User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Pub Of The Month - November 2021 with Thuck Phat on the Pub Forum

The Pilgrim, Brislington, Bristol

Hollywood Road
Brislington
Bristol
BS4 4LF

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 4 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about Hollywood Tavern

The Hollywood Tavern is set in the back streets of Brislington.
Once inside there is a single oblong shaped room which runs to the rear,the bar is on the front left side.
The front area is bare boarded,there bench seating and chairs to the front,the rear area has a tiled floor where there is a pool table.
There was one real ale on,which was Hobgoblin,this was a decent drink.
The background music was crap.
The pub was fairly busy on my late Saturday afternoon visit.

Pub visited 29/7/2017

On 28th October 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pete Yeates left this review about Pilgrim Inn

As was the case for all the pubs in Brislington, this was a Courage house and in the 1970’s they were forced to sell it to Bass Charrington. The last two long-standing tenants, Harold Godfrey, followed by Norman Wright were superceded by Bass making this a managed house due to its success. Unfortunately, the place went downhill in the 1990’s due to mis-management.

Starting the new century, it re-opened following a mysterious fire and underwent a refurbishment in October 2007 in the hands of Punch Taverns. At that point it offered four real ales and a selection of other beers, lagers & ciders and food.

Due to further problems, the Pilgrim closed again in early June 2008 and did not re-open until mid September, again under new management. It changed hands again in May 2009. Also in May, the Pilgrim, along with the Bloomfield Inn and Sandringham Hotel had windows smashed, which was reported in the Bristol Evening Post.

The Pilgrim closed (again) on Monday 5th October 2009. It re-opened 28th of October 2009 under more new management, this time by an operator that has two successful pubs in Bedminster & Clifton. A brave try to drag the Pilgrim back into life, but to try to run a la Southville/Clifton did not work and the tenants changed again. Since it changed hands again, the function room and the rest of the upstairs area has now been converted into flats, meaning the actual Pub is nothing more that a "Lock up Shop". Whoever runs the pub, lives off-site.
Check the opening hours - the last time I called here on a Saturday evening it was closed!

On 28th November 2014 - rating: 3
[User has posted 98 recommendations about 92 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Blackthorn _ left this review about Pilgrim Inn

A back street pub a bit off the beaten track and away from the main road, it has nonetheless managed to survive when two others pubs in the village have both closed in recent years. Having said that, I was initially unsure if it was open when we visited – the pub sign was not illuminated and the pub was in darkness other than a couple of hanging lamps above the bar. We persevered though, and found two other punters in there.

I was under the impression that this had been taken on by the team behind The Hen & Chicken in Southville a few years back, but whereas that remains a popular and buzzy place with a good range of pizzas, this seems quite the opposite and any sign of a refurbishment has now been lost. It was difficult to discern much in the gloom, but from what I could see it’s a good sized U-shape pub with a wood strip floor at the front and tatty cream paintwork on the walls. A pool table was at the rear and here there was chequered lino on the floor, whilst a dart board was on the wall. A plasma was up on one wall but this was not in use, and one of the other punters in there was making some selections from the jukebox which was just as well or it would have been deathly quiet otherwise. The most interesting feature was probably the carved wooden backdrop to the bar. There is also a courtyard garden apparently, although we did not investigate this.

Beers on tap were nonexistent unfortunately. Despite two hand pumps on the bar, both of these had run out or were not in use. One had a Doom Bar clip on it, the other nothing. Ciders fared better though with Thatcher’s Dry, Thatcher’s Gold and Blackthorn as well as cans of Natch in the 'fridge which always strikes me as the sign of a classy establishment.

On 19th November 2013 - rating: 3
[User has posted 1771 recommendations about 1701 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


paul smith left this review about Pilgrim Inn

Don't go to this Pub! The food is rubbish and the extremely unfriendly guy behind the bar was a moron. The Sunday roasts have to be seen, we were all laughing at how bad it was. If you like lots (AND I MEAN LOTS) of gravy you might like it. But I like food to taste of what it actually is and not of a revolting brown putrid liquid. At one point I have to restrain a few carrots from floating off down the table. And they only had one ale on, out of what looked like a possible 4 or 5. No wonder there was practically no one else in.

On 16th March 2008 - rating: 2
[User has posted 1 recommendations about 1 pubs]