User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 10th November 2019) with Bucking Fastard on the Pub Forum

Hole in the Wall, Southsea Town, Southsea

36 Great Southsea Street
Southsea
PO5 3BY

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Steve C left this review about Hole in the Wall

The Hole in the wall is a very cosy pub with seating to the left of the entrance and a couple of steps up to a small bar area to the left and seating down the right wall. The bar counter supports five hand pumps and a range of craft beers. On the back bar there are an additional two gravity fed pulls for two more cask ales. Tucked away behind the bar is a table in a secluded snug. The ceiling is covered with old pump clips, probably the most I have ever seen. Food is available Tuesday to Saturday from 17:00 until 20:00 and additionally from midday until 14:00 on Fridays. My recent Friday afternoon visit was between services, so I didn’t see a menu, but I did note the O’Hagans sausage and mash was advertised for £6.49. There are no televisions and it would be difficult to have live music in here, but there is a weekly quiz from 21:00 every Thursday. This is certainly a pub to include for any beer lovers visiting the area.

On 30th May 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3546 recommendations about 3525 pubs]


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Hole in the Wall

Very traditional-looking side-street alehouse with a compact, slightly split-level interior: a square seating area by the door and the bar and further seating up a couple of steps. Five handpumps, including three from Marble and Flower Pots Bitter (£3.30) and another on gravity from a cask at the back of the bar. Very good.

On 22nd April 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 5796 recommendations about 5796 pubs]


Quinno _ left this review about Hole in the Wall

Another excellent visit, with enjoyable pours of Marble Stout (NBSS 4.5) and Lagonda (NBSS 3.5). A shame I couldn’t hang around long enough to have a Flowerpots as well. Still the best pub in Pompey & Southsea for my money.

February 2016
Beer quality in here continues to be excellent in the times I visited since March 14. It is brilliant in here despite being such a compact space. Rated 9

March 2014
A long-overdue revisit to this small alehouse that nonetheless was packing in eight ales (combination of pumps and stillage) as well as a couple of ciders. Local brews reign, Havant and Langham taking the majority of the pump spots and I didn’t look further than those; my Havant Citra was extremely good. A good convivial atmosphere on my Saturday evening visit and the place was very busy - I was fortunate enough to get the last table. From what I could make out the interior has changed little over the last few years. Scrabble available though by this time I would have been seeing words more suited to Welsh than English. My previous rating of 9 remains, do this one. Rated 9

December 2009
A quirky little pub with a big reputation. Six ales were on the go during my visit with a number from Oakleaf plus well-sourced guests. There were also cider and perry boxes as well as the infamous Grandma’s Weapons Grade Ginger Beer (which I of course tried). The condition of my beers were excellent. The snug interior is a hodge-podge of areas; the bar is located to the rear up a couple of steps under a hop-decorated archway. Loads of old pump clips adorn the ceiling, attesting to the hundreds of beers that have passed through the pumps. Varnished wood floor and dark floral William Morris style wallpaper are the other décor highlights. A real fire was on the go and made for an extra homely atmosphere. The landlord, who had opened specially for us, was a friendly chap and made us feel very welcome. A fabulous pub that is a must-visit, though do note the limited opening hours, especially on a Saturday afternoon. Rated 9.

On 10th April 2019 - rating: 9
[User has posted 3921 recommendations about 3909 pubs]


Steve of N21 left this review about Hole in the Wall

Probably my pub of the day on our recent Pubs Galore crawl of Pompey and surrounds. A fine privately-owned free house that focusses on providing a rotating list of well-kept real ales, as the impressive collection of pump clips covering the ceiling indicates.
A traditional internal décor that has been very well done to give the impression of age with good use of vintage period wallpaper and painting style, especially in the very small separate space hidden behind the small bar area.
The pumps had three from Marble (Stout , Manchester Bitter and Lagonda IPA, the latter running out before I could make it to the front of the queue), Flower Pot Bitter and Mourne Mountains Clan Rye and then Gooden’s Gold was on stillage from two barrels at the back of the serving area. I went for the Marble Stout which was in excellent nick
Different twist on pub snacks with the small traditional sweet shop offerings (the idea of the owners children apparently) and with the offer of four pint jugs of any real ale for £12 between 5 and 9 PM this is definitely a place for group conversation over a beer.

On 3rd April 2019 - rating: 9
[User has posted 1686 recommendations about 1635 pubs]


Real Ale Ray left this review about Hole in the Wall

A serious beer drinking haven, that is compact, but surprisingly fitted the hoard of PG revellers. I especially liked the collection of pump clips across the ceilings, professionally clipped onto poles, their highly polished handpumps, always a good sign of a well run establishment and the William Morris wallpaper. You can also buy quarters of traditional style sweets from jars at the back of the bar, which was quite unusual.

