User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Halifax Crawl - 21 June 2024 with Real Ale Ray on the Pub Forum

Spouter's Corner (JD Wetherspoon), Wood Green, N22

Unit 5 Hollywood Green, 180 High Road
N22
N22 6EJ
Phone: 02088813891

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

J D Wetherspoon
Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Quinno _ left this review about Spouter's Corner (JD Wetherspoon)

Gloomy workaday Spoons (opened in 2000, I think), bedecked in an unsatisfactory colour scheme of mushroom and burgundy. The metal servery is unusual and is the only thing of interest. Tables are really squashed together and the atmosphere was horrible and claustrophobic on a grey wet Saturday afternoon. Four guest cask, my Maxim didn't clear (NBSS 1.5) but the Kirkby Lonsdale Radical was much better (3). Didn’t get on with this place at all.

On 11th June 2024 - rating: 4
[User has posted 5239 recommendations about 5222 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about Spouter's Corner (JD Wetherspoon)

This is a large ,modern 'spoons housed on the ground floor of a huge building and close to the tube station.There is a very high ceiling,a raised section to the right and a rank of high tables down the middle of the space with regular furniture elsewhere.Noise reverberates around the cavernous interior,it lacks charm and has the atmosphere of a drinking barn.
There are 10 handpumps drawing on my trip regulars GK IPA,Abbott,Ruddles Best and Doom Bar with guests Banks and Taylor SOS,Redemption Urban Dusk,Portobello VPA,Lymestone Ein Stein and a very decent Nottingham Brewery Rose's Oatmeal Stout.
Despite the downsides,at least you can get a decent pint here which is rare in this part of Wood Green.

On 10th September 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2775 recommendations about 2775 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about Spouter's Corner (JD Wetherspoon)

Spouter's Corner is a typical looking Wetherspoons that is set under some sort of complex,so that pleased me.
Once inside there is a long oblong shaped room which runs to the rear,the bar is situated on the mid left side,there is a raised area to the front right which is where i sat to watch the world go by,the room is carpeted and the seating normal tables and chairs.
The guest beer choice was not that good,but i only wanted one drink so a half of Trumans Runner went down well,there was also a beer from Sambrooks on,plus Spoons regulars GK Abbot Doom Bar and Ruddles Best.
I found this to be a decent Spoons to have a pre 11am drink,it was very quiet on my Thursday morning visit.

Pub visited 4/8/2016

On 8th September 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about Spouter's Corner (JD Wetherspoon)

The usual Wetherspoon format.Quite unattractive imo. Usual line up of beers but I tried a bottle from their craft range.Thwaites-big Ben which was very good and at least £2 cheaper than I could have bought it in a central London craft beer bar although they probably wouldn't sell it as Thwaites aint really craft or cool.Massive choice of beers in Wetherspoons now .Well done Tim.

On 23rd July 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1023 recommendations about 1009 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Spouter's Corner (JD Wetherspoon)

This is a large Wetherspoons pub set inside a pretty unattractive leisure complex next to Wood Green station. You enter past a partially covered outdoor seating area and porch into a vast open space with the servery midway down the left hand side. The bar counter is slightly curved and the bar back, which is adorned with some plaster artworks, also visible elsewhere around the room, follows the same shape. There is a good deal of seating in the front part of the pub, including a slightly screened off area in the front right on a raised platform. Colourful artworks brighten this spot up somewhat and there is also a statue here depicting one of the 'Spouters' from whom the pub takes it's name (the pub standing on the site of an area used until the 1950's for public speaking, a-la 'Speaker's Corner'). High tables and stools are the norm opposite the servery before the room opens out again to the rear. Here there are lots of standard tables and chairs, ideal for dining, plus some booths along the left hand wall. The décor is a bit more drab, with glass brick windows to the right and rear and walls painted in neutral colours. TV screens were showing rolling news coverage and a board near the bar helpfully listed upcoming ales, which is a nice feature for the regulars to make use of.
There are ten hand pumps split into two banks of five, dispensing no less than six regular 'Spoons ales and three guests with a real cider on the final pump. I tried the Celt Experience Native Storm and thought it was some way past its prime. Service was remarkably slow, but then there was just the one barman behind the bar when I arrived and the place was filling up quickly prior to a big gig at Alexandra Palace that evening.
I thought this place had the potential to be quite a good 'Spoons outlet, but was disappointed by the slow service, relatively uninspiring beer range and poor quality pint. It's worth a look due to the lack of other decent options in the immediate area but you may want to go with expectations suitably lowered.

