User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 7th August 2022) with Bucking Fastard on the Pub Forum

The Tipperary, Fleet Street, EC4

66 Fleet Street
EC4
EC4Y 1HT

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about The Tipperary

A tall, narrow building, the bar area is in effect a drinking corridor with a tessellated floor featuring a restrained shamrock pattern. Despite being an Irish pub there are hand pumps serving English beers - five pumps, two of them unclipped and one with the clip reversed, leaving two beers on from Nelson brewery in Chatham, Kent. I went for the Cat o'nine tails 4% rather than the Friggin in the riggin 4.5%, but my half was so far short of the brim that I innocently asked whether this was a lined glass; let me top that up for you, quoth the helpful server, going on to say that she always topped the beer up once it had settled. Diplomatically ignoring this half truth, I took a sip and was fairly happy with the beer's condition; the price of £2.25 was quite reasonable for London, I thought.

I didn't explore further than the ground floor bar, which has wood panelling and brewery mirrors on the walls, plus an old, varnished board advertising Suffolk Ales: "IPA, Abbot and BBA" (boring brown ale, anyone?). I overheard someone ordering a whiskey off the list to the left of the bar, who was told that not all of those listed were available. This was a pleasant bar with not many people in at the time of my visit - perhaps they work past five in this part of town? Not sure I'd be in a hurry to be back, but it makes an interesting part of a crawl of the ancient pubs hereabouts (Old Bell, Cheshire Cheese, Punch, Hoop & Grapes, for example).

On 30th January 2019 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3116 recommendations about 2930 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Tipperary

A small and narrow Irish themed bar with friendly service, good mosaic tiling incorporating shamrocks and impressive mirrors opposite the long bar.Seating consists of a single table before the bar,and another in the alcove to the stairs up to the loos.Bar stools are the only real option to avoid vertical drinking.Many Irish artifacts hang on the walls and there is a good collection of Irish Whiskey water jugs and an impressive list of Irish Whiskeys.
There is a restaurant on the first floor,but this pub does have a boozer feel and a lot of punters will be drinking Guiness.There are a few handpumps offering on my trip Nelson's Trafalgar Bitter and Friggin' in the Riggin' with the other pulls unused.
It will get busy at peak times and given it's small size and limited ale options,I can't see a revisit likely despite this being one of the older pubs in The City.

On 26th January 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2383 recommendations about 2383 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tris C left this review about The Tipperary

This is a wonderful must-visit pub with a fantastic ornate interior well described below. It is indeed very narrow and can be extremely cramped so a long stay may not be possible.
Great Guinness of course and a very friendly barmaid complete the ensemble.
However, this place is laced with a good measure of Blarney: the pub was owned by pubco and not brewer Mooney's and upon acquisition in 1895 became known as Mooney's Irish House. It was Mooney's fourth Irish House in London so neither the first Irish bar in England nor the first to serve Guinness; the current name was adopted after 1950.

On 14th September 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1532 recommendations about 1510 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The Tipperary

Quite a small narrow interior. 4 real ale taps(3 on).

On 22nd November 2016 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2833 recommendations about 2774 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Tipperary

Originally know as the Boar's Head, this classic Victorian corridor pub lays claim to being the first Irish bar in the capital, having come into Irish ownership in 1895. The pub probably hasn't changed much over the years, with its basic, narrow layout not offering much scope for alterations. The place is designed for vertical drinking, with the servery running down the left hand wall and a few bar stools providing the only seating options The right hand wall has some large brewery and pub mirrors which help to give the illusion of a bit more space and the ornate bar back also has some complex and attractive glasswork as well as several whiskey jugs, ceramics and rugby balls. The floor boasts a nice mosaic tile pattern with numerous shamrocks. There is a small snug to the front, inside an etched glass, dark wood panelled space with basic seating. There is also another table in the stairwell area at the rear of the pub, where a collection of Irish coins has been put on display alongside numerous posters of Irish musician. The stairs lead up to the Boar's Head room which was closed on my visit but is presumably pretty compact as well. The pub has a typical pub grub menu with most of the mains coming in at around £8.50, which seems pretty reasonable for Central London.
The pub was previously tied to Greene King but appears to now be operating as a freehouse, allowing them to showcase beers from the Upham Brewery of Hampshire on this visit. Three Upham beers - Tipster, Punter and Stakes - were available, with a fourth pump left unclipped. I tried the Tipster which was in pretty good shape and a decent session ale. The staff seemed very friendly and they were enjoying some good banter with a few of their regulars, with much uproarious laughter ensuing.
This is another fine Fleet Street pub and a good example of a well preserved Victorian vertical drinking establishment. The possibility of finding some interesting beers makes the pub worth a look when on a crawl in the area and although the environment isn't perhaps conducive to an extended session, it remains a solid option in an area blessed with plenty of good pubs.

