User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Random news of the day with Pangolin on the Pub Forum

The Lady Mildmay, Newington Green, N1

92 Mildmay Park
N1
N1 4PR
Phone: 02072496430

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Lady Mildmay

This is a large, heavily modernised pub on the South East corner of Newington Green. You're greeted on entering by a huge, open interior with high ceilings and bar floorboards which make it very echoey throughout. Whilst the pub has been opened out as much as is possible, its complex shape means that discernible separate rooms can be identified. The front room for example, is an awkward, irregular shape with an L-shaped bar counter on the back wall and a couple of seating areas off to either side. Large windows dominate the wall space, meaning decor is limited to a few blackboards listing various food and drink options, plus a scattering of somewhat dull photos. Standard tables and chairs line the perimeter each side of the bar and these are, rather uninspiringly, the only seating options in what is a pretty big space all told. The bar has a nice dark wood counter and modern white tile bar back that seems to fit well with the general modern, family-friendly feel the pub is seemingly aiming for. Past the right side of the bar, the pub runs back into a rear room, passing a kitchen serving area and nice stone fireplace on the way before emerging into another large seating area . Here you''ll find lots more standard seating, another nice fireplace, some retro posters and an upright piano, but on a relatively quiet mid-week evening, the room felt a little cut-off from the rest of the pub. There are some attractive ceiling decorations throughout the pub and I can't recall seeing any TV screens or hearing any piped music.
There are five handpulls on the bar, one of which was out of action with a 'Coming Soon' clip for a Hammerton beer on it, leaving a choice of four ales - Twickenham redhead, Animal Gribbit, Redemption Big Chief and XT3. The Big Chief was served to me by a very friendly barmaid who was part of an small efficient team, and set me back £4.20. It was in good shape and I was planning on staying for another before I discovered there was another decent sounding pub nearby which I went to check out instead.
I liked this place and thought that it just about held its own in the face of a pretty heavy handed refurbishment. The service was the stand-out for me, but the four interesting beers in good condition was a big positive and I can imagine with a bit more of a crowd, the pub could generate a pleasant atmosphere.

On 23rd July 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2394 recommendations about 2394 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tris C left this review about The Lady Mildmay

Situated in leafy Newington Green on the Islington and Hackney border, this is a very high ceilinged mid-Victorian pub - currently named after another Lady Mildmay in the locality which closed around 20 years ago - originally called The Clarendon Hotel then Palms and Liszt, next The Nobody Inn thereafter back to The Clarendon before being named The Dissenting Academy prior to gaining its current name last year.
The interior is L-shaped with a central bar, white walls and dark brown lacquered wood with t 'n' g panelling to around shoulder height and matching brown ceiling with some attractive cornicing and one ornate ceiling rose. The floor is bare boarded and the overall impression is one of being very stripped out - though not industrial - and devoid of décor; there's an open kitchen, all ensuring that acoustics are very poor and none too comfy; a bit soulless. Furniture is generally of the old school style with some Chesterfields to the rear and an upright piano being the only concession to music and there are two unused fireplaces, one attractive and metal and one very beautiful and marble. Customers are solidly middle-class and generally young; some couples dined with babies, the food being more gastro than most with a menu influenced by food from countries such as France, Italy and Spain.
Ales: a milk stout, three pumps not clocked and Meridian Pale Ale at £2.00 a half and utterly bland.
In the main this is a nice pub but could benefit from some décor (not least to soak up the noise) and a more beefy ale. Combined with The Cellars and The Alma, this makes for a nice trio to visit.

On 3rd October 2017 - rating: 5
[User has posted 938 recommendations about 924 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about The Lady Mildmay

A nice pub with maybe a slight nod toward the gastro.The wooden floor ,white walls and burgundy ceiling and window frames give a modern feel yet manages to maintain its pubbiness.
There were three beers on,Twickenham Naked Ladies,Sambrook's Junction and Stod Fold Blonde.
I tried the Twickenham beer which turned out to be hazy and not tasting to good,it was changed with good grace and an apology,the clip was immediately turned around which is always good to see, my replacement in the Stod Fold was excellent.Its a pleasant pub.

