User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Random news of the day with Wittenden on the Pub Forum

The New Rose

84-86 Essex Road
N1
N1 8LU
Phone: 02072261082

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Tris C left this review about The New Rose

A return trip to this ex-Taylor Walker pub, once called The Half Moon. Well described below and described on the pub's website as 'Just another fucking pub', this is a slight dive bar with an eclectic interior and central bar with some down lighting, probably dating from at least the 1960s. There's a black lacquered floor, some bare brick, and simple, possibly ply panelling to the walls at three-quarter-length height. There are also two real log/coal fires which was a very nice touch. To the walls there are plenty of film posters and there are other odds and sods about the place.
Staff were very friendly and efficient. Around four ales which I can't recall other than St. Peter's Flawless at £2.50 a half.
I have experienced music here at a much louder level when the place has less appeal, but sitting here of an early evening with a couple of friends, it was an experience I'd be happy to repeat.

On 13th November 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 649 recommendations about 640 pubs]


custodian 42 left this review about The New Rose

Good ale selection and I actually got a pint for the price of a half, the barman saying he would just have thrown it away! Needless to say, I didn't. Some nice jazz saxophone (muted) on the speakers.

On 19th January 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1139 recommendations about 1139 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


moby duck left this review about The New Rose

A deciptively large pub with three interlinked rooms, I counted 8 hand pumps in all with beers on from Windsor & Eton and Park plus more I failed to note, Aspalls Cider also featured.It retains a Green tiled exterior,inside the theme was wood and exposed brick. It seemed a half decent watering hole to me.

On 18th September 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 969 recommendations about 958 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The New Rose

This traditional corner pub, close to Essex Road station, has expanded into the neighbouring property to create quite a sizeable two bar boozer. The interior wraps its way around a central servery with a basic counter, iron gantry and dark wood bar back. Entering through the original corner door, you find yourself in a small front bar with limited seating options and some eclectic décor, all lit by the huge front windows. You move through into a larger rear bar area with fixed benches and a few standard tables and chairs. A former side porch has been decorated with some nice kitsch posters and artworks plus a colourful piñata. An upright piano stands to the rear right with a huge screen showing Champions League football above, whilst a dark recess to the rear left had been set aside for a beer festival, with the stilage still in situ and a couple of beers still available. There is also a tidy little fireplace over on the left hand side and a wall covered with various polaroid photos of staff and customers. A door at the far end of the servery leads through to the newer left hand bar. Here you'll find a stained glass porch at the front leading into a spacious room with a drinking ledge and high stools to the right and a lovely set of curved banquette booths to the left. Walls are bare brick or painted in dark shades and decorated with more kitsch art and some fabulous gig posters for the likes of Beck, The Flaming Lips and The Breeders. from the ceiling hangs a grand chandelier, an unfurled projector screen and what appeared to be a collection of music festival bracelets. The bar canopy has been used to collect all manner of unrelated oddities and the pub's general music theme was further enhanced by a decent soundtrack that played throughout my stay.
The pub has worked to expand their ale selection in recent years, so there was a good choice when I arrived, comprising Revolutions Clash London Porter, Abbeydale Deception, Southwark Best, plus the last two festival ales and a real cider. I tried the Porter which was outstanding and served by a very pleasant and welcoming barmaid.
This is a bit of a pub of two halves - with the more traditional side being dominated by the football and beer festival and the newer side offering a comfier and more relaxed option. I found the beer and service here were very good and it wouldn't take much convincing for me to head back for another visit.

On 12th July 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2001 recommendations about 2001 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about The New Rose

Nice pub with the usual mismatched furniture ,exposed brick ,stags heads etc.(there must be a shop called Stags Heads R Us that sells to the pub trade as they seem to be in all the London pubs) Shabby toilets but a nice flower bedecked rear outside space.Four cask beers on Southwark-bitter,Belleville -commonside,windsor -knot and Kent-cobnut.Nice motto painted on the wall(Though Shall Not Talk Shit)amen to that.Although after trying the Southwark beer it maybe should read drink shit.