On 13th December 2014 - rating: 5
[User has posted 3154 recommendations about 3154 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about Spouter's Corner (JD Wetherspoon)

I first came here a few years ago during one of the Spoon's festivals. I wasn't that keen on it then and to be honest don't feel that different after today's visit.

I would query Rex's claim below that it is a shop conversion, although I'm happy to be proved wrong.
I had the impression that the pub opened as part of the leisure complex development back in 2000.
It was originally known as just Wetherspoons which would explain the totally off-putting address on the Spoons web site of Unit 5, Spouter's Corner.

The interior is decked out in a modern style, more like a Lloyds No. 1 than a Wetherspoons. If this is supposed to attract the young and trendy then it clearly isn't working during the day as virtually all the lunchtime trade consisted of the Last of the Summer Wine brigade.

I had a Sambrook's Pump House Pale (£2.29) which was in very good nick. Given that Wood Green has always been a poor area for pubs, visiting this one is probably about the best bet if you can put up with the rather grim building and modern decor.

On 22nd June 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about Spouter's Corner (JD Wetherspoon)

This pub is named after, and on the site of, the Wood Green equivalent of the famous Hyde Park Speaker’s Corner. It’s obviously a shop conversion. There is a statue in the pub next to the condiments table (where else?) of some cloth-capped working class chap holding forth. This is a Wetherspoon’s pub, but that sort of internal feature is unusual for them. The other thing in here that you don’t see in a ‘spoons is the raised area on the right as tou enter signed as the “Diners’ Area”. Otherwise it’s a fairly standard ‘spoons. The usual furnishings are present; there’s a bank of four fruit machines along one of the walls; and the usual old black and whites photographs of the area are on display (who knew that Jack Hawkins was born in Wood Green?).

Being the first day of the beer festival there were loads of ales available. Festival ales are a very reasonable £1.99 a pint, and the Birra Del Borgo went down very well. I was in here at around midday on a Wednesday and it was a quite a civilised place for a quietish pints, but I’m sure it might be a different place in the evenings, and of course ale availability will not be typical as the festival was on. But if I was around here again I would be happy to drop in for a pint.

On 24th October 2012 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2606 recommendations about 2520 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Spouter's Corner (JD Wetherspoon)

Initial impressions are not favourable - lurking smokers crowding around the entrance to this ugly-looking part of a ugly-looking building. However, the interior is rather more interesting (which is just as well as you will have plenty of time to look around while you are waiting to be served...). 10 handpumps, with four festival ales (plus two 'available soon') in addition to the usual suspects, with beer keenly priced at £1.85. However, with miserable staff, and some fairly suspect customers, the atmosphere doesn't encourage one to stay for a second pint.

On 14th April 2010 - rating: 5
[User has posted 8164 recommendations about 8164 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alesonly . left this review about Spouter's Corner (JD Wetherspoon)

I went in here last week whilst I was down in Wood Green shopping. I thought I would see if it had Improved since my Last visit which was over a year ago. The Ale Quality was much better this time as both Ales I tried were in good condition so was the service as I actually got severed this time with only a short wait. I could only see Two guest Ales on when I went in Plus the usual regular Ales. Looks like the place has been cleaned up & some better staffing put in place since last time I was in. But for some strange reason I always feel uncomfortable in this Wetherspoons as if I need too keep looking over my shoulder but that could be just the area. Its OK for a midday drink but I would not want too go down here in the dark evenings.

On 30th March 2010 - rating: 6
[User has posted 132 recommendations about 105 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john mcgraw left this review about J.D Wetherspoon

A poor Wetherspoon's with a poor beer selection and quality.I have been here a couple of times but will not bother anymore

On 20th March 2009 - rating: 2
[User has posted 2044 recommendations about 2025 pubs]

Page: 1 2