User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Reviewing milestone with Delboy20 on the Pub Forum

The Half Moon (JD Wetherspoon), Stepney, E1

213-223 Mile End Road
Globe Town
E1
E1 4AA
Phone: 02077906810

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

J D Wetherspoon

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Half Moon (JD Wetherspoon)

Large Wetherspoons with different areas and an outside space. Good beer

On 6th March 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1276 recommendations about 1253 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Half Moon (JD Wetherspoon)

This is indeed an oddly shaped pub, even by Wetherspoon's standards. You enter into what is a standard ‘spoons conversion – this one from a theatre apparently – but the main pub area, and which contains the only bar providing any service, is to the back and the right. It’s almost as if two pubs have been bolted together somehow. There’s also a fair bit of outside seating, which seemed quite popular when I visited, although it’s still February. Furnishings are the usual ‘spoons mix.

On the ale front, there were two of the usual suspects on, plus three guests, which is particularly good for a pub of this size. I too didn’t note the ale we had, but I do recall that it was a rich and flavoursome 5% strong ale, and cost Alan £2.99 for two halves, which is expensive by ‘spoons standards. This pub’s OK for what it is – a standard ‘spoons – and as long as you’re content with their style of pubs then this one will do nicely.

On 28th February 2014 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2575 recommendations about 2493 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Half Moon (JD Wetherspoon)

The Half Moon is a largish Spoons that is very handy if getting on or off a tube at Stepney Green.
Once through the grand looking entrance there is a largish oblong shaped room with the bar facing,the seating in this area is normal tables and chairs,we stood at the bar,but nobody came to serve us,a local kindly told us this bar is not in use,the newer part of the pub is to the rear right,this room is similar in shape with the bar facing,this room also had mainly normal tables and chairs,it was also a lot bussier,probably because the bar was in action in this room.
There was a decent choice of real ales on the bar,but i dont have the faintest idea which drink i had,but it was a nice drink to end my East End crawl on.
I was happy enough drinking in this Spoons.

Pub visited 19/2/2014

On 19th February 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Half Moon (JD Wetherspoon)

I arrived here after midday. It's a converted theatre with some additional buildings bolted on. As you enter you are in what I assume was the original theatre with a bar in front of you. Having stood here like a dummy waiting to be served (you get used to this in Spoons!) a kindly punter informed me that you had to go to the bar round the corner to get served. Why they couldn't put a sign on the deserted bar to let you know is beyond me.

The working bar was fairly chaotic as it seemed to be overrun with "impoverished" students from the nearby Queen Mary College.

My biggest gripe about this place was that I was charged £2.75 for a standard guest ale (Milestone Rich Riby Ale in reasonable condition). This was 36p dearer than the opulent Docklands venue I had come from and 10p dearer than their Highgate pub visited last year. What happened to the New Year Sale?
This part of London may have gone uphill over the years but to me it's still a rancid dump compared to an area like Highgate.

It took a long explanation from the bar manager to the half-witted idiot of a barman as to what the difference between a "premium" beer and a "standard" guest beer was. I assume he was an economics student as the concept of greater than 4.9% ABV seemed quite daunting. One can only assume that this conundrum would have left George Osborne totally perplexed.

I've marked this one down purely on the price charged. If I was overcharged then it deserves it and if I wasn't then you're better off going elsewhere.

On 10th January 2013 - rating: 2
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rita Edwards left this review about Half Moon Theatre (JD Wetherspoon)

Been to this pub several times. Curry nights are good. After saying that it is the only good thing I can say about it. Had breakfasts in there and been disappointed. Had a mixed grill in there where the steak and gammon was raw! and the lamb chop was so burnt it was inedible. Would not eat here as cant guarantee good food. Am rating it one star and that is cost the curry is normally ok.

On 19th July 2009 - rating: 4
[User has posted 3 recommendations about 3 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Half Moon (JD Wetherspoon)

Lots of old men welded to their seats in the front bar, but more life evident at the back. Nice pint of Winchester bitter (not sure which brewery this came from), and sat outside in the courtyard (must be something to do with global warming - I can't imagine doing this 20, or even 10, years ago in mid-March). Overall, rather better than I expected.

On 15th March 2008 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6109 recommendations about 6109 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john mcgraw left this review about Half Moon Theatre

Large Wetherspoons Pub selling the usual range of beers and cheap food. gets busy with students from the nearby university. 2 minutes from Stepney Green station

On 25th January 2007 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2044 recommendations about 2025 pubs]