User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Lockdown 2 with sheffield hatter on the Pub Forum

The Knights Templar (JD Wetherspoon), Bristol

1 The Square
Bristol
BS1 6DG

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

J D Wetherspoon
Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Knights Templar (JD Wetherspoon)

Just across the way from Bristol Temple Meads station, this is a very large, modern looking Wetherspoons pub. Massive front windows look out to a sizeable outdoor seating area in the spacious square that fronts the pub. You enter through large double doors, into a huge open plan room, carpeted throughout with the servery over on the far right hand wall. To the left, there is a large split-level seating area with comfy looking banquettes around the perimeter and regular tables and chairs elsewhere. Meanwhile, the right hand side has plenty of high tables and stools in the fairly broad space before reaching the servery. The bar has a nice counter with something written across the bottom of it, but it was far too crowded at the bar to get anything other than the odd unintelligible snatch of text, so I’ve no idea what it says. This compliments a typical Wetherspoons’ bar back and crude metal framed gantry. Above the bar, there is a massive clock circled by the pub’s name, which is by some way the most interesting feature you’re likely to find in here. The room runs a short way to the rear past the end of the bar, where plenty more tables and chairs can be found in a fairly uninspiring part of the pub. Decor is pretty Spartan, with the usual ‘Spoons info boards and TV screens showing muted news coverage being just about as good as it gets.
A truly miserable barman greeted my arrival with as little enthusiasm as possible as I ordered one of the five guest ales available on this visit (I forgot to note which beer I took). There were also three ‘Spoons regulars and two real ciders on handpull – my pint was okay but hardly in ideal condition.
I quite liked this place at first and think it’s a decent station-side ‘Spoons with a decent guest ale ratio and plenty of comfortable seating, but I soon cooled on it thanks to the sub-par beer quality, dour service and manic clientele. It’s by no means a bad ‘Spoons but neither is it the stand-out branch I initially thought it might be – great for a quick half before taking a train though.

On 9th January 2019 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2538 recommendations about 2538 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Knights Templar (JD Wetherspoon)

This Spoons at the bottom of a hideous modern office block is smaller than the exterior would suggest.
It's a wide room with the bar on the right and a single raised area plus fairly typical furnishings.
The bar has two sets of five hand pumps which had the JDW Trio Of Doom with Ruddles doubled, 2 ciders, Celt Experience Galaxy Equinoxe, Oakham JHB, Bath Gem and some cricket themed rubbish from GK. I went for the Galaxy Equinoxe (£2.95) which was cloudy so I sent it back and replaced it with the Black Dragon cider.
This is a typical city centre JDW, more expensive than normal and on the evidence of my morning visit not very good.

On 20th June 2016 - rating: 3
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Knights Templar (JD Wetherspoon)

The Knights Templar is a modern Spoons that is Close Bristol Temple Meads station.
I had big problems trying to find this pub after coming out of the station,i ended up asking a young couple for directions and luckily they were going there so i followed them.

Once inside there is an L shaped room with the bar on the right side,the room is carpeted and the seating the usual Spoons type with tall tables and chairs to the front left and normal ones elsewhere.
There were three guest beers i cold choose from,i had a drink of Moles Best which went down well after my journey done to Bristol,the other beers noted were DBC Frosted Jack,Prescott Hill Climb and Spoons regulars Ruddles Best,GK Abbot and Doom Bar.
This is a decent enough Spoons if you can find it.

While writing my notes i was very surprised when an unknown person asked me if i was Alan Winfield,at first i did'nt know what to say,i then realised it was Jon from Pubs Galore,who then went on to do the full Bristol pub crawl with me,no need to look at my A-Z of Bristol he told me which way to go all the way through the crawl,a great help and many thanks for that.

Pub visited 23/1/2016

On 20th February 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Knights Templar (JD Wetherspoon)

A visit the other day found four guests on and of course I headed straight for the Bath Festivity (first-rate condition, too). I'm never going to love the place but it serves a purpose if you only have time for a swift one before your train.

