User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Those two new Tier 2 rules explained! with rpadam on the Pub Forum

The Beer House, Paddington, W2

Platform 11, Paddington Station
W2
W2 1HA

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Beer House

A square cabin like structure on the station concourse,the pine flooring ,muzak and small size makes it very noisy if there are a few punters inside.There are several high tables and drinking shelves,along with two banquettes ,but trade is very transient and the presence of several gaming machines with stools in front of them doesn't enliven the atmosphere,although the flatscreen with BBC 24 news was atleast on mute.There is a short pub grub menu,9 mundane keg beers and 4 handpumps offering St Austell Tribute (ok condition,ludicrous £2.45 a half !! )CW Old Speckled Hen,GK Abbott and IPA Gold.A less than exciting range,unless you are desperate for a drink,I can see little reason to return.

On 15th May 2017 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2087 recommendations about 2087 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Blackthorn _ left this review about The Beer House

One of a number of small units on the station concourse, this is a modern, single room pub with windows on two sides allowing good views of the comings and goings outside.

The pub has a laminate wood floor and pale green paintwork. High stools around the windows are joined by tables and chairs elsewhere and some leather bench seating around the walls. A plasma was at the rear built in to a unit displaying a selection of wine bottles either side. This was showing a news channel, but the volume was muted so it was not at all intrusive. I didn’t check the menu, but did notice a pile of pork pies on the counter and a board advertising some tapas style grazing dishes priced at three for a tenner.

Beers on tap were Tribute, Greene King IPA and Old Speckled Hen. The craft beer of the month was apparently Meantime London Smoked Porter. The solitary cider was Symonds Founder’s Reserve which was slightly disappointing – seeing as a large proportion of their clientele are going to be from the West Country, it seems odd to have picked a cider from Herefordshire.

On 3rd April 2014 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1749 recommendations about 1684 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Beer House

Changed name from the Isambard and refurbished since my last visit in 2008, but still run by Select Service Partner. Two of the three handpumps were working this time, offering Old Speckled Hen and Tribute (£4.20, less 20% Bite card discount). Overall, not too bad for a railway station pub (and very handy for the platforms if you are short of time).

On 29th March 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6198 recommendations about 6198 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about Beer House

UPDATE - has had a re-branding as the 'Beer House'. Wonder if this is the same lot who own the recently-revamped Boadicea at Charing Cross?

Feb 2009
This is a dinky square box converted from a Boots chemist, but they've done well with the interior which is reassuringly old school. Was impressed by the range of ale on (in a station platform pub I'd call more than one a range), my ESB was fair and not-too-badly priced given the location. Another bonus is that there are plenty of places to sit and people watch while you drink, as commuters (or late-night gig-goers) scuttle around the concourse. I can see why they've got the lock on the bog door - the other pissoirs in the station are 20p a tinkle at least this one is free for the paying customer. Worth taking a punt on this if you've got a 15 minute wait for the train and fancy a bit of refreshment. But if you've got 30-40, go out to the Mad Bishop & Bear instead, this one'll keep for the next time.

On 5th May 2013 - rating: 5
[User has posted 3997 recommendations about 3985 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The Isambard

An excellent location adjacent to the platforms. 3 real ales. Certainly does the job if your short on time but if time to play with head up the escalators to the mad bishop and bear for a more extensive beer selection.

On 2nd March 2012 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2719 recommendations about 2662 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about The Isambard

Will also concur with the previous reviewers, this place is not too bad and I've been in a lot worse station concourse bars.
Three real ales on. Nothing special but GK IPA, OSH and London Pride over John Smiths Extra Smooth any day, and my pint of Pride was perfectly acceptable.
Comfortable enough place and fairly ideally suited a small distance away from one of the sets of platform indicator screens allowing you to quickly pop out and see if there's any sign of your delayed connection (wrong type of leaves or in my case snow) being scheduled.

On 20th December 2010 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1712 recommendations about 1661 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Nick Davies left this review about The Isambard

Not bad for what it is and you can usually get a seat even on a busy Friday night if you wait a few minutes. Pride plus a couple of the usual GK suspects on the pumps, so I stuck with lager. 20% off with a BiTE card makes the prices tolerable. Given the poor quality of the pubs in this area you can do much worse.

On 24th November 2010 - rating: 5
[User has posted 524 recommendations about 516 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Isambard

I had to do a double take on this place before I realised it was a pub. I had a 20 minute wait for my train so I popped in for a quick pint and wasn't disappointed. Ten times better than standing on a train platform, which cannot be said for all railway station pubs.

On 31st March 2008 - rating: 5
[User has posted 3586 recommendations about 3565 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Philip Carter left this review about The Isambard

Usual type of platform bar, except this one had real ale. Handy for a quick drink before your train leaves. wheelchair access.

On 30th April 2007 - rating: 6
[User has posted 753 recommendations about 716 pubs]