User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
What Constitutes a 'Substantial Meal'? with Tris39 on the Pub Forum

The Alpaca, Islington, N1

84-86 Essex Road
N1
N1 8LU
Phone: 02072261082

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The New Rose

It's worth wandering around this pub,there are three sections and thankfully the owners have resisted the temptation to open out the interior,a modern scourge.The exterior tiling is also noteworthy.The left sided room has a series of banquettes and it's own set of handpumps from the island bar.Through an archway into the tap room with a dark floor,traditional furniture and a terrestrial flatscreen turned off,although six nations rugby will be screened.There is an alcove below a large sign describing a wide selection of whisky and bourbon.
To the front there is a square snug and pleasingly a lot of the wood panelling throughout the interior remains.It's a solid boozer with 5 handpumps ,although only 3 were operational on my Saturday lunchtime trip serving Truman Runner,Three Sods Session IPA and a decent Bexley Black Prince Porter (£4.20 with CAMRA discount).Judging by the collection of pump clips it appears the selection here will constantly rotate.The keg selection looked mundane,while the food looked more interesting with a variety of burgers from a Bun & Grain menu (mostly around £11),flatbreads and bar snacks.The jazz muzak enhanced the laid back vibe.
It's in the 2018 GBG,which seemed justified by my pint although it would have been good to see more pumps in action.The pub has not gentrified and sits comfortably in this slightly scruffy part of Islington,and would get another visit from me when next in the area.

On 18th February 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2079 recommendations about 2079 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The New Rose

An unusual and rather quirky sort of pub located on an Essex Street corner and seemingly extended at some time into the adjoining premises. Partially divided into effectively three areas with a central island bar, a piano sits against a chimney breast and the main room has possibly the most distressed lacquered floor I have seen to date. Large rooflights to the rear of the side room. Exterior signage says "Just Another Pub", the pub website has an additional adjective. In the same style on a wall inside is proclaimed " Though Shall Not Talk Shit". Can't argue with that concept.
I enjoyed it in here, a proper down to earth pub with decent beer and a friendly welcome from staff and the handful of afternoon customers alike. On were ELB Nightwatchman, three from New River, Blind Poet, Five Inch Drop and London Tap. There was a cider too, sorry not noted, think it was from Westons. They do a loyalty card and a decent 10% CAMRA Discount, offered freely.
Of note inside, lots of gig flyers, a wall of photos of I assume regulars and staff, a sign leads one to a not so secret secret garden, not visited on a diabolical day.
Food seems to lead on pizze and roast Sunday lunches are advertised.
Worth looking in.

On 28th January 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1687 recommendations about 1663 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tris C left this review about The New Rose

A return trip to this ex-Taylor Walker pub, once called The Half Moon. Well described below and described on the pub's website as 'Just another fucking pub', this is a slight dive bar with an eclectic interior and central bar with some down lighting, probably dating from at least the 1960s. There's a black lacquered floor, some bare brick, and simple, possibly ply panelling to the walls at three-quarter-length height. There are also two real log/coal fires which was a very nice touch. To the walls there are plenty of film posters and there are other odds and sods about the place.
Staff were very friendly and efficient. Around four ales which I can't recall other than St. Peter's Flawless at £2.50 a half.
I have experienced music here at a much louder level when the place has less appeal, but sitting here of an early evening with a couple of friends, it was an experience I'd be happy to repeat.

On 13th November 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 976 recommendations about 961 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about The New Rose

Good ale selection and I actually got a pint for the price of a half, the barman saying he would just have thrown it away! Needless to say, I didn't. Some nice jazz saxophone (muted) on the speakers.

On 19th January 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1673 recommendations about 1671 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about The New Rose

A deciptively large pub with three interlinked rooms, I counted 8 hand pumps in all with beers on from Windsor & Eton and Park plus more I failed to note, Aspalls Cider also featured.It retains a Green tiled exterior,inside the theme was wood and exposed brick. It seemed a half decent watering hole to me.

