User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
WHERE are you drinking RIGHT NOW. with Mobyduck on the Pub Forum

The World's Inn (Lloyds No 1), Romford

113-117 South Street
Romford
RM1 1NX

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Lloyds No. 1 (J D Wetherspoon)

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The World's Inn (Lloyds No 1)

This is a Lloyd's No 1, but for all intents and purposes it's a 'spoons. It's a characterless single-room conversion of some kind, with the usual furnishings crammed into it.

But it does the trademark traditional breakfast at £3.15, which is a bit cheaper than the other London 'spoons I've visited recently. There were just two guest real ales on in addition to the usual suspects - Terrapin Naked Bliss, which is some sort of collaboration, and Whitstable Kentish Reserve. Both the guests were 5% ABV, which is a bit stronger than I would choose to accompany my brunch, but the Kentish Reserve was a fine traditional brown beer. A couple of decent guest ales isn't bad, it's just that I expect more from a 'spoons.

There is nothing special about this 'spoons. You get what you expect in here, with the exception an average strength guest ale.

On 6th October 2018 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2588 recommendations about 2503 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The World's Inn (Lloyds No 1)

The World's Inn is Wetherspoons that is close to Romford train station and one of three pubs joined onto each other.
Once inside there is a large square shaped room with the bar on the right side,the floor is part carpeted and wood laminate,the seating is mainly normal tables and chairs with some bench seating to the rear which is in bays.
The guest beer choice was not too good,i had a drink of Cairngorm Black Gold which went down very well on my mid Thursday morning visit,the other beers noted were Everards Original,GK Abbot x2,GK IPA x2 and Doom Bar.
It was very busy with drinkers on my visit.
A decent start to my almost full pub crawl of Romford.

Pub visited 30/6/2015

On 14th August 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john mcgraw left this review about The World's Inn (Lloyds No 1)

Not one of the better Wetherspoon's as it is basically a square box but at least there was a good range of real ales on with the Marston's El Dorado being in good form.

On 6th January 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2044 recommendations about 2025 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The World's Inn (Lloyds No 1)

I visited this pub today and this is the first ever Lloyds No 1 I have been in so I was keen to see what the differences were between this and your average JDW such as the Moon and Stars a few doors away.

The decor is a bit more modern and there weren't quite so many extras from Last of the Summer Wine and Shameless, the beer festival was on and it was all £1.99 a pint. The only difference I could detect was that they have background music playing, something I personally prefer to a TV screen with no sound showing a news channel.

The Australian Feral IPA was in excellent condition and on the day I preferred this pub to the GBG listed one nearby.

I would add that I was here early afternoon and I dread to think what this area is like on a Friday or Saturday evening as the JDW and Lloyds appear to be part of a town centre group of pubs that I would guess make Friday and Saturday nights here a totl nightmare.

I witnessed a sign entering Romford describing it as a Historic Market Town. Please, what is this all about? It's a Chav ridden dump of a town, totally devoid of any character, dominated by the motor vehicle and hideous shopping complexes with their attached car parks.

All the other pubs I passed on the bus looked like the usual pubco rubbish, Sky Sports, Karaoke, live enterteainment etc etc. At least the two adjacent Spoons have some decent beer.

On 1st November 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The World's Inn (Lloyds No 1)

This place has ten hand pumps and I counted at least three guest beers along with a cider. The usual standard draught products are also available at very reasonable prices and I was served a decent pint of Guinness by a proficient barman. Being a JDW there are obviously drink deals to be had and there are promotions on already cheap food. I spotted three plasma screens that were tuned into a music channel, but the volume was very low. There is also a DJ booth and dance floor which were not being used as my visit was on a weekday afternoon.

As Wetherspoons pubs go this one is pretty good.

On 24th June 2010 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3599 recommendations about 3579 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about World's End

This place has obviously had a chequered history in its previous guises as the Hogshead, The Place and Bar:me, but as a Lloyds No. 1 I would put it down as one of the better examples of this JDW chain. Surprisingly, not only is it just two doors down the road from the local Wetherspoons (the Moon and Stars) but it also has a better selection of real ales including a good pint of Summer Daze from Arundel Brewery (or at least that it what I was told it was as somebody had pinched the pump clip...). (NB - Review dates from August 2009.)

On 11th February 2010 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6591 recommendations about 6591 pubs]