User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Virtual Great British Beer Festival 2020 with oldboots on the Pub Forum

The Speaker, Westminster, SW1

46 Great Peter Street
Westminster
SW1
SW1P 2HA

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Philip Carter left this review about The Speaker

The Speaker has had a refub. It was a great pub before, but now it is even better. Now the pub is much brighter and the seating is more organised, i.e. fixed. The windows looks like they can be opened fully. The gents toilet upstairs has been upgraded. Now there is a function room upstairs as well, which looks like it can seat 30 people.

On 29th May 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 753 recommendations about 716 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about The Speaker

Quiet corner pub in the back streets of Victoria/Westminster. Cheapest pint of the day in three pubs visited. £4.90 for a good pint of Landlord.

Nice pub.

On 17th February 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 650 recommendations about 644 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


E TA left this review about The Speaker

An 18th Century corner pub, previously The Elephant and Castle, this is one of the better ale outlets in the immediate area. There is a single bar on the ground floor and a second bar/function room, called The Chambers, on the first floor, which is also where the toilets are. It gets very crowded at peak times, and on this visit we had to push to get to the bar. Ales on were Doombar, Landlord, London Brewing Company’s Never Mind The Kent Hops, Ossett’s Nervous Turkey and Sambrook’s Powerhouse Porter. Well worth including on a crawl.

On 4th February 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2550 recommendations about 2528 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The Speaker

Traditional unfussy corner pub. 5 real ales served.

On 25th September 2017 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2693 recommendations about 2637 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Speaker

You'll always get a good pint here, with regulars like the 'house' (Adnams) Pleisure Principle, Landlord and Wandle usually available from the five handpumps. However, they rotate a selection of guest beers - Mr Grundy's Big Willie and the Dusty Penny porter from Flipside Brewery (£4.40) on this visit - and also have several 'mini' beer festivals during the year with a themed selection in over a period of a few weeks. Interesting political cartoons on the staircase walls leading up to the toilets. Can get busy, but deservedly so, but if you avoid office closing time then it can be a splendid place to meet up or just to pop in for a quick pint.

On 5th August 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6076 recommendations about 6076 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about The Speaker

Decent pub with five real ales including Ilkley Stout @ 5%. Bit small and only one room but worth a revisit if in the area.

On 8th March 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1673 recommendations about 1671 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Speaker

Good to see the Speaker – a ‘proper pub’ – surviving and thriving. Four guest ales amongst the six pumps, including Kelham Island and Nethergate Old Growler (Pleasure Seekers Golden Pale, TT Landlord and Sambrooks Wandle look like regulars these days). Decent nick. My previous comments about it being rammed still stand (literally, in our case). Still, it’s a great little pub for the area.

April 2013
Around the corner from New Scotland Yard and a short trudge from the Houses of Parliament, this is a pretty good pub for Westminster. Four ales back in 2008 have now expanded to five - TT Landlord and Youngs Ordinary, plus three well-sourced guest beers are usually on, which usually come out well and priced reasonably for the area. There are now also a decent selection of bottles including locals Camden and Meantime. The basic-but-comfortable interior is a small single bar affair and the layout is pretty awkward - it can get rammed after 5pm if Parliament is in session and you have to wave your tenner like a handkerchief in order to get seen at the served as it's really difficult to get past the barflys. The modern pine fitted and carpeted interior is not too bad a job done and the sympathetic lighting and lack of obtrusive noise from TV's/Jukey makes for a pleasant atmosphere; I enjoy the caricatures of old Parliamentarians on the walls. There’s also comedy hike up some narrow, rickety stairs to the toilets, I bet that's caused a few accidents in its time. The clientele is almost exclusively formed of the political class (and people who wish they were) but not as boorishly irritating as in other nearby haunts. Our wandering group of scruffs sometimes get a couple of funny looks - still it must do them good to meet the proles occasionally. Note that the pub is closed at weekends. Well-worth dropping by if you’re in this part of town. Rated 8

On 26th November 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3997 recommendations about 3985 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about The Speaker

Quiet but friendly pub on my visit.Famous pub so kind of expected more.Good range of 5 cask beers inc Blindmans -sahara and Charnwood -White fox.One of the few pubs in London that make an effort to support Mild in May.Cosy.

On 12th September 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 940 recommendations about 927 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Speaker

A decent corner pub this one with a jovial atmosphere and a good selection of ales across five handpumps. We went for the Sambrookes Wandle, not an exciting beer, but did taste well in here. As Quinno mentions the pub is closed at weekends

On 28th July 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


paulof horsham left this review about The Speaker

While not a large pub, The Speaker never seems to get over-crowded, possibly helped by being a little out of the way. It's quite a relaxed sort of place with efficient and friendly service. Beer policy seems to be Youngs Ordinary (on offer at £3 or so per pint at the moment) plus a major (currently Landlord) along with a couple of micros. My pint of Franklins 1066 from the current Sussex-themed mini-festival wasn't likely to trouble any beer festival judges but hit the spot after work.

The major downside would seem to be the narrow bar area with a number of easily occupied bar stools and these combine to block easy sight of the pump-clips. Nevertheless, I've been in a few times and I daresay I'll be back for more.

On 19th February 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 287 recommendations about 277 pubs]

Page: 1 2