User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Wetherspoon's news of the day with RealAleRobUK on the Pub Forum

The Albion, Conwy Central, Conwy

6 Uppergate Street
Conwy
LL32 8RF

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Ian Mapp left this review about The Albion

Good Beer Guide 2019 Entry and winner of North Wales Pub of the Year 2016.

Doesn't look much from the outside - some Ansells Branding and a tranditional "old man's pub".

Inside is where the money has been spent - all soft wood furnishings and original tiling. Two roomed - with the a long bar in the bar room.

Knowledgeable and friendly staff.

Recommended.

On 29th July 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 560 recommendations about 555 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Albion

Having spent two nights in