November 2014
Things seem to have improved here a bit. My latest visit found a full fleet of ales on, cleaner interior, friendly service and prompt-table-clearing. Upped by a mark. Rated 5

July 2012
Modern and purpose-built drinking den designed for the suits and keyboard chimps that inhabit the newly-developed Temple Quays complex. The interior is pleasant, if somewhat bland, though the large plate glass windows are quite interesting. Staff and beer are both variable, depending on the day. Can also get quite messy inside. Nothing overly special, make the extra few paces to the Cornubia or Seven Stars for a much better drinking experience in easy reach of the station. But if you really can't be arsed to walk that far, here will suffice. Rated 4

On 30th December 2015 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3997 recommendations about 3985 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Knights Templar (JD Wetherspoon)

This is a 'spoons set on the ground floor of a modern glass and steel building just round the corner from Temple Meads Station. Being a 'spoons there's a good ale selection at reasonable prices, plus the usual pub grub food available. Here we have the usual 'spoons mix of tall tables/tall stools and normal tables and chairs crammed into the large open space. The only slightly unusual things were the very large clock on the wall behind the servery, and the montage of local scenes on one wall in the form of a cross.

The clientele when we were in on Saturday afternoon seemed to be transient travellers, presumably getting a final drink in before boarding a train at Temple Meads - which is exactly what my companion and I were doing. As 'spoons go it's nothing very special, largely having the atmosphere of a station pub, but having said that I'm really pleased it's there for the benefit of thirsty travellers.

On 21st November 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2577 recommendations about 2495 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Knights Templar (JD Wetherspoon)

A decent Spoons to meet up for the start of our Pubs Galore, Autumn/Winter crawl. I was surprised how busy this pub gets at lunchtime and myself and Mrs A were lucky to get to the bar, before a large queue began. The service was fast and friendly. I went for the Brewsters Brewers Dozen, which wasn't to my taste, so swopped it with Mrs A for her Long Man Brewery Golden Tipple, which was more to my taste.

On 17th November 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about Knights Templar (JD Wetherspoon)

The venue for my last quick pint before the train as the rear entrance to Temple Meads is very close by. What a pint it was too, I've heard and read plenty about Exmoor Beast before, splendid stuff which had me snoozing (and probably snoring) from Bristol till Reading. The pub itself is a modern build with lots of glazing to the frontage, surrounded by modern office buildings. The bar is along a side wall, some seating with high padded backs, also the usual serried ranks of small tables always found in a JDW. I seem to recall three or four guest ales on but not what they all were.

On 22nd February 2012 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1687 recommendations about 1663 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about Knights Templar (JD Wetherspoon)

Close to Temple Meads station and occupying the ground floor of a newish building,my visit to this 'spoons coincided with their bi annual beer festival and the quality of my ale was good.There are several external tables overlooking a large open space and the traffic free environment makes this an enjoyable stop.There are no longer any screens internally showing train departures times,but this probably one of the better 'spoons in the city centre despite the predictable interior design.

On 15th October 2011 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2087 recommendations about 2087 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about Knights Templar (JD Wetherspoon)

Had a job finding this one as we were looking in the front of the station and it is by the car park at the rear. Looks a bit out of the way among modern office blocks. Extremely busy so the usual problem with service, although staff were trying to serve in some sort of order. Only 2 guests available so we had Newmans Red Castle Cream and Slaters Premium, noth in good condition. Lots of drawings and a community notice board which give a local feel to it despite its surroundings. Blackboard in entrance with a number of real ales coming soon like a mini fest.

On 7th February 2011 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1308 recommendations about 1197 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Clive Thompson left this review about Knights Templar (JD Wetherspoon)

Last pub on our Bristol Pub Crawl and both the newer and better of the two JDW's. Finished off with the 6% Cwmni Bragdy Bleddyn 1075, which presumably I ordered by pointing. Handy for the train station.

On 11th October 2009 - rating: 5
[User has posted 742 recommendations about 678 pubs]

Page: 1 2