairs bar has just seven hand pumps which had the JDW Trio Of Doom, Marston's One Is 90, Exmoor Beast & XPA and one available soon. I went for the Exmoor Beast (£2.65 but was marked at £2.79) which was in good nick. I thought this was a good Spoons. It's GBG 2016 listed.

On 20th June 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Michael Wright left this review about Cabot Court Hotel (JD Wetherspoons)

The building well described by Blackthorn below. I was in late afternoon, late April. The usual 'spoons customers in, older couple eating, drunk group of lads, young couple boozing, you have seen it all before

It was OK as it goes, I had a pint of Bristol Brewery Old something or other, it was nice pint and I enjoyed it

Worth going in if in the area

On 8th May 2015 - rating: 6
[User has posted 526 recommendations about 382 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ron Priestley left this review about Cabot Court Hotel (JD Wetherspoons)

Upon arriving at WSM for two weeks holiday, I made for the Cabot I sways drink at j wetherspoons if one is in the town. I always like egg ham and chips but when I asked for it the barman said that they do not do that there except Mondays.I then asked for soup of the day, He replied no starters here, I was fed up by now and left the pub and went to a fish and chip shop 300 yards down the road as I was hungry upon just arriving at WSM and wanted to eat.
Not to be out done I visited the Cabot again in the evening. I asked for rump steak and was told that they only do this from the grill on steak Tuesdays.I could have sirloin if I wanted but I hate sirloin as it is not like rump in the slightest.
I was brassed off by now - what a first day at WSM.
As I was complaining about the food not on sale I was politely pointed to a notice on the bar saying that -- as it was August and a busy holiday period and busy-- a smaller cut down menu would be on offer.
I have never found any other wetherspoon pubs do this in all my times of using them since they came around new to the trade. All I can think is that the Cabot don't want holiday people in the pub and when the holidays are finally over the pub will serve the full regular menu to the locals. I left and never went in there again.I went to the Dragon Inn also a wetherspoons establishment, a far better place and with full menu every day.

On 12th September 2014 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1 recommendations about 1 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Blackthorn _ left this review about Cabot Bars

A cavernous pub on four different levels and although in many ways it has the identikit feel of any other JDW pub, they’ve made a good job of trying to give a bit of a local feel to the place, and I actually felt it had a lot more character than many of the company’s pubs.

The colour scheme is a mixture of cream, maroon and battleship grey which perhaps sounds slightly depressing but works well enough. There is numerous outside seating including a few benches along the front on the pavement, a small balcony to the left, and a larger terrace on the right which is a pleasant spot overlooking the Winter Gardens. There are various black and white pictures of old Weston on the walls, and there is various other seaside memorabilia such as an old fashioned bathing costume in a display case and a swimming pool depth marker (4’, 4’6”, 5’, etc.) on the wall. I particularly liked the old swimming pool warning signs, No Running, No Bombing, No Petting, etc. In addition to this there was a small area done up to look like a ship’s cabin, with floor to ceiling wood panelling and “views” through the windows showing surfers on the beach (this was quite effective – presumably some type of projection TV, but a nice touch). Beyond this was an area more like a hotel dining room, with an unusual bird cage surrounding one set of tables.

Unusually for a Wetherspoons, there is an area at the back of a top floor that doubles as a dance floor and an adjacent DJ booth along with some magic mirrors like you might get at a funfair. Apparently there is a regular house DJ on Friday and Saturday nights, and guest DJ’s on Thursdays. Staff were friendly enough, but could do with being a bit more switched on. One was clearly more interested in emptying the dishwasher than serving customers, but I’ll give them the benefit of the doubt since they’ve only been open a few days, and a manager soon put him right.

Good choice of beers on tap – Cairngorm Trade Winds, Abbot Ale, GWB Maiden Voyage, Ruddles County, Vale Brewery Gravitas, Bishop’s Finger, GWB Summer Nights and Butcombe Blond. Ciders were Strongbow and Thatcher’s Gold.

On 31st July 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1771 recommendations about 1701 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Mark Hirst left this review about Cabot Bars

has just been taken over and is reopening 6/11/2010 as a Lloyds bar.

On 24th October 2010 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 7 recommendations about 6 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Richard Arwkrite left this review about Cabot Bars

Large multi-level pub not the best for wheelchairs.Very popular for food with the holiday makers and real ale available so it can get very crowded.

On 27th September 2009 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 197 recommendations about 185 pubs]