User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
The Buffalo Theory and Beer. with Aqualung on the Pub Forum

The Bright Helm (JD Wetherspoon), Brighton Central, Brighton

20-22 West Street
Brighton
BN1 2RE

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

J D Wetherspoon

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 4 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Graham Coombs left this review about The Bright Helm (JD Wetherspoon)

Fairly nondescript Spoon's, despite being in a classic 1930's Moderne building. The bar area downstairs is impressive enough but curiously lacking in character, while the dining area up a few steps is tedious. The upstairs bar is more publike and a little pleasanter. Beerwise it only seems to have a couple of guests alongside the usual stuff, however I must admit the Bedlam Porter was in excellent condition and very drinkable, while the barman checked if I would like a sample "if I hadn't had it before" which was no doubt considerate to the usual clientele.

On 7th March 2019 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1832 recommendations about 1790 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Bright Helm (JD Wetherspoon)

Once through the doors, the main bar faces you, which had a black granite counter top and a timber front. The main wall on the left hand side was painted in red, which lead to the upstairs bar. Up a few steps to the right lead you to the main corner lounge area. Two sets of five handpumps, with all the beer choices you don't want. A quick half of Evan Evans Brewery St Davids Ale, was about the best choice.

On 30th March 2018 - rating: 4
[User has posted 2781 recommendations about 2781 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Bright Helm (JD Wetherspoon)

Modern 'spoons-by-numbers, differentiated only by having a larger first-floor bar than the apparently main one downstairs. Despite having ten handpumps at ground-floor level, and five more upstairs, the real ale choice was less than impressive since several of the clips on display turned out to be red herrings. I opted for a pint of 6X Gold (£2.69) but left feeling rather disgruntled...

On 17th April 2016 - rating: 5
[User has posted 5540 recommendations about 5540 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The Bright Helm (JD Wetherspoon)

Has potential to have a nice Art Deco style interior but fails. Done the job as a pint,toilet and wifi pit stop.

On 7th November 2014 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2570 recommendations about 2514 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Bright Helm (JD Wetherspoon)

Unlike the Post and Telegraph, this Spoons was a big disappointment. It's a ghastly modern building with a long narrow bar area, a raised section on the right with tables and chairs and an upstairs bar that I ignored.
The bar area was largely taken up by groups of young shrieking harridans. The cacophony from that lot combined with the acoustics from the hideous modern interior created a noise louder than anything I've heard since seeing Black Sabbath live over 40 years ago.
There are ten pumps which had Directors, Doom Bore, GK IPA and Dark Star Partridge Best doubled up then single pumps with Dorking Number one and Adnam's American Wheat Street.
I went for the Dark Star Partridge (£2.40) and what came back I'm confident was not what I asked for. I know that Partridge is Dark Star's boring brown beer but this beer whatever it was reminded me of Ruddles Best.
This isn't a Spoons I would bother returning to.

On 8th June 2014 - rating: 1
[User has posted 2125 recommendations about 2120 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Bright Helm (JD Wetherspoon)

Situated towards the bottom of West Street, this modern looking Wetherspoons pub has a great location to catch thirsty punters on their way back into to town after a day on the beach. As with most pubs that are presented with an endless supply of first time customers, it rests on its laurels and is subsequently hopeless. A healthy ten hand pumps can be found on the ground floor bar but the two banks of five were identically clipped with just a couple of guests to pick from. Having weighed up my options and waited an eternity for someone to serve me, I was then told that the beer I’d selected was not on yet. My suggestion that they might want to remove the misleading pump clip until the beer was ready was met with no small amount of confusion and when I selected another beer the barmaid felt it necessary to wander off and consult a colleague about its availability before finally returning to serve me. So I eventually ended up with a pint of Archers Golden Bright, which, unusually for a ‘Spoons, was served too warm.
The ground floor is split level with the modern bar area to the left and a standard seating area on the higher level on the right. The bar area is all large floor to ceiling windows and comfy seating making it feel like a lounge bar rather than a ‘Spoons. A couple of TV screens were showing muted Euro 2012 football and rolling news. The first floor is a fairly bland but impressively large L-shaped room with its own bar and ample seating, including some that give you a view of West Street, providing a good opportunity to people watch.
This place did absolutely nothing to make me want to return and anyone who has their first experience of Wetherspoons here would be most likely put off for life. It may be convenient but I’d happily walk much further just to get some decent service.

On 21st July 2012 - rating: 4
[User has posted 2290 recommendations about 2290 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Bright Helm (JD Wetherspoon)

The Bright Helm is a goldfish bowl Wetherspoons bar designed to cater for the high student population of Brighton whom spend most nights getting trollied down this stretch of road. I counted ten hand pumps on the bar and the usual draught suspects, but I didn’t get to sample any alcohol as the inept staff struggled to serve in order on a fairly quiet Tuesday night. The usual food deals and plasma screens showing muted rolling mews are present.

In my opinion this place is one to avoid and I’m not sure if the shattered glass in one of the entrance doors was some thug trying to get in or some helpless soul trying to leave.

On 21st October 2011 - rating: 3
[User has posted 3410 recommendations about 3390 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Bright Helm (JD Wetherspoon)

Typical of a number of big-town Spoons – useless transient staff, hopelessly trained and badly managed. Thought we'd pop in here on the way back to the minibus ‘for a quick one'. My gripe is thus; it had an array of handpumps downstairs so we queued up and waited for 5 minutes. Finally got served only to be told that there was ‘no ale whatsoever' even though all the clips were on display! Grumbled about that but to avail so went in a huff upstairs (I'd decided to boycott the tills at this stage, but some of my pals had gritted their teeth and got a Kopperburg), only to find that they had a token Abbot available up there!! Arrggh! The amount of times people have complained about clips not being turned on Wetherspoons leading to frustration at the counter is vast. The fact that the little twerp who served me couldn't even summon up the mental capacity to advise me to try upstairs is truly depressing.
As for the pub itself, it's a bit snazzier than the usual Spoons - glass and metal feature prominently and the door staff are big on ID'ing everyone that enters. But as the bar staff and management clearly don't know what they're doing, I won't be back and I advise you all not go either if you like your beer – the Evening Star (and others with great beer and professional service) are only 5 minutes walk away from this joke.

On 11th February 2008 - rating: 1
[User has posted 3795 recommendations about 3783 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john mcgraw left this review about The Bright Helm

Large modern Wetherspoon's on the main street from the railway station to the seafront.Never seem to be lucky with the guest beers which are few and far between when I go there.

On 6th February 2007 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2038 recommendations about 2019 pubs]