User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Pubs in peril being bought on the cheap with Pangolin on the Pub Forum

Old Black Bull, Preston

35 Friargate
Preston
PR1 2AT
Phone: 01772823397

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Brainy Pool left this review about Old Black Bull

Another change of course for this Greene King pub as the previous landlady of the Dog & Partridge has moved here and wants to make it the number one place for the loud heavy stuff in Preston. a few real ales on from the GK portfolio. Nothing to make a beeline for unless you have a thing for leather clad rockers.

On 10th February 2020 - rating: 5
[User has posted 773 recommendations about 754 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Brainy Pool left this review about Old Black Bull

back open. and somehow even worse than before. clean and modern decor inside but no real ale (GK IPA was turned around, four others unclipped) and painfully slow service. four keg cask options which were just Brewdogs and Blue Moon. wasn't busy Saturday afternoon either and no wonder.

On 29th September 2018 - rating: 4
[User has posted 773 recommendations about 754 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about Old Black Bull

A lovely looking pub from outside with its green tiled frontage. Inside it is a comfortable, if basic, interior and consisting of 2 rooms. The larger room is nice and there were 8 real ales to choose from. None of the beers were any of your nationals such as Pedigree, Bombardier etc. Well worth a visit.

On 6th August 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3390 recommendations about 3303 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about Old Black Bull

A GBG from 1978 reveals that this was once a Boddington's house in the days when their bitter was still a legendary drink. This place still has a Boddington's sign right by the main road hoarding that mars the side view of this pub.
Inside it is essentially one large room but there is a tiny separate room at the front that I didn't venture into. There were some TV screens showing some sporting rubbish or other.
The bar has numerous hand pumps and I managed to note Blackedge Zinc & Treacle Stout, Prospect Silver Tally & Blinding Light, GK Old Golden Hen, Robinson's Dizzy Blonde, a couple from Moorhouse and a house beer by Tetley. I went for the Treacle Stout (£3.20) which was in excellent condition. Sadly I completely forgot about the CAMRA discount.
I quite liked it here but would avoid if there was live music or a major sporting event. One highlight was that halfway through my pint a man with a pint of lager sat near me who was the spitting image of Phil Mitchell in Eastenders, although his head didn't look as though it was about to explode!

On 26th November 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Peter Rydings left this review about Old Black Bull

Never alters but why should it got 10 hand pulls on the bar proper ale house like they used to be always call in when in that part of preston

On 23rd November 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 122 recommendations about 122 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Old Black Bull

There are plenty of pubs to choose from along Friargate, but with only enough time to visit a couple, I turned to the local CAMRA magazine in the hope of identifying one with a decent ale range, and the end result was a visit to the Old Black Bull. The pub was in the middle of a Welsh Beer Festival when I arrived, with a staggering number of Welsh brews listed on the bar, although only a selection of them were available at any one time. The handpulls were dispensing New Plassey Cwrw Tundo and New World Pale, Tiny Rebel Dirty Stop Out, Moorhouse Bitter, Grey Trees JPR’s Ale, Old Black Bull Cask Ale, Celt Experience Brigid Fire, Otley Colomb-O, Fuzzy Duck Drunken Duck and Fullers Chiswick. A fine selection and very difficult to choose between, although I eventually opted for the JPR’s Ale, which was in very good shape.
The pub is fairly prominent, occupying a corner site where the A59 cuts through Friargate. You enter through a frosted glass ‘Old Black Bull’ door into the main bar with the servery running down the left hand side of a checkerboard floor room. The servery has plenty of dark wood, but much of it was obscured by ugly Six Nations flags and bunting. To the right, hidden behind a couple of broad pillars, there is a comfy looking seating area, decorated with some frosted glass partitioning screens. Beyond, to the rear, there is a large opened out room with bare floorboards, button backed leather banquettes around the perimeter and standard and low stool seating elsewhere. A large fireplace on the back wall had frustratingly been obscured by a high backed pew positioned in front of it, which seemed a shame. Most of the pub has half panelled walls with a dark paint scheme above, which isn’t quite as bland as it sounds. The front corridor also gives access to a small, public bar on the left hand side, but I only spotted this as I was leaving, so I didn’t get a good look. There were lots of TV screens showing coverage of the Cheltenham Races during my stay, with the commentary playing throughout the pub. A large group of lads behind me got very excited and vocal when their horse stormed to victory in one of the races, but this was treated with good humour by the staff and customers alike and didn’t seem to represent the norm.
This is a nice traditional style pub in which the beer really takes centre stage. It’s a shame they’ve covered up some of the more potentially attractive features, but it doesn’t detract too much from a very enjoyable pub experience.

On 24th April 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2545 recommendations about 2545 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Old Black Bull

The pub is mentioned in a document of 1776. This pub really stands out on its own on a corner along Friargate. The pub features a very elaborate example of glazed brick work, which incorporates door pediments and corbels. With the upper floors finished in Brewers Tudor. The interior consists of a small front bar, a large room with the main bar and a small private room on the right. The main bar is traditional in style with a brass rail along the counter. The main room has a magnificent tiled floor.
Another attractive feature was the choice of ten handpulled ales. We went for the Winston Valley Brewery Lakes Blonde.

On 25th February 2014 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


T VALTOJOS left this review about Old Black Bull

A fairly big watering hole. Pub was full on our visit but still managed to get served fairly easily.
One of the better pubs in Preston. Good sport coverage.

On 22nd September 2008 - rating: 6
[User has posted 24 recommendations about 24 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Mat Nichol left this review about Old Black Bull

Not to be confused with The Old Bull, just a few hundred yards away, this pub is a pretty good starting point for your night out. Its opposite Greyfriars (if I've got the right pub).

On 3rd May 2007 - rating: 6
[User has posted 115 recommendations about 115 pubs]