User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Yet another list with rpadam on the Pub Forum

The Poet, De Beauvoir Town, N1

55 Baring Street
N1
N1 3DS

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Poet

Corner pub with a slightly curved frontage, located on a side street near the Regent's Canal. Renamed from The Baring since my previous visit nearly four years ago, and although now self-described as a 'wine bar and gin parlour' little actually seems to have changed inside the wide but mostly narrow bar with plain furniture and limited decor, with a rear alcove to one side. Pride, Landlord and Five Points Pale (£4.70) available from what is now just three handpumps. Very quiet early on Christmas Eve, but at least it was open (unlike many other pubs I walked past that afternoon).

On 2nd January 2020 - rating: 6
[User has posted 5898 recommendations about 5898 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Baring

Stumbled across this rather spartan back street pub when looking for refreshment whilst walking along the nearby Regent’s Canal. The pub looks pretty good on approach thanks to an impressive curved facade which takes in the sweep of the bend the pub is situated on. Inside, things are less impressive, with a simple, single room layout set up in, what might best be described as, a minimalist fashion. The room is bare boarded with the servery on the back wall and has been painted a pretty unappealing shade of grey throughout. The bar has a rather basic, low counter and somewhat out of place craft beer style white tiled bar back. Standard tables and chairs run along the front wall, under some very large windows, following the room round into the slightly larger right hand section of the pub. Here you will find a dusty old bookshelf full of tatty looking tomes and there was also a large pile of board games stacked on top of a dresser to the left of the entrance, underneath an unused flatscreen TV. Decor is severely limited, comprising a few interesting art prints and lots of messy blackboards listing wines, shots, special offers and the like. An 80’s pop soundtrack played throughout my stay and I noticed signs promoting live sport and the availability of wifi. I turned up here early on a Saturday evening and there were only two other customers in, both of whom had drained their pints and left by the time I departed.
There were six handpulls on the bar, but three of these were out of action, leaving a couple of ale options – Marstons Pedigree and Adnams Lighthouse – plus Orchard Pig cider. The barmaid was pretty friendly and charged me £4.00 for a fairly average drop of the Pedigree.
I was hoping that I’d uncover a quality boozer, but this place seems to have had the heart and soul ripped out of it, leaving just a shell and a faint glimpse of the pub that it once was. Perhaps the place livens up at other points of the day, but it’s somewhat out of the way location suggests it is likely to be reliant on local trade and this was sorely lacking, even on a Saturday evening, which makes you wonder at this pub’s fate.

On 15th November 2017 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2394 recommendations about 2394 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The Baring

Curved corner pub with quite a bare interior. 4 real ale taps (2 on during my visit).

On 20th November 2016 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2659 recommendations about 2602 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tris C left this review about The Baring

I came here once about six years ago and found the place to be a little lacklustre. A return this evening and if anything, it's now even more dull; the promises of fun made on the pub's website don't exactly stack up once you're inside the place. The Boring perhaps?
Curved yes, and not that large with an insipid pale grey colour scheme throughout, spartan, bare boarded with conventional mixed furniture though really quite tatty. The main focal point is the TV over the former fireplace showing football to a rather down-at-heel local yet minimal (five-person?) local crowd, who, you guessed it, devoted their time to swearing at the referee/linesman every time a call didn't go their way.
Ales: four redundant pumps, thereafter just Meantime's Yakima Red craft, cold, and £2.40 a half!
A return visit? No chance, not least because the vastly superior Rosemary Branch is about 10 feet up the road from here, serves real ale, is a lot cheaper and isn't depressing.
I wouldn't be surprised if this place gets converted to residential use in the near future...

On 19th October 2016 - rating: 3
[User has posted 942 recommendations about 928 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Baring

This seems to be a reverse TARDIS type of pub. As can be seen from the photographs, it has a long frontage, but inside it doesn't really have any depth. I expected a large pub, but it effectively consisted of a single smallish and narrow room strung along the front of the building. But I still liked it though - small can be beautiful. It's got a bare-boarded floor, and mainly furnished with normal tables and chairs - the latter being a big plus as far as I'm concerned. There were photos and snippets of information all over the place, including photos of the Baring Football Team who seemed to be wearing a strip not dissimilar from the blue and red stripes worn by that South London powerhouse from Selhurst Park! There were also wax encrusted bottles on the tables (presumably for use when darkness descends), plus I spotted a shelf near the fireplace bearing assorted board games. There was a signpost to a garden, but it was too cold to go investigating outside seating.

There was a decent ale selection available, with Timothy Taylor Landlord, ELB Pale Ale, Spitfire, Proper Job, and a draught cider called Orchard Pig Philosopher all on. I had a quick glance at the menu - sarnies are a fiver, and main meals between £8 - £12 (sausage and mash is £9).

