User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 15th September 2019) with Mobyduck on the Pub Forum

Munich Cricket Club, Westminster, SW1

1 Abbey Orchard Street
SW1
SW1P 2LU
Phone: 02072225084

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Philip Carter left this review about Munich Cricket Club

The Munich Cricket Club has now moved, from Victoria Street to Abbey Orchard Street. Still a downstairs bar and same German beers on sale. The menu looks the same. Friendly staff. Apparently, all the staff have to be able to carry 8 full steins. Sorry,forgot to mention, they play Oompah music in the gents toilets.

On 8th August 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 747 recommendations about 712 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about Low, Slow & Juke

Basement bar with a mezzanine to the left. Four real ales with two reversed. Twelve keg offerings on the wall. Nothing spectacular.

On 8th March 2017 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1423 recommendations about 1421 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Low, Slow & Juke

The former Abbey has been refurbished in a slightly retro style (including gaudy red neon lighting) and remodelled with the side seating area re-designated as the 'Meating Rooms'. The main bar area has also been refurnished with semi-modern tables and chairs but the 'upstairs' lounge seems much the same. Much more food led than before (or - at least - trying to be, with its smokehouse menu) but you can still just stop by for a drink. Retains four handpumps, but only Oxford Gold was available on this visit, but there are now two rows of craft keg taps on the bar-back. Despite the efforts to cheer up this basement bar, I'm not convinced that this new incarnation is an improvement.

On 15th October 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 5639 recommendations about 5639 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about The Abbey

Nice smart modern basement bar.Music,tv,s and Ping-Pong for the more energetic.Only Marstons -EPA on cask. Nice vibe about this place.

On 25th September 2015 - rating: 6
[User has posted 887 recommendations about 875 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Roger Button left this review about The Abbey

This modern basement bar lacks any intrinsic charm or character and to afficianados of traditional pubs will come over as just another bland and soulless trendy bar aimed at groups of local office workers. The interior is quite spacious with a separate balcony area but it doesn’t feel particularly cosy or comfortable and the ambience isn’t helped by the obvious lack of any natural light. The main draw for me was the 4 ales, 2 from Marstens and 2 from Jennings on my last visit but the quality has been quite poor whenever I have been in which is disappointing considering the efforts to present a fairly decent selection. Definitely more of an after work place than a quick lunchtime pint and on the whole, not a place that I would hurry back to although it would probably appeal to people who prefer a bit of style and image to spit and sawdust.

On 29th December 2009 - rating: 4
[User has posted 1238 recommendations about 1232 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Abbey

This place doesn't look very inviting from street level and I probably wouldn't have bothered with it if I wasn't meeting some friends. I was pleasantly surprised when I got down to the bar as I liked the layout and it wasn't uncomfortably busy for our large group to get settled. The sofas upstairs were laid out well, but unfortunately they were reserved so we had to vacate them at 18:00.

Pedigree, Dirty Tackle and Paddy's Tout were available alongside standard and premium lagers. I ended up sticking to the Guinness as I had been drinking this earlier and I didn't spot any people drinking the ale. The barmaids seemed ok, if maybe a little disinterested in their work, but I'm not sure the barman had a clue what was going on and I put him down as a new starter.

There were a few plasma screens dotted about that were showing Sky Sports News, but I didn't spot any live sport advertised. The background music varied from your expect old rock and pop to some strange coma inducing instrumentals that were better suited to a lounge bar.

This is a large cellar bar that is perfect for meeting groups of mates or work colleagues for the evening, but you wouldn't catch me on my own in here reading the paper.

On 25th March 2009 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3458 recommendations about 3437 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Philip Carter left this review about The Abbey

Basement bar, very popular with the local office workers. Gets very busy in the evening but tables/areas can be booked. serves food all day and has real ale. Make sure you have good eyesight as they turn the light down at 4.15 and as I was trying to make my notes, it made it very difficult. My handwriting is intelligable at the best of times, but writing in the dark didn't do me any favours.

On 26th March 2007 - rating: 6
[User has posted 747 recommendations about 712 pubs]