On 20th June 2015 - rating: 6
[User has posted 771 recommendations about 762 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The New Rose

This pub has clearly expanded into adjoining premises on the left at some stage, which has produced a separate bar, with its own door to the street, and where I would guess the live entertainment takes place. This room is joined to the original corner bar(s) via an archway to the rear of the central island servery. The original bar area has a bit of screening in the middle which would once have completely divided the room in two, and there is some nice wood panelling on the walls. Furnishings are traditional normal tables and chairs, and the flooring is some very distressed old black line. All manner of decor can be found about the place, as can be seen from the internal photographs I've uploaded.

There was a decent selection of ales, with the ELB pair of Foundation and Nightwatchman, Southwark Brewery London Pale Ale, and Box Steam Brewery Golden Bolt all on, as well as Thatcher's Cheddar Valley Cider on draught. This is a decent selection by any standards, and both the Foundation and Nightwatchman were sampled by our group and found to be in excellent condition. I didn't see any sign of food on Wednesday afternoon.

We liked this pub a lot. This was our favourite pub of the day. It felt as if we were in a real pub, although being Islington there were sprigs of flowers and candles on the tables. We could have done without the rap and other overly loud music, but I for one would be happy to visit again.

On 27th January 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2245 recommendations about 2177 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john mcgraw left this review about The New Rose

A pub that looks modern on the outside but inside it seems to be much older and again has that "Islington" look. There were 3 real ales on with the Fredrisks & Clarence pale ale being in great form. Beer OK but did not feel comfortable in the pub.

On 14th August 2014 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2040 recommendations about 2020 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The New Rose

The curious mixture of modern signage and traditional green tiling on the facade is reflected inside by furniture and decor which is a bit part-this and a bit part-that. There is also a row of wooden benches outside on the pavement. A old fashioned three-room layout is partially intact, but the whole place was a bit of a scrum when I visited as there was an Arsenal home game on the large screen and other TVs. Mind you, the staff were pretty efficient and it didn't take long to get served. Beartown IPA and Red Tail Pale Ale from Red Squirrel Brewery (£3.50) available, with the third handpump in the process of being changed over. Overall, the atmosphere seemed pretty good so I would happily visit again.

On 27th November 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 4473 recommendations about 4473 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about The New Rose

The New Rose is one of the many former rough and ready boozers lining Essex Road which has been given a makeover in recent years and as such has avoided potential closure due to lack of interest.
And whilst it retains the original green tiled Victorian exterior, the current New Rose internal look and decor will not be to every ones taste, being modern plain style of wooden flooring and lots of exposed brick, and a moody lighting scheme generated by subdued up lighting and candles.
It’s now basically one internal U shaped space but almost subdivided into three distinct sections. Plenty of space to stand up the bar and the seating round the edges is comfortable.
The Food menu seems to focus on Pizza’s but can’t comment on these as I’ve only really visited here for a quick early evening beer.
And in that respect there is a decent drinks choice, with the usual array of pretentious foreign lagers that you would expect this close to Islington and three real ale hand pumps on the bar. These tend to be different from the run of the mill London choices, being usually from regional Breweries and included Moorhouse Black Cat and Keltek Brewery King on my most recent visit earlier this week. A different touch is that the Ales are always served in dimpled mugs, as opposed to the more usual straight glasses.
Strangely, and for reasons lost on me, this seems to be a big draw for the trendy student types around The Essex road.
These are also catered for by DJ sessions which are held over the weekend evenings and my Gooner mates tell me that this is also a decent place to watch the footy when the big screen gets pulled down.
All in all I think the New Rose gets the more modern touch just about right without becoming overly pretentious

On 31st October 2010 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1432 recommendations about 1385 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The New Rose

There was a decent selection of ales in here on my recent visit, including SA Gold and Mordue India Pale Ale and also a selection of premium lagers including Lowenbrau, which I've not seen for an age.

This is a large pub with three separate drinking areas and although I spotted no TVs the jukebox seemed popular and some decent songs were selected.

I found the staff to be friendly and the other punters were nice enough creating a good atmosphere to enjoy a decent pint of Guinness..

There are a selection of stone baked pizzas available and maybe I will try one next time I'm in the area.

On 11th September 2009 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3281 recommendations about 3262 pubs]