On 1st April 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2894 recommendations about 2894 pubs]


Tris C left this review about Hole in the Wall

This apparently is a modern conversion dating from the early 1990s, acquiring its current name in 1998, but you wouldn’t believe it as it appears to be a pub of some vintage with much wood.
Much as described below with around four ales on pump with seemingly a larger selection to the rear on stillage.
My half of Clan Brewing’s Clan Rye was very good and at £1.80 was one of the least expensive drinks of the day.
Certainly a pub to seek out.

On 31st March 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 929 recommendations about 916 pubs]


Bucking Fastard left this review about Hole in the Wall

This is a proper ale house,with a comfortable front drinking room and an unusual raised serving area further back.There is a wooden floor and some quarry tiling throughout and traditional furniture ,with a relaxed vibe and a vast collection of pump clips covering the whole ceiling.
There are 5 handpumps serving on my trip Marble Lagonda IPA (terrific as always but quickly ran out),Marble Stout and Manchester Bitter,Mourne Moutains Clan Rye and Flowerpots Bitter which I expect is a regular.The ale condition was tip top and for me this was the highlight of an extensive Portsmouth crawl.A great double header with the Barley Mow nearby,please dont miss this one when in Southsea.

On 31st March 2019 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2015 recommendations about 2015 pubs]


Graham Coombs left this review about Hole in the Wall

A gorgeous little pub in the back streets of Southsea with one split-level room, lots of woodwork and a great range of beers. Probably all you need to know.

On 30th March 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2028 recommendations about 1983 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about Hole in the Wall

I have visited Portsmouth and Southsea several times over the years but almost always during the week when this place doesn't open until 4pm. So yesterday was the first time I have gained access and I have to say the wait was certainly worth it. You enter to a split level small room, the area to the front being quarry tiled and having a shelf full of reference books, old Will's and Cadbury framed advertisements, high backed settles as well as regular seating at tables of varying size. A double half arch draped in hops hints at the bar beyond which is reached up a couple of small steps. Wooden boarded here, there were five handpumps dispensing Irving Armstrong plus Illustrious, Oakleaf Hole Hearted, Burning Sky Plateau, Staggeringly Good Pterodactale plus on stillage, Langham Arapaho. The barman was friendly, chatty and enthusiastic, happy to discuss the beers and explain their provenance.
The ceiling contains literally hundreds of pump clips, many lovingly clustered together by brewery of origin. As well as the ales there were ciders from Weston's and Thatchers. A board advertised a decent number of whiskies. Games on a shelf and daily papers in a rack by the bar.
Behind the bar area is a small snug which was in darkness during my visit however on me investigating the barman offered to turn the lights on. They do food, I didn't spot a routine menu but a board advertised O'Hagens game sausages and they have two chilli nights, Tuesday and Wednesday.
This is a cracking little back street pub, right up there with the best and certainly worth the effort to visit, just be mindful of the hours in the week.

On 8th May 2016 - rating: 9
[User has posted 1685 recommendations about 1662 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Hole in the Wall

This is a classy freehouse in a compact building just off the trendy Castle Road. You enter into a small front seating area with a tiled floor and some fixed bench seating supplemented by standard chairs. Books have been arranged along the backs of the benches and a high shelf runs around this part of the room, displaying a collection of pewter tankards and the like whilst the walls are covered with numerous pictures, mostly of a nautical theme. Some dark wood, hop-lined partitioning separates this pleasant front seating area from the slightly raised, bare boarded bar area beyond. The servery, hidden behind the partitioning over to the left, has a tongue and grove counter and a simple bar back with a set of sweet jars on show. A couple of tables with low stools have been squeezed in opposite, near a shelf stacked with board games and magazines whilst some huge pews can be found over to the right under some more old photos and collected items such as old marmalade jars. Moving past the bar, you reach the final area - a smart looking space with a few more seats under some William Morris style wallpaper which accentuates a fireplace on this side. Throughout the pub, a remarkable pump clip collection has spread out across the ceiling from the bar area.
The pub has two regular ales from local brewers - Langham Arapaho and Oakleaf Hole Hearted - with the former served on gravity and the latter having originally been brewed especially for the pub. Guests on this visit were Waen Summit and Nowt, Urban Island High and Dry and 360 Degrees Best Bitter. One other beer was still conditioning and the landlord reversed the clip after trying a sample. I tried the Best Bitter which was a good first pint of the day and in very good shape.
This is a great little pub which seems to champion local beers and offers a warm and welcoming bolt-hole where I could quite easily see myself losing hours over the good beer and ambiance. This visit was early in the day and I would be interested to pop in again on a busy evening to see how this dynamic works in such a confined space.

On 15th March 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2339 recommendations about 2339 pubs]

Page: 1 2