User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
My reasons for removing a photo that I posted. with Tris39 on the Pub Forum

The Ice Wharf (Lloyds No 1), Camden Town, NW1

1-2 Suffolk Wharf, 28 Jamestown Road
NW1
NW1 7BY
Phone: 02074283770

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Lloyds No. 1 (J D Wetherspoon)
Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Brainy Pool left this review about The Ice Wharf (Lloyds No 1)

A very modern and completely open-plan canteen inside, the outdoor seating was preferable on a sunny morning. Just two guests to supplement the three usual boring ales, GK IPA at £1.99 is a steal in London of course, shame it’s one of my least favourite beers. Typical touristy Wetherspoons, it does the job but not very inspiring.

On 15th July 2022 - rating: 4
[User has posted 1062 recommendations about 1027 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Ice Wharf (Lloyds No 1)

This is a 'spoons so the interior won't throw up any surprises. It's right by the canal, so the outside seating is a massive plus on a warm day. Camden being a tourist area it was very busy on a weekday afternoon; it's a big pub and we just about managed to find a table. I guess Camden's tourist credentials also accounts for the fact that the price of the guest ales (which I negligently failed to note) was higher than that in most suburban 'spoons.

I guess this one's main selling point, as opposed to most other 'spoons, is its lovely setting. I would be very happy to visit this one again should I have the misfortune to find myself in the heaving tourist hell that is Camden.

On 3rd November 2019 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2606 recommendations about 2520 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Graham Coombs left this review about The Ice Wharf (Lloyds No 1)

A vast modern Spoons by the side of the canal, in the middle of the tourist area so usually busy and with 'inexperienced' pub-goers at that. They did however seem to be coping quite well with the numbers and there is plenty of space on the two levels, with a long bar on the inner lower one, plus tables outside. Guest ales seemed to be mainly local-ish, with examples from Westway, ELB, Wimbledon and Windsor alongside the usual ones. Condition was good. I didn't especially want to like this place at first, but it grew on me. And the toilets are on the level!

On 29th October 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3353 recommendations about 3290 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Blackthorn _ left this review about The Ice Wharf (Lloyds No 1)

A large and modern Weatherspoon’s immediately adjacent to Camden Lock, it offers little in the way of any merit as far as the building goes but nonetheless the outside seating is a pleasant spot on a sunny day to sit and look boats passing by and the hordes of tourists in the market opposite.

The building itself has a curved frontage with large windows and is all one cavernous open space inside. A montage of black and white photos of the local area covers the end wall whilst colour photographs replicate the local streets in the corridor leading to the gent’s loos. Flooring is partly laminate wood and partly a mustard colour carpet. Tables and chairs are packed tightly in to maximise the pub’s food revenue, although there is plenty of vertical drinking space near the long bar counter.

Their International Real Ale Festival was in progress during our visit so the beer range was no doubt somewhat different to usual, but on this occasion consisted of Abbott Ale, Elgood’s Plum Porter, Everards Regimental IPA, Wicked Weed’s Sir Ryan The Pounder, Thwaites Coiled Spring, Wharfe Bank Black Geld, Hildegard’s Solange, London Pride, Mateo & Bernabe Fermín Red Ale and Standeaven African Pale Ale. Ciders were also well represented with Strongbow, Brothers Pear, Stowford Press and Thatcher’s Gold.

On 2nd April 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1955 recommendations about 1868 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Ice Wharf (Lloyds No 1)

Situated in the heart of the ghastly, trendy and touristy Camden Lock area this is a Lloyds No 1 and unusually had quiet music playing when I arrived early afternoon.
As has been said it's a large modern place probably aimed at the younger set. There are six pumps, all of which were in use serving GK Abbot, Hambleton Stud, Adnam's Old, Hepworth Harvest and Pullman and Old Bear Great Bear (No Ruddles or GK IPA!).

I went for the Hepworth Autumn Ale (£2.50) which was in excellent nick. I had bought a 50p CAMRA Voucher with me, expecting this place to be expensive. In fact it was cheaper than Croydon where I had been the previous week. The Hepworth beers are not commonly seen in London Spoons and as the quality of it was 100% I would give this one another go despite the horrible building.

