User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Bottled Beer Bargain Alert with rpadam on the Pub Forum

Millers, Kings Cross, N1

19 Caledonian Road
Kings Cross
N1
N1 9DX
Phone: 02078374863

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tris C left this review about Millers

A first in what was originally the Queens Arms and one of the few pubs still trading along the infamous Caledonian Road, though being at the railway station end it probably attracts more commuters and students from the huge block just up Pentonville Road. I suspect that not long ago it would have attracted men looking for the friendly women who used to hang out here at night.
On entering, the first thing you notice are the glass office doors which are quite incongruous in what is a pub of at least mid-Victorian vintage and despite the gloom, the brick-clad walls are modern too as is the bar and pot shelf. The floor is modern dark bare boarded and furniture is wooden and conventional. Music played at an acceptable level and sport played on the TVs with the sound off; a games machine flashed in the corner.
Quite full, despite our mid-Sunday evening crawl with most people at this time seeming to be locals from up the road.
A friendly barmaid presided over Hobgoblin and Hook Norton's Greedy Goose at a very reasonable £1.90 a half and decent too.
We found it hard to get comfortable here and I agree with John: obviously not my kind of pub.

On 12th December 2017 - rating: 3
[User has posted 996 recommendations about 981 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Lester Ford left this review about Millers

Packed inside when we arrived half way through the Chelsea vs Spurs FA Cup Semi Final that was being shown live on the big screen.

The bar itself was pretty empty so getting served wasn’t a problem, a few ales on the few pints of Whitstable’s Hull Melon @ 4.4% were very decent.

I haven’t visited this pub for over 10 years, when at the time I used to visit at least once a week sometimes more as I knew the landlord.

Decent pub but with it being so busy we re-treated out the front where it was quieter. It’s still got dodgy toilets, not quite Trainspotting but not much better.

On 30th May 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 80 recommendations about 78 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about Millers

Another busy pub.Sky sports,Hobgoblin and Pride make up the entertainment. Ornamental bars on the windows to stop the customers breaking out. Obviously not my kind of pub.

On 27th December 2016 - rating: 5
[User has posted 940 recommendations about 927 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about Millers

Quite a dark interior with exposed brickwork and dark wooden flooring. 3 real ales and food served.

On 1st October 2015 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2719 recommendations about 2662 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about Millers

Millers was mobbed during a recent Friday evening visit. The clientele was varied with some football supporters, old boys and medical students in fancy dress. It was a bit of a mission getting to the bar that runs along the left hand wall, but I managed to find a comfortable place to stand at the rear. Plasma screens located throughout were showing muted football results and there was some low background music playing.
The bar is stocked with Amstel alongside standard draught and I spotted two hand pumps, but it was too busy to scooch along the bar to see what they were drawing.

I found the bar staff to be friendly and although a little busy for my liking there was a good atmosphere. This is not a place that I would actively seek out again for a beer, but I would have no problem popping in for a pint if passing.

On 31st December 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3586 recommendations about 3565 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


E TA left this review about Millers

Friendly bar just off the main drag. The clientele are mainly students, but there are one or two grown-ups too, while I found the staff very friendly and helpful. Plenty of wooden features, including the floor, give it a bit of character, although I did find the gaming machines annoying. There were 2 ales on draft – I had Sharp's Cornish, which was in very good condition. It's one of the few pubs in this vicinity which is worth seeking out, and I would include on a crawl around the King's Cross/St Pancras area.

On 6th December 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2600 recommendations about 2574 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alesonly . left this review about Millers

Went in here on a Tuesday night around 19.00 only walked round here because the Parcel yard was rammed solid not even standing room. It was still busy in here but fine. Doombar Pride & Black Cab were on tap. Like previous poster said lot of bare brick but I noticed there fake if you look closely there stuck on over the plaster and its not a very good job ether because they went around the wall sockets and other fittings so there inset. Not a bad pub seems to have improved a lot since I was last there. I would return if passing

On 17th November 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 132 recommendations about 105 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Millers

Still has a largely Irish clientele, and little seems to have changed since the Dun-ar-Ri days apart from a general tidy up. The rectangular interior still has quite a lot of exposed brick and light wood furniture / decor, and one part of the seating area is slightly raised. Several sports TVs. Small wooden benches outside on the pavement. Three handpumps, with Pride and Hobgoblin available in addition to the regular Directors (£3.15, in good form and served in the right glass). Overall, seems to have improved somewhat.

On 3rd February 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6198 recommendations about 6198 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Roger Button left this review about Millers

As the Dun A Ri, this place always seemed to attract the bottom end of the local customer base with a very evident mix of lad culture and red faced alcoholic businessmen in suits with little to go home for. After my initial visit under its new guise as Millers, it did seem to have a less downbeat ambience and some noticeable improvements have been made. The interior is still pretty much the same, a contrived mix of bare brick and pine but it has at least been cleared of the mass of ugly cables that once stretched across the ceiling. Life still seems to revolve around the 2 plasma screens and the doorways are ever populated with smokers making it look a bit imposing on gaining entry. The pool table has gone and they also now have Deuchers to supplement the previous 2 ales Courage Best & Directors. Quality is surpirsingly good and prices very reasonable. It does always seem busy and service is pretty efficient but despite its recent improvements, it isn't really a place I would want to linger beyond a couple of pints.

On 3rd March 2010 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1238 recommendations about 1232 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Philip Carter left this review about Dun-a-Ri Bar

Great Irish bar, very friendly staff. Guinness is first class. Update: Has had a tidy up inside, very nice too. bare brick walls and new flooring. Sells Courage Best. Now called Millers.

On 7th July 2009 - rating: 8
[User has posted 753 recommendations about 716 pubs]