User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
New pub visits 2022 with sheffield hatter on the Pub Forum

The Glass Blower (JD Wetherspoon), Castleford

15 Bank Street
Castleford
WF10 1JD
Phone: 01977520390

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

J D Wetherspoon

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Glass Blower (JD Wetherspoon)

As I approached this Spoons I thought it must be an old warehouse rather than the former town Post Office. It certainly doesn't have the typical Post Office design as seen in many JDW outlets which may be because it's an older building.
Inside it's an L shaped room with raised areas at the front left and rear right. There is also a patio at the rear. With typical furnishings this one is actually quite an old school Spoons. On a Tuesday afternoon it wasn't overly busy.
Although the bar has twelve hand pumps four were doubled up. Available were GK Abbot, Doom Bore, a cider, Bridgehouse Cherry Choc Stout, Nethergate Old Growler, Acorn Darkness & UK Chinook IPA and Naylors Lancashire. I went for the Cherry Choc Stout (£2.19) which was in good nick and certainly wasn't cold.
I thought this was a good Spoons.

On 2nd October 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Glass Blower (JD Wetherspoon)

Fair-sized 'spoons in a large former Post Office building with a 'L'-shaped layout featuring a couple of slightly raised areas. Usual mix of seating, and mid-shade colour scheme. Also has two patio areas, to one side and at the back. Pretty good selection from the two banks of six handpumps, with a number of Yorkshire beers including the seasonal Ossett Turning Leaves (£2.15). Very busy when I visited on a Sunday morning, with several groups of sports fans getting set for their coach trips.

On 26th November 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6951 recommendations about 6951 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Glass Blower (JD Wetherspoon)

The Glass Blower is a Spoons which is housed in an old building.
Once inside i was expecting this to be bigger that it was,there is a single L shaped room,thee is a raised area to the front left which has comfy bench seating,there are normal tables and chairs to the front right,the bar is situated to the rear,there is another small raised area to the rear left.
There was a decent enough choice of real ales on the bar,i had a drink of Saltair South Sea Pale which went down well,the other beers noted were Old Mill Bitter,Kelham Easy Rider,plus one i think was called Yorkshire Heavenly,there was also the usual Spoons beers on.
I found this Spoons to have a nice laid back atmosphere on my late Saturday afternoon visit.

Pub visited 29/7/2015

On 29th July 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Glass Blower (JD Wetherspoon)

I read from Ale and Hearty's review back in Sept 2010, that the beer was served on the cool side. Well nothing has changed there with this Spoons, as my beer was far too cold. This slightly niggles me, as I start to wonder whether they're trying to extend the shelf life of the beer. Another gripe is, when it's served too cold, there is very little taste. The super chilled ale was Acorn Summer Pale - more like a winter pale.

On 25th June 2015 - rating: 5
[User has posted 3073 recommendations about 3073 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about The Glass Blower (JD Wetherspoon)

A low ceilinged Wetherspoons much as described by A&H. The usual mass of tables and chairs with booth affairs down a couple of walls, a small cabinet devoted to the Glassblower's art lurks in one corner. Decorated with a few photos of old Castleford and local worthies in the usual 'spoons style of the time this one opened - it retains the older style "A J D Wetherspoon Free House" signage. The beers were a good mix of strengths and types but the service woefully slow due to understaffing on a busy Saturday morning. The beer was well kept and the place probably deserves its GBG entry especially given the lack of competition on the quality front in Castleford.

On 10th June 2013 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2559 recommendations about 2336 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


aleand hearty left this review about The Glass Blower (JD Wetherspoon)

Housed in probably the grandest building in a rather unremarkable street (as befitting its previous incarnation as the town’s main Post Office) The Glass Blower is in many ways a typical JDW and yet with a slightly more pub-like feel than many. Essentially, it has a large L-shaped interior broken up by three raised balustraded areas. It’s surprisingly low ceiling-ed, given the proportions of the building, which probably contributes to its relative cosiness. Décor is based on an ochre, blue and cappuccino colour scheme. Outside, there are drinking areas to the side and rear.

Twelve pumps at the bar, but with the usual niggle of some of the regular beers being doubled up and the dreaded ‘available soon’ clips. I tried four of the six guest beers ( Mauldon’s ‘Black Adder’, Loddon ‘Bamboozle’, Saltaire ‘Crystal Red’ and Milk Street ‘Funky Monkey’ and have to say they were in pretty good nick. Of course they were on the cool side, as they usually are in most ‘spoons, but not downright cold, as in some I’ve visited.

Service was a bit of a mixed bag. The young barmaid made no attempt to hide her irritation on mishearing my order, but the manager more than amply compensated with his polite and attentive manner. He scooped my glass up for a top-up before I’d even had a chance to notice.

Surprisingly busy for a Sunday afternoon, but with a gentle, mellow atmosphere provided by a mostly mature crowd; although I’m under no illusions as to how different things would be on a Friday or Saturday night. To be fair, I’d probably call again, if in the area, but I suspect it would only be to ‘cherry-pick’ the guest ales and move on.

On 28th September 2010 - rating: 6
[User has posted 438 recommendations about 422 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


James Joines left this review about The Glass Blower (JD Wetherspoon)

Typical Spoons busy at midday with lots of older people ans a number of very young kids. As you would expect a good choice of beers with Hoggoblin at £1-80 a pint.

On 2nd March 2010 - rating: 3
[User has posted 841 recommendations about 835 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Chris Heath left this review about The Glass Blower

This former Post Office sorting office in the centre of Castleford was bought by the J.D.Wetherspoon's chain and turned into a very popular family pub. Very popular at weekends due to it's cheap beers. The Glassblower gets it's name from that Castleford once had not one but two of the world's largest glass producers based there. The Castleford Tigers RL Club, prior to becoming The Tigers, were also nicknamed "The Glassblowers".

On 5th January 2008 - rating: 8
[User has posted 47 recommendations about 47 pubs]