On 18th September 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1344 recommendations about 1330 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The New Rose

This traditional corner pub, close to Essex Road station, has expanded into the neighbouring property to create quite a sizeable two bar boozer. The interior wraps its way around a central servery with a basic counter, iron gantry and dark wood bar back. Entering through the original corner door, you find yourself in a small front bar with limited seating options and some eclectic décor, all lit by the huge front windows. You move through into a larger rear bar area with fixed benches and a few standard tables and chairs. A former side porch has been decorated with some nice kitsch posters and artworks plus a colourful piñata. An upright piano stands to the rear right with a huge screen showing Champions League football above, whilst a dark recess to the rear left had been set aside for a beer festival, with the stilage still in situ and a couple of beers still available. There is also a tidy little fireplace over on the left hand side and a wall covered with various polaroid photos of staff and customers. A door at the far end of the servery leads through to the newer left hand bar. Here you'll find a stained glass porch at the front leading into a spacious room with a drinking ledge and high stools to the right and a lovely set of curved banquette booths to the left. Walls are bare brick or painted in dark shades and decorated with more kitsch art and some fabulous gig posters for the likes of Beck, The Flaming Lips and The Breeders. from the ceiling hangs a grand chandelier, an unfurled projector screen and what appeared to be a collection of music festival bracelets. The bar canopy has been used to collect all manner of unrelated oddities and the pub's general music theme was further enhanced by a decent soundtrack that played throughout my stay.
The pub has worked to expand their ale selection in recent years, so there was a good choice when I arrived, comprising Revolutions Clash London Porter, Abbeydale Deception, Southwark Best, plus the last two festival ales and a real cider. I tried the Porter which was outstanding and served by a very pleasant and welcoming barmaid.
This is a bit of a pub of two halves - with the more traditional side being dominated by the football and beer festival and the newer side offering a comfier and more relaxed option. I found the beer and service here were very good and it wouldn't take much convincing for me to head back for another visit.

On 12th July 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2512 recommendations about 2512 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about The New Rose

Nice pub with the usual mismatched furniture ,exposed brick ,stags heads etc.(there must be a shop called Stags Heads R Us that sells to the pub trade as they seem to be in all the London pubs) Shabby toilets but a nice flower bedecked rear outside space.Four cask beers on Southwark-bitter,Belleville -commonside,windsor -knot and Kent-cobnut.Nice motto painted on the wall(Though Shall Not Talk Shit)amen to that.Although after trying the Southwark beer it maybe should read drink shit.

On 20th June 2015 - rating: 6
[User has posted 940 recommendations about 927 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The New Rose

This pub has clearly expanded into adjoining premises on the left at some stage, which has produced a separate bar, with its own door to the street, and where I would guess the live entertainment takes place. This room is joined to the original corner bar(s) via an archway to the rear of the central island servery. The original bar area has a bit of screening in the middle which would once have completely divided the room in two, and there is some nice wood panelling on the walls. Furnishings are traditional normal tables and chairs, and the flooring is some very distressed old black line. All manner of decor can be found about the place, as can be seen from the internal photographs I've uploaded.

There was a decent selection of ales, with the ELB pair of Foundation and Nightwatchman, Southwark Brewery London Pale Ale, and Box Steam Brewery Golden Bolt all on, as well as Thatcher's Cheddar Valley Cider on draught. This is a decent selection by any standards, and both the Foundation and Nightwatchman were sampled by our group and found to be in excellent condition. I didn't see any sign of food on Wednesday afternoon.

We liked this pub a lot. This was our favourite pub of the day. It felt as if we were in a real pub, although being Islington there were sprigs of flowers and candles on the tables. We could have done without the rap and other overly loud music, but I for one would be happy to visit again.

On 27th January 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2577 recommendations about 2495 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john mcgraw left this review about The New Rose

A pub that looks modern on the outside but inside it seems to be much older and again has that "Islington" look. There were 3 real ales on with the Fredrisks & Clarence pale ale being in great form. Beer OK but did not feel comfortable in the pub.

On 14th August 2014 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2044 recommendations about 2025 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The New Rose

The curious mixture of modern signage and traditional green tiling on the facade is reflected inside by furniture and decor which is a bit part-this and a bit part-that. There is also a row of wooden benches outside on the pavement. A old fashioned three-room layout is partially intact, but the whole place was a bit of a scrum when I visited as there was an Arsenal home game on the large screen and other TVs. Mind you, the staff were pretty efficient and it didn't take long to get served. Beartown IPA and Red Tail Pale Ale from Red Squirrel Brewery (£3.50) available, with the third handpump in the process of being changed over. Overall, the atmosphere seemed pretty good so I would happily visit again.

On 27th November 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6175 recommendations about 6175 pubs]

Page: 1 2