On 10th October 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Ice Wharf (Lloyds No 1)

Good location by Camden Lock and usually busy (but not crowded) inside this rather anonymous modern building. Two unusual features, though - a selection of artworks on the walls, and their own branded menus which I have never seen in any other Lloyds No. 1 / Wetherspoons. Six handpumps, offering a modest selection of guest ales (e.g. the seasonal Orkney Clootie Dumpling, reasonably priced at £2.45) in addition to the Ruddles, etc. Overall, it serves its purpose well enough, but I could really do without the polycarbonate 'glasses'.

On 1st December 2012 - rating: 6
[User has posted 8159 recommendations about 8159 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Ice Wharf (Lloyds No 1)

This Lloyds No. 1 is situated in a modern curved building,and you have to step down into the main body of the pub,while only a smaller section remains at ground level.If you want to see the canal activity,the bench seating outside by the willow is the place to be.There are two banks of three handpumps,with two taken up by the regular suspects of Ruddles Bitter and Abbott,so there is a maximum selection of four guests.
The food menu is the same as in regular 'spoons but there is a small upward tweak on prices,and the same applies to beers and other drinks.Having said that,compared with the immediate area this is a haven of "value" and I have used it several times while boating and always found it fine for a beer or two.
It can get busy at peak times but there is a lot of room for vertical drinking,and there is never a scrum.Being a Lloyds means musak is played but at sensible volume although I noticed there are DJ's at work on Friday and Saturday nights ,when closing is extended to 1am.
Probably the best bet if visiting the immediate area,the place has a modern bar feel rather than any semblance of pub atmosphere.

On 27th March 2012 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2748 recommendations about 2748 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Roger Button left this review about The Ice Wharf (Lloyds No 1)

Part of the Wetherspoons chain, this Lloyds No 1 Bar is situated in a prime location next to the lock on the Regents Canal.

The slightly curved interior is quite cavernous giving a fairly hollow atmosphere when not busy but the place is quite spacious and despite the crowds that flock to the area, grabbing a table is generally quite easy. Some of the modern décor is a bit gloomy and depressing but the fake ceilings do at least attempt to hide the worst of the air conditioning pipes.
Despite the large modern glass frontage, the canal itself is largely out of view to all but a selection of window seats but, when the weather allows, a small terrace outside next to the pack bridge under the willow tree can be an ideal spot to while away the hours.

The long bar offers an average selection of ales usually with 3 guest ales as well as the regulars but more often than not, a number of empty pumps are on view. Prices are surprisingly low compared to some of the more centrally located ‘Spoons in town. Service can be a bit hit and miss but food is generally dished up quickly and to a good standard.

There are several TV’s dotted around and the music is is tolerable volume wise albeit my visits are generally early evening pre-gig. They have in the past had live acoustic music and a table football game seems to be a recnt addition.

Whilst the pub won’t be to everone’s tastes, the Ice Wharf does seem to fit in with the surroundings and always suits my requirements for a couple of hours. I would rather it was what it is than another block of upmarket housing.

On 4th May 2011 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1239 recommendations about 1233 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john mcgraw left this review about The Ice Wharf (Lloyds No 1)

Set in a very nice setting next to the Regents Park Canal with a nice outside drinking area.Unfortunately that's where it all ends.Inside is a large open space which is dark and dingy with not the slightest bit of atmosphere.The Brewsters Hophead was well below standard.A pretty poor offering for a Wetherspoon's.

On 20th August 2010 - rating: 2
[User has posted 2044 recommendations about 2025 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Ice Wharf (Lloyds No 1)

A souless drinking barn next to the canal and close to Camden market, the main reason for going here is that it's your best bet to find a seat in this part of town. Three guest ales on - I tried the Hook Norton Christmas ale, which was okay. Staff seemed a little scatty and unsure of who to serve next, and those dishing out the food were racing around bumping into everyone.
Full of kids and tourists on a Sunday afternoon - this is not the place for a quiet pint, but like most Wetherspoons outlets, it serves its purpose.

On 5th February 2010 - rating: 3
[User has posted 3126 recommendations about 3126 pubs]

Page: 1 2