User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 16th January 2022) with Thuck Phat on the Pub Forum

The Tim Bobbin (JD Wetherspoon), Urmston, Manchester

41 Flixton Road
Urmston
Manchester
M41 5AN
Phone: 01617498239

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

J D Wetherspoon

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rob Hunter left this review about The Tim Bobbin (JD Wetherspoon)

Just to update on my earlier review following a re-visit about a month ago.

Still has 12 pumps split across three banks. The third bank was definitely duplicated. Service was slow. Friday lunchtime and they have one member of staff serving, so if you get stuck behind a food order like I did you could almost die of thirst.

Plenty of time to study the pumps which at the time of my visit were offering Stone Cutter by Lymestone, Moorhouses Blonde Witch, Otter Amber, Oakham Citra and some Royal Wedding themed ale. Plus Abbot Ale and Doom Bar (like you care).

There are better places in Urmston without a shadow of a doubt (and no doubt some worse too).

On 21st June 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 620 recommendations about 520 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rob Hunter left this review about The Tim Bobbin (JD Wetherspoon)

Have been a few times on and off over the past year or so. It can be quite lively even on a Friday lunchtime. There are 12 hand pumps split across three banks, but I often find one of the banks contains ale that is unavailable. Even taking this into account there is usually a decent rotating selection on offer once you have discounted the Greene King IPA, Doom Bar, Ruddles, etc. Service can sometimes be a bit slow but that's about standard in a busy Spoons.

On 4th January 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 620 recommendations about 520 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Tim Bobbin (JD Wetherspoon)

This is a fairly typical smaller suburban Spoons. Before you enter there are some tables and chairs on a patio leading into a rectangular room with raised areas either side at the front. There are some exposed aircon ducts on the ceiling. I did notice that the food here is cheaper than average. I was here on a Thursday morning so it wasn't that busy.
The bar has three sets of four hand pumps which had one devoted to festival ciders which were in the fridge. The others between them had one unused, the JDW Trio Of Doom, Beartown Bearly Literate & Bearass, Salopian Shropshire Gold and Purity Mad Goose. I went for the Bearly Literate which went down a treat with a JDW breakfast.
I thought this was a decent Spoons.

On 24th July 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about The Tim Bobbin (JD Wetherspoon)

A neat little JDW with lots of industrial piping on the ceiling, but not much else in the way of features. As this used to be the electricity showroom, I'm not convinced that these are original. The outside looks better and has a similar design to a cinema. Very comfortable throughout with a mainly older clientele during my Friday, late afternoon visit. The scrote level was very low with just the 2 dodgy characters in the place. Friendly, chatty barstaff as well. A couple of guest beers on the bar with a third being pulled through. According to some of the locals I spoke to, it gets mad in here later on, but it was pleasant enough during my stay.

On 20th June 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2938 recommendations about 2856 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about The Tim Bobbin (JD Wetherspoon)

A small but pleasant enough Wethers without being great. A single rectangular room with some outside seating at the front and side. 3 banks of 4 handpumps on the bar with one bank dedicated to ciders. Quiet on this afternoon visit.

On 9th June 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3436 recommendations about 3346 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


peter ashworth left this review about The Tim Bobbin (JD Wetherspoon)

Run of the mill Wethy's with all the usual fixtures and fittings.Called in around 11am on a Tuesday where I found the pub bright and clean with a decent choice of cask beers to have a go at.

On 1st March 2016 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2158 recommendations about 2120 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Mat Nichol left this review about The Tim Bobbin

This pub is named after an 18th Century Lancashire poet and its definitely something to write about. As a Witherspoons pub, its cheap and has special deals on food. One of Urmston's better pubs.

On 7th December 2006 - rating: 8
[User has posted 115 recommendations about 115 pubs]