User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Those two new Tier 2 rules explained! with rpadam on the Pub Forum

The Brown Bear, Whitechapel, E1

139 Leman Street
E1
E1 8EY
Phone: 02074813792

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Punch Taverns

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tris C left this review about The Brown Bear

Described accurately below, this is a traditional East End boozer - for now at least. Out front can be seen some remaining Taylor Walker regalia, probably dating from the early '70s along with some hanging baskets containing flowers. Inside, there's an attractive central bar with pot shelf and a lino-topped bar. The walls are part wood panelled to waist height and show some old brewery mirrors. To the rear are some pews with tables; the floor is bare boarded and there are some beer glass shelves below the windows with some high stools. Spirits are dispensed via old-fashioned optics rather than the metal cylindrical measures which take staff an age to fill.
Music played at a level which was a little uncomfortable but perhaps to add more ambience to a pub which was virtually empty on our Thursday mid-evening visit. There's still a dartboard with the entry to the lavs just beyond the oche - an accident waiting to happen. The barmaid was indeed out front with her friends and slapped my change down on the bar top once we'd been served.
Ales: Sharp's Doom Bar and Timothy Taylor's Landlord at £4.00 a pint and not great either.
This is an ok pub and long may it continue, but it's not really my thing and the mediocre beer paired with similar service isn't an incentive to return, especially with The Princess of Prussia around the corner.

On 4th September 2017 - rating: 5
[User has posted 997 recommendations about 982 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about The Brown Bear

A basic U shaped room that was pretty much as Alan found it a year ago. Just the two standard beers on,Pride and Doom Bar, the Pride was quite well kept.Its nice enough as a pub but given the lacklustre beer selection I cant see a revisit in the near future.

On 9th August 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1354 recommendations about 1340 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Brown Bear

The Brown Bear is a proper looking pub that is situated close to the railway bridge.
Once inside there is a single U shaped room with the bar facing,the left side is shorter and has normal tables and chairs,there is a darts board to the rear,the right side extends further to the rear,there are a few copper topped tables to the front right,the rear area is carpeted and has pew seating and chairs.
There were two real ales on the bar,i had a drink of Doom Bar which went down well,the other beer was Bombardier Gold.
Decent background music was playing.
I quite liked this pub.

Pub visited 1/7/2015

On 1st July 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Brown Bear

Old-school East End pub, with an attractive façade and an 'U'-shaped counter dominating the bar inside. Fairly basic furniture, except in the lounge area in one of the back corners, and some breweriana on the walls. However, if you look around, there are still quite a few heritage features of interest about the place. Doom Bar and Andwell Gold Muddler available from two banks of three handpumps. Worth a look if passing.

On 3rd October 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6198 recommendations about 6198 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


James London left this review about The Brown Bear

Reasonable E1 Pub, but hard to get served if you're not the 'in crowd' I have seen the Landlord and his partner, pop around the bar to serve themselves and friends when the place is crowded and there is only one member of staff. Don't they want to make money? Food, adequate Thai, ale more miss than hit, though displays a Cask Marque?

On 6th August 2009 - rating: 4
[User has posted 17 recommendations about 17 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Brown Bear

They had Adnam's bitter, London Pride, and Skinner's Betty Stogs Bitter on. I had the latter, which was superb (£2.90 a pint). First time I've tried it, and I'm not surprised it won an award at Earls Court last year.
It's a single-room pub with an island bar, bare boarded throughout with various miscellaneous prints adorning the walls. There were three, or possibly four TV screens on, but muted, showing Sky Sports. It was still fairly busy when I left at 2.40 PM, so would probably have done a good trade throughout the lunchtime. The service I received was attentive and friendly. I found this a friendly and welcoming pub, although nothing very special. I would certainly say that this pub is worth dropping into for a pint if you are in the area.

On 6th February 2009 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2577 recommendations about 2495 pubs]