On 2nd May 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1307 recommendations about 1294 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about The Dissenting Academy

Decent pub but empty on my Monday night visit.Nice art work on the walls.4 handpumps with Laines -best,kings -northern nights,hackney -red ale and hackney -oatmeal stout.Loungy sort of place with sofa,s etc.

On 16th January 2015 - rating: 6
[User has posted 923 recommendations about 910 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Dissenting Academy

Angled corner pub, part opened out at some stage to form a 'L'-shape bar with a mix of furniture including standard tables and large sofas. Bohemian decor, with ultra-low illumination (mostly tea lights on the tables). Dining room to the rear, located down a couple of steps. Just two of seven handpumps in operation, with Hackney New Zealand Pale and the 'house' Laines Best (£4.10) available when I visited. Not many customers, but the staff didn't seem particularly attentive; and with the limited beer choice and 'hip' features such as unisex toilets, I found the place rather annoying.

On 22nd November 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 5898 recommendations about 5898 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john mcgraw left this review about The Dissenting Academy

Was called The Clarendon

On 8th January 2013 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2039 recommendations about 2020 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Clarendon

This is one of the handful of London pubs recently acquired by InnBrighton, which they have re-named from the Clarendon. The name recognises the non-comformist (i.e. not CofE) educational establishments of the 17th - 19th Centuries, one of which was just down the road at Newington Green.

There were several ales on - Laine's Best (the house beer), Hophead (Darkstar?), Ha'penny Springjack, and Hepworth Pullman (£3.70 a pint), as well as some of the more unusual lagers on tap. All the clips were handwritten with just the name of the ale, and, helpfully, the ABV. There were three handpumps unused. I didn't see any menus, but there were mugs on the bar counter containing cutlery, so I guess they must do food at appropriate times.

The pub itself has a bit of the Antic feel to it. It's been heavily madeover, but the decor's not quite so bizarre. There's a lot of odd artwork around the place - a Warholesque portrait of Hendrix, a massive picture of the face of a man smoking, some African carvings, and a coatstand with an old shirt and cap on it. Not sure if the latter was a decorative featue or not, but my grubby old coat didn't look out of place on it. There's a good mix of sofas, armchairs, and nomal tables and chairs, and thankfully no tall tables/tall stools. There are no fruit or games machines either, and I didn't see any TVs.

I've been to a couple of InnBrighton pubs now, and I have to say that although they are modern in appearance, they are comfortable and perhps even luxurious. I quite like this one. An excellent pint of Hepworth's Pullman is a big help of course, and I'd be very happy to visit again.

On 21st November 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2562 recommendations about 2480 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john mcgraw left this review about The Nobody Inn

Now reverted back to it's original name THE CLARENDON. With varying casks ales (e.g Dark Star, Redemption,St Austell & 3 Ciders)

On 21st January 2012 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2039 recommendations about 2020 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Nobody Inn

The Nobody Inn is a bit of a lame name for a pub, especially as I thought it was empty as I walked through the entrance into the front area that has a few sofas and tables dotted about. Thankfully as I turned the corner into the bar area there were a couple of people watching the cricket on a plasma screen. There were even more people in the rear of the pub where there are some more plasmas and a projector screen that was showing Carling Cup football on Sky. There is also a pool table and another plasma screen that is reserved for 3D viewing when an event is available in this format.

Both of the barmaids on duty seemed to be very friendly and my pint of Guinness was up to scratch. The bar supports five hand pumps that were drawing Castle Rock Harvest Pale, Tribute and Doom Bar with two ciders in the form of Addlestone and Weston Traditional Scrumpy. Thai food is served by the Black Orchid team that seem to be sweeping through lots of pubs in North London. I’m not surprised as I’ve had one of their meals in the John Baird in Muswell Hill and I found it very enjoyable. Kitchen opening times are midday until 15:30 and 17:00 until 22:00 midweek and from midday until 22:00 on Saturdays and Sundays.

I’m not sure that I would rush back to this pub if there was no football, but maybe I would pop in on a Thursday evening when the 20:00 quiz starts.

On 1st October 2010 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3547 recommendations about 3526 pubs]