User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Bottled Beer Bargain Alert with ROBCamra on the Pub Forum

The Goodman's Field (JD Wetherspoon), Whitechapel, E1

87-91 Mansell Street
E1
E1 8AP
Phone: 02076802850

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

J D Wetherspoon
Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Graham Coombs left this review about The Goodman's Field (JD Wetherspoon)

A modern Spoons in the bottom of a residential block, L-shaped with a raised area down one side. Clean and tidy though not a lot of atmosphere but fulfils a useful need in the no-mans land past the edge of the city. Food was below average but the beer range has improved slightly; the Twickenham Chocolate Porter was in excellent form and Ringwood 49er was also available.

On 20th November 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2194 recommendations about 2145 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Clive Thompson left this review about The Goodman's Field (JD Wetherspoon)

Based on my visit today this is not one for those seeking interesting ale. Pride, Abbot and GK IPA. A 4th pump had just gone and a 5th was a dead Doom Bar.

On 3rd January 2019 - rating: 5
[User has posted 742 recommendations about 678 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


E TA left this review about The Goodman's Field (JD Wetherspoon)

An open, airy L-shaped bar which has been well decorated in a style sympathetic to the building. It is carpeted and has a few nice pictures dotted around the walls along with a woodburner that looks much too small for the volume it would need to heat. There are the standard muted gaming machines and WiFi available. The staff were unusually pleasant, the customers were mostly City types, while there none of JDW's usual bottom-end winos. Four ales on, I had a pint of Milk Street's Funky Monkey which was in good condition but suffered from the usual problem of over-chilling. It was good as Spoons go, worth a revisit.

On 16th November 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2532 recommendations about 2510 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Goodman's Field (JD Wetherspoon)

The Goodman's Field is a Wetherspoons pub that is housed in what looks like a 30s built building.
Once inside there is a decent sized L shaped room,the seating is tall tables and chairs near the bar and normal ones eleswhere,there were mid height stools around the edge of the room which faced a drinking shelf.
There was a decent choice of real ales on the bar,i had a drink of Red Squirrel Legally Blonde which went down well after i got lost trying to find this pub,the other beers noted were Red Squirel Conservation bitter,By the Horns Lambeth Walk,Southwalk Bermondsey best,Adnams Ghost Ship,plus some Spoons regulars.
The one down side to this Spoons is it lacked air conditioning,i was boiling hot when i got here and did'nt cool down at all,i noticed most other customers coming in were in the same state as me.
That aside,this is a decent enough Spoons to have a drink in.

Pub visited 1/7/2015

On 1st July 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Goodman's Field (JD Wetherspoon)

This is a reasonably large L-shaped Wetherspoons pub in a modern looking building a short walk from the Tower of London, although seemingly out of the way enough to avoid the tourist masses seen in the likes of the Liberty Bounds. The pub takes its unusual name from a local landowner who used to tend the fields in this part of London – a fact that is hard to grapple with when contemplating the imposing modern tower blocks that surround the area nowadays. The pub is surprisingly featureless, even by Wetherspoons’ standards. The bar is over to the rear left, with the room extending further back down the right hand side. The place is carpeted throughout with plain walls, the usual local history boards and a few bits of art, whilst TV screens are positioned by the front door and were showing six nations rugby to a small but appreciative crowd on our visit. The vast majority of the seating available is in the form of standard tables and chairs, with a few high tables and stools here and there but very little in the way of comfortable options. Blackboards seem to be the preferred item of décor, with several in the windows and around the servery, all listing various drinks options. The windows down the right hand side had exceptionally large sills which a couple of children were variously using as a climbing frame or to lounge on and the pub sadly seemed to have more than its fair share of unruly, out of control children.
On the bar, the two banks of hand pumps were stocked with three ‘Spoons regulars, four guest ales and a couple of real ciders. I tired the Durban Pale Ale from the international Beer Festival list. Ordering this beer proved to be a real test, with the barman doing his utmost best to pour me something other than the beer I ordered. I eventually got what I wanted and thought it was in reasonable shape, if not quite on top form.
This is a bit of a ‘Spoons-by-numbers kind of place that would have been even less memorable had it not been for the inept service. I imagine it works well as a bolt-hole from the busier tourist-filled pubs around Tower Hill, but the screaming kids managed to spoil even that potential upside. I’ll put this down as one to give a second chance to, but I can’t see this being anything other than a fairly average pub-going experience at best.

On 11th May 2015 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2446 recommendations about 2446 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Goodman's Field (JD Wetherspoon)

Surprisingly relaxed 'spoons - busy, but not overcrowded, even at office closing time. Good expanse of exterior glazing, so the 'L'-shaped bar is relatively light during daylight. The furniture and decor is more modern than most 'spoons, and it must have about the windows ledges in Europe. Not known for stocking a particularly good beer range, but nine of ten handpumps were in operation on my latest visit and the Terrapin Rye pale ale (£3.35) was in good form.

On 25th September 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6000 recommendations about 6000 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about The Goodman's Field (JD Wetherspoon)

Bit of a dull small Wetherspoon pub but they do have some outside seating which is rare round these parts.Poor choice of guest beers with only Naylors -Citradelic on.

On 28th June 2014 - rating: 5
[User has posted 940 recommendations about 927 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Goodman's Field (JD Wetherspoon)

Situated on the ground floor of what appears to be an office block, this Spoons has a modern look and is rather brighter than some. It is certainly more peaceful than the other two in the Tower / Tower Bridge area.
Of the 10 pumps I saw, one was unused, one had GK IPA, GK Abbot and Fuller's London Pride were doubled up and one had Old Rosie Cider. This left just three guest ales, Stonehenge Old Smokey and pre-festival appearances of Titanic Cappuccino and Innis & Gunn Toasted IPA. I went for the Old Smokey (£3.15) which was in excellent nick. Despite the limited guest ale selection, I thought this was one of the better Central London Spoons.

On 13th October 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Goodman's Field (JD Wetherspoon)

Basic Wetherspoons by numbers, modern, usual layout of square tables with chairs.

Wood reading shelf follows the walls. An ok relaxed atmosphere.

On 13th November 2011 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1276 recommendations about 1253 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Hamish McLambat left this review about The Goodman's Field (JD Wetherspoon)

Whoops, forgot the score!

On 3rd April 2011 - rating: 4
[User has posted 6 recommendations about 5 pubs]

Page: 1 2