User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Summer 2020 crawl - possible venues with Aqualung on the Pub Forum

Ye Olde Boot Inn, Chester Central, Chester

9 Eastgate Street
Chester
CH1 1LG

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Rob Hunter left this review about Ye Olde Boot Inn

Visited on Saturday evening. The place was pretty busy, and being able to get a pint for under £2 in Chester city centre would probably go some way to explain that. As anyone who knows Sam Smiths pubs will know, there is only Sam Smiths Old Brewery Bitter on cask, a beer I am not that keen on, but their Extra Stout saved the day for me. This pub also sells their India Ale, which wasn't on in the Falcon (Chester's other Sam Smiths pub) last time I was in.

Two separate signs on the door announce that under 18s are not welcome, and that no swearing is permitted. Once inside there are further signs (and plenty of them) advising that mobile phones are banned. Once at the bar you can see the CCTV monitor which continually pans round the bar, giving a distinctive "big brother" feel.

We sat on the banquette seating in the window, and judging by the marks on it either somebody had died there and not been noticed for a while, or had pissed themselves, or just been very careless with a drink.

Not too bad a place but not somewhere I felt massively comfortable and I don't have any plans to return in the immediate future. One of those places that's good to do once, in my opinion.

On 21st May 2019 - rating: 6
[User has posted 495 recommendations about 452 pubs]


Quinno _ left this review about Ye Olde Boot Inn

Tucked away on the upper tier of Eastgate Row (no street level entrance!), the pub retains much of the original 17th century structure and character. This is a classic Sam's pub - multi layered with a drinking corridor separating the front and back bars, salmon walls, wood trim. Tight and narrow which is a pain at the best of times but at 5pm on a Saturday afternoon made for a pretty uncomfortable crush and the lack of ventilation resulted in a sweaty atmosphere. A couple of the classics missing at the bar, for example no Man in a Box. There was however cask OBB which was a bit flat and fluffy (NBSS 2) – end of the barrel? The Dark Mild was also pretty fobby which made me wonder if the cellaring is a bit duff. Kudos to the barmaid who was doing an incredible job serving a huge throng of customers, taking multiple concurrent orders – barmaid of the year and put her idling colleagues to shame. Anyway, if you like Sam pubs you will like this one. I preferred the interior here but the beer was better at the Flacon, so take your pick. 6.5

On 1st March 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3969 recommendations about 3957 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Brainy Pool left this review about Ye Old Boot Inn

archetypal Sam Smiths museum right in the middle of Chester. it draws a mixture of pensionable drinkers and tourists/shoppers looking for the ye olde pub experience. unsurprisingly it was packed beyond comfort on a Saturday afternoon so I didn't hang around - nice pub though.

On 1st December 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 706 recommendations about 688 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Hurdle left this review about Ye Old Boot Inn

My first visit here. After one of our party was refused entry 40 years ago because they were wearing jeans, I never got round to trying to enter again. After a good visit to the other Sam Smiths in town, I decided to try here. My wife would call this an "old man's pub", so I felt at home.
The entrance on the rows is not too obvious. The room is long and narrow with dim 'club-like' lighting. The Sam's bitter was fine, also £1/half but not quite as good as the nearby Falcon.

On 28th March 2018 - rating: 6
[User has posted 668 recommendations about 618 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Oggwyn Great left this review about Ye Old Boot Inn

Popped in on Friday night and it was busy in the front of the pub but the back room was quiet , usual Sam Smiths beers available , feels very much like a locals pub .

On 6th May 2017 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 775 recommendations about 664 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about Ye Old Boot Inn

Hidden away on the upper level of one of Chester's shopping areas. This Sam Smiths pub is cheap but as noted can be extremely warm when busy and its also a very dark pub. If youre claustrophobic go somewhere else.

On 15th October 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3380 recommendations about 3297 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about Ye Old Boot Inn

Very old pub on one of Chester's Rows. It's a Sam Smiths pub with a small front room, a short drinking corridor and a further room to the rear. The toilets are up some steep stairs. It's very atmospheric as there's very little natural light. It was quite a warm day during my visit and it was a bit sweaty to be honest. In the front room there's lots of chintzy lighting, lots of settles and some stools. The rear room is more dining style but one of the tables was been used to play dominoes, which is good news, there's also a dartboard. I'm not a great fan of Sams OBB, so as it was warm I had a half of their own lager which was £1.04. It's a decent enough pub, but it's too warm for me in summer.

On 13th September 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2802 recommendations about 2726 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Ye Old Boot Inn

A very popular haunt this one, especially with the locals. Can't go wrong with the Sam prices here, staff and regs friendly. I found the pub dark and stuffy, so didn't stay too long.

On 5th March 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2947 recommendations about 2947 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Ye Old Boot Inn

Narrow bar at first-floor level of one of the Chester Rows. Entrance not immediately obvious, leading to two dark bars - one small and the other larger - but only one counter was in use for serving when I visited. Eastgate Room upstairs (not visited). As a Sam Smiths house, only OBB is available on handpump, but I went for the keg Extra Stout at £2.04.

On 1st March 2012 - rating: 6
[User has posted 5955 recommendations about 5955 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Jack Matthews left this review about Ye Old Boot Inn

Just an update, really to echo the previous review and applaud the choice of good Sam Smiths beers (for some reason, no Wheat Beer) - the Dark Beer is excellent and my wife enjoyed a bottled Cherry-flavoured beer.

Good, friendly service and a lot of cheerful customers! Definitely worth a visit.

On 19th November 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2 recommendations about 2 pubs]

Page: 1 2