User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
How Will Pubs Open? with bcfczuluarmy on the Pub Forum

The Railway, Clapham, SW4

18 Clapham High Street
SW4
SW4 7UR

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Castle (Mitchells & Butlers)

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Graham Coombs left this review about The Railway

Trendified local but showing enough of its origins to be a reasonable pub. Handy for Clapham High Street station and mostly notable for the 'fishbone' artwork adorning the front. Upstairs bar not visited. Doom Bar and Rosie's Pig on handpump, with Hophead promised.

On 5th August 2019 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2271 recommendations about 2218 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about The Railway

A quite lively modernised corner pub,leaning toward the gastro end of the spectrum but perfectly comfortable enough to sit in for drinks alone.Its a single square room with a high ceiling and mixture of high and low seating,I didn't investigate the upstairs room. Four pumps dispensing the inevitable Doom Bar, Moorhouse Stray Dog, Adnams Ghost Ship( I strongly suspect it was wrongly clipped and was actually Mosaic, It was very good anyway), the fourth handle had a reversed Tribute clip. I did quite like this pub.

On 25th September 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1357 recommendations about 1343 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Railway

The Railway sits on a corner at the end of Clapham High Street a stone’s throw from Clapham High Street Railway Station and Clapham North Underground Station. On the pavement out the front are four picnic tables that sit under a couple of awnings.
The interior consists of a bar that faces seating that runs around the exterior walls. Premium keg products line the bar that also supports four hand pumps. During my visit on a recent Saturday evening these were drawing St Austell’s Tribute, Rudgate’s Dick Firkin, York brewery Company’s koma - Off the Wall and Sharp’s Doom Bar. Food is available with mains that start at around £10 and roasts on Sunday that start at £12.
Upstairs is the Overground bar that is reached via a staircase that is adorned with railway memorabilia. In here is another bar and more seating. I didn’t spot any televisions in either bar, but there was some background music that was hardly audible over chatter. I found the Railway to be a reasonable high street food led pub.

On 23rd May 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3592 recommendations about 3571 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Philip Carter left this review about The Railway

They are refurbishing the pub,as of 22nd November. Looks like the bar has been ripped out completely. As for any other features, I can't tell through the windows.update they have moved the bar against the back wall. Looks a bit more upmarket. I hope the prices haven't gone through the roof like other pubs in the area. Looks like I will have to. visit to check

On 20th December 2015 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 753 recommendations about 716 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Railway

Timothy Taylor Landlord, Sambrook Junction (£4 a pint) were the ales on, with another pump having a Doom Bar clip reversed, and a fourth apparently unused. There's a central horseshoe servery, with tall tables/tall stools in front of the window; pews/booths on the right; and normal tables and chairs on tha left. The latter area was being used by diners when I was in on a Wednesday evening, but it wasn't clear whether they were for diners' exclusive use. Anyway, I didn't see a menu, but I could certainly smell the food cooking.

It's clearly an old pub, but the only original fgeature that I could see was the central cast iron column. The walls are painted a deep crimson, that somehow looks OK in here; but there's not much decor to speak, apart from a few little wicker baskets on one of the walls, and a dead yucca in the corner.

But I didn't mind this pub at all. The staff were friendly enough. It's a bit on the trendy side for my taste, but my pint of Junction went down very well.

On 12th April 2015 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2577 recommendations about 2495 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about The Railway

Big corner pub with large windows on 2 sides but the dull interior lets it down.Nice high backed church pews are an interesting touch.4 handpumps but a dull selection of Doombar -Breakespeare and Wandle for me.Wandle seemed to be selling well and was good.

On 13th April 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 940 recommendations about 927 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Railway

The Railway is a busy pub on a busy road,i went in here 9 January 2010 late afternoon which is why the photo is very dark there was one real ale on the bar this was London Pride which was ok there is nothing special about this pub.

On 29th June 2010 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Philip Carter left this review about The Railway

Very open plan sort of pub. No real ale. Sells cocktails in normal & pitcher sizes. Thai food available lunch times only. Has seating outside, which catch the sun.

On 27th February 2007 - rating: 6
[User has posted 753 recommendations about 716 pubs]