User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Bottled Beer Bargain Alert with aleandhearty on the Pub Forum

Charters, Peterborough

Town Bridge
Peterborough
PE1 1FP
Phone: 01733315700

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about Charters

Housed on the lower deck of a barge moored on the river, as you’d expect it’s long and thin with the counter down the starboard side and bench seating to port, there is also a large outdoor area on the riverbank. Four pulls at one end are devoted to Oakham beers while a group of four in the middle and seven at the far end serve a range of other breweries beers although a few are doubled up. Usual suspects plus more crafty kegs as well as bottles and cans.

On 3rd April 2019 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2258 recommendations about 2098 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Thuck Phat left this review about Charters

A wonderful Dutch barge moored on the Nene just south of Peterborough town centre.
If boating it's possible to tie up and walk straight in without touching dry land. We did just that, a first for me and worth and extra point.
It's already well described so I'll stick with the salient points: it has a noticeable list (less noticeable after a couple), a Thai restaurant upstairs and a welcoming and comfortable bar area downstairs.
Oakham owned so their beer is well represented: Inferno, JHB, Bishops Farewell and Citra were on alongside Lacons Hoptrick, Abbeydale Bootlegger, Boudicca Andaste's Ale and Grain Dark Ash as guests. All that we tried was in good shape and Oakham are clearly confident enough in their own brews to stock decent guests some of which were reasonably local.
A top spot in Peterborough.

On 21st August 2018 - rating: 9
[User has posted 670 recommendations about 669 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Oggwyn Great left this review about Charters

Rammed at 2 o`clock on my Saturday pre-match visit , 3/4 deep at the bar but using the dark arts i only had a few minutes wait to be served , lots of handpulls mostly Oakhams but hard to see with the crowds in front , i had a Citra which was in pretty good nick , i went outside to the beer garden which was also pretty busy with mostly Shrewsbury fans , there were a few Peterborough fans about and to be honest they are a right miserable bunch , the ones we met in other pubs around town were the same .
It was OK in here maybe better visited on a non match day .

On 29th October 2017 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 775 recommendations about 664 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Mark Davey left this review about Charters

Nice little drinking den close to the town center. Decent brews were on the bar when we attended. As this was the last pub of the day, my memory is a little jaded beyond this.

On 30th January 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 292 recommendations about 276 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about Charters

One of the largest dutch barges in the UK,when it moved here in 1991` it got stuck under the town bridge until the level of the Nene subsided a bit.These days it's owned by Oakham and has a thai restaurant on the upper deck,and a drinking bar in the hold.There is also a substantial riverside garden owned by the barge operator,where food is served in good weather.Over the 26 years the barge has been moored here the river has silted and there is a noticeable list when onboard,although if you pile down the Oakham ale this may self correct !
The hold is bare boarded and has an ale house vibe with the bar running along most of the starboard side,although towards the bow there is a small stage and an interesting display of the fitting out and relocation of the Leendert -R.
In total there are 14 handpumps,with on my trip two real ciders,four Oakham's doubled up (JHB,Inferno,Citra and Bishops Farewell) with a rotating selection of Castor Hopping Toad,Axholme Chantico,Bakers Dozen Straight Outta Ketton and Oakham New World Order ,on fine form.
There is a bar food menu also featuring thai dishes around £7 with lunchtime 2 courses for £11,which seemed good value.On real ale all pints are £3 Monday -Thursday,outstanding value but beware weekends as it can get packed.This is a fun place to ship some ale and should be included on any real ale tour ,the restaurant with it's river views would also impress most partners.
One I will certainly return to.

On 24th January 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2054 recommendations about 2054 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Charters

This 176 foot long barge was built in 1907 and worked the rivers and canals of Holland, Belgium and Germany. The barge was in use up to 1990 and in Sept 1991 opened up as a bar and restaurant. The downstairs bar had 15 handpumps in operation on our visit, a range of Oakham ales were doubled up and a good range of interesting guest ales. The first thing we noticed was that the barge was on a slight tilt, so the bar counter was listing to one side. We went for the Red Brewery White Duck and Nobbys Brewery Guilsborough Gold. The bar was well staffed so service was fast and efficient. The beer quality was also in premium condition, so wouldn't hesitate a revisit.

On 16th July 2016 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


S W left this review about Charters Bar

Great Ales and other products (Duvel on tap, 4 real ciders, belgium fruit beers, 20+ malt whiskeys). Dogs are very welcome, Oriental food was lovely. Nice place.

On 30th December 2013 - rating: 9
[User has posted 6 recommendations about 6 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about Charters Bar

Called into this Good Beer Guide bar on a busy lunchtime and enjoyed our Hopshackle ESB along with the Thai lunch. Friendly and efficient and the beer was good. Full range of Oakham main beers and a couple of their seasonals, plus around 4 guest beers. Thai restaurant on the main deck, but it was a little difficult for anyone with walking difficculties to get downstairs to the bar. Lovely outside seating area alongside its moorings.

On 26th April 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1306 recommendations about 1196 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Charters Bar

This interesting bar is situated on the lower level of a Dutch barge (believed to be the largest continental barge in the UK) moored on the banks of the River Nene. The room is, as you might expect, long and narrow with a predominantly wooden interior broken only by the odd steel support beam. Seating comes in the form of old pews, arranged into big U-shapes opposite the long bar counter, creating large, four-table booths of sorts. At either end of the room there are some standard tables and chairs and a sofa or two at the end nearest the entrance. During my visit, the place was pretty much empty because most customers were taking their drinks outside, which was a bit of a shame as it could have done with a bit of chatter to liven it up. Music was playing in the background, but otherwise it felt a bit too quiet. There isn't quite the nautical theme inside that I was expecting, with a large propeller mounted over the toilet door being the most notable exception.
Thankfully there was a fine range of beer to keep me occupied. Oakham JHB (£2.65), Inferno (£2.75), Citra (£2.85) and Bishop's Farewell (£2.45) were to be expected from a pub that is linked to the Oakham Brewery, but there was an excellent guest selection of Wentworth Chilli Stout (£2.90) and Early Fruits, Nethergate Priory Mild, Woodlands Old Faithful and Best Bitter, Everards Tiger and Bartram’s Coal Porter (£2.90), all priced at £2.80 a pint unless otherwise noted. There was a fine selection of foreign beer as well including Leffe, Veltins and Hoegaarden, as well as three ciders which included Scrumpy Jack and Stowford Press. Four pint take out containers were being advertised on blackboards above the bar. The food options were similar to those in the Brewery Tap, although the menu for the top floor restaurant looked a little more expensive here and it wasn't clear if food could be eaten in the bar.
Having a pub on a barge could be seen as a bit of a novelty idea, but this place is well worth seeking out for much more than its unusual setting.

On 14th April 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2446 recommendations about 2446 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ross stanyon left this review about Charters Bar

top venue....live just along the river path so can stumble home (not fallen in...yet!) great beers good music. get here soon as beer festival is on 24/08-28/08)

On 26th August 2010 - rating: 10
[User has posted 2 recommendations about 2 pubs]

Page: 1 2