On 13th September 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2813 recommendations about 2813 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Tipperary

An interesting note from Roger B about the pub, being the first Irish theme pub and to be one of the first to serve Guinness outside Ireland. The manager was very welcoming on our visit and the other customers were friendly and chatty. Enjoyed doing a bit of vertical drinking in here. There were four ales on hand pump, I went for the London Pride.

On 12th January 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3116 recommendations about 3116 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Tipperary

Narrow Irish pub, with tiled shamrocks around the edge of the floor. Precious little room around the bar, with just a couple of tables at each end. Upstairs bar (roped off). Just one of the three handpumps was working, offering a decent pint of Pride (£3.60), with a reveersed Brakspear clip also visble. Overall, not a bad place, and one of the few in the area open on Sundays.

On 13th February 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 7108 recommendations about 7108 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Blue left this review about The Tipperary

I've found this historic and authentic Irish pub (ignoring the pubs.com sticker in the window declaring it a 'recommended traditional English Inn') to be a very good boozer, obviously serving lots of Guinness and with three ale pumps serving as at this week Doombar and Directors at £3.50 and with a reversed Young's Ordinary clip on the third. As other reviewers have said the main ground floor bar is very narrow and designed mainly for vertical drinking. The upstairs Boars Head Bar has a smaller bar and more seating, but is very much still a pub area (so if you are in a group who want to sit down you would probably go upstairs, and you would just be in a different part of the pub, not in a restaurant area where you'd be expected to eat). I have eaten here, from the fairly basic, wholesome pub menu from which sandwiches are £4 and pub grub mains from £6.50 to £8, and have not been disappointed. But mainly I'd come here for a pint at the bar, which most of the customers evidently frequent and at which good, friendly service can be expected in the sort of real pub atmosphere which few places locally still provide.

On 17th September 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 271 recommendations about 270 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Tipperary

Originally a pub called The Boars Head, now the name of the upstairs bar, this pub was built in 1605 and was a rare survivor of The Great Fire, being of masonry construction rather than timber framed. The main bar on the ground floor is a long and narrow room, with a mosiac floor, edged and dotted with shamrocks. Regarded as the first Irish pub in England, dating from around 1700, when it was acquired by SG Mooney and Sons of Dublin. The pub name changed to The Tipperary following the first Great War.
There is limited seating, just a couple of tables at recesses each end of the bar, plus a handful of stools.
Lots of fine dark wood panelling, two large framed boards advertising the authenticity of the stout and Irish whiskey, stone jars over the bar and of course the replica of the once stolen clock.
This pub shows up the current plethora of plastic Irish bars for what they are, here the beer choice obviously is centered on Guinness but also in these GK days Abbot plus Courage Best. Good value food on the chalkboard, all listed as home cooked.

On 30th March 2011 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1695 recommendations about 1669 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Tipperary

This is a narrow, small pub with a single bar downstairs, although there was some more seating in an upstairs room that I didn't visit when I was in this pub during the week. There were some stools at the bar; a couple of tables and chairs; and a ledge on the wall opposite the bar for those standing to put their drinks on. It doesn't look as if much has changed inside this pub for many years. The bar has clearly been well-used over the years, and the walls are panelled in dark wood with superb Guinness mirrors on them. The mosaic floor is quite unusual, and really quite attractive, with its shamrock design. A sign outside says that it was the first Irish pub in London. That may be true for all I know, as it is clearly a pub with a historic pedigree.

The ales they had on were Adnam's Bitter and GKIPA – plus Guinness of course. There were probably also some lagers available, although I have to admit that I did not notice them. I was in there too early for lunch, and I didn't see any menus so can't comment on food – but I did spot a rarely seen large jar of pickled eggs behind the bar. It seems to me that this is a pub that suits those who are happy to stand while drinking as it's largely standing room only. It's not the place to come if you like those pubs where you can lounge around on sofas drinking soda and lime. But it's the sort of place to which I would be happy to return.

On 25th November 2009 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2599 recommendations about 2513 pubs]

Page: 1 2