I quite liked this pub. It was rather cold in here though, presumably a combination of it being a bitterly cold day, and us arriving just after opening time when it hadn't had time to warm up to a comfortable temperature. I would visit again though.

On 26th January 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2564 recommendations about 2482 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Baring

Situated on the smaller bit of Baring Street where it peels off towards Wilton Square, this pub is easy to miss as I did, having to backtrack. The front elevation and hence the building curves with the road line, meaning wherever you sit opposite the bar under the windows you get a view up or down the road. Boarded floor, bar opposite the entrance doors, the single room extends along then returns at the far right hand end to a decent sized recess with more modern furniture and a large photo of the band, Oasis. Apart from a sofa at each end, seating is traditional, mostly under the windows opposite the bar, light walls and ceiling make for an airy light feel although there are a pair of red feature walls. Busy décor, loads of photos of the pub's own cricket and football teams (trophies indicate they have some success) as well as a few sport related newspaper clippings framed, beer clips and mats on various surfaces, a former TV shelf now houses whisky boxes, again, on the far right end there are numerous books, mostly beer and sport related plus an impressive selection of board games.
Beerwise, five handpumps offered Spitfire, Woodforde's Wherry, Timothy Taylor Landlord, Hackney Brewery American Pale Ale (£3.70) plus slightly separated from the main bank, Thatcher's Heritage cider. Food is served, menus on tables plus a chalkboard. steak pie, mash or chips, veg and gravy £12, chilli with rice and bread £9. Sunday roasts between £13-£14, all day Saturday breakfast £8. Thursday hosts a quiz and curry night.
Very busy for a Saturday afternoon, I bagged the last table however the Aintree meet was on TV and I watched the Grand National in here, so that may explain why, although there is good reason for it to be busy, it is a very good pub with decent beer and friendly service.
Apparently there is a beer garden to the rear but I failed to investigate. Certainly worth a visit and I'm sure I'll be back if I walk this stretch of the canal as I surely will.

On 6th April 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1685 recommendations about 1662 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Baring

Interesting curved building, with the curve also built into the bar area. Interior décor is perhaps a little modern for my tastes, red and white walls with stripped wood flooring. Four pumps featuring Spitfire, TT Landlord, London Fields Pale and Hackney Golden – a decent choice. I plumped for the London Fields and was rewarded with a first class half. Busy and convivial, with 6 Nations rugby being shown on the TV. Board games, papers and books available which always gets an extra mark. A lack of seating in the fairly small interior meant most of our crawlees were standing throughout the visit. There is mention elsewhere of an upstairs area but I spied no evidence of it. I enjoyed my brief stop and would make an effort to return here.

On 25th February 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3960 recommendations about 3948 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about The Baring

I was looking forward to my inaugural visit to this community free house on the border of Islington and Hackney and it did not disappoint. Friendly welcome and a lively Saturday afternoon crowd that we seamlessly added to.
The main bar area is a bit on the small size and wraps around the main serving area with a flat screen at either end, which were muted and showing the Scotland v England Rugby game, but then there is an upstairs section set up as a 'games room' with a pool table, a dartboard and table footy.
Four ales are always on with TT Landlond and Shep Neame Spitfire as the house ales and then weekly changing guests on the other two. For our visit these were HB Golden Ale and London Fields IPA and both of these were in excellent condition.
The pub has a weekly quiz night and runs football, cricket and rounders teams.
I felt at home in this community back street local, which also has the benefit of being a relatively short stroll to and from the Wenlock and the Old Fountain.

On 25th February 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1697 recommendations about 1646 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


E TA left this review about The Baring

An interesting Georgian freehouse with a good local feel, which has previously obtained a Community Pub award from CAMRA in addition to its GBG listing. The building had to be extensively rebuilt after WW2 due to bomb damage in the Blitz. The plain décor and wooden floors give it a traditional pub feel, and although there is no sawdust, it feels as though there should be. There was tv showing sports and a lively buzz about the place, friendly and welcoming. There were 4 ales on, reasonably priced for the area. I had London Fields Pale Ale which although it was well-kept, I couldn't get too excited about. A good place for a few beers and a useful inclusion on a crawl.

On 22nd February 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2456 recommendations about 2434 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about The Baring

A decent little corner pub,4 handpumps with a couple of regulars and a couple of guests,I had a fine pint of London Fields Pale Ale,not a large pub, standing room at the bar and seating for food and drinking,there is a beer garden but I didn't investigate on this occasion.It shows live sport and seemed a popular water hole early Saturday evening,a nice community pub I would be happy to return to.

On 11th February 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1307 recommendations about 1294 pubs]

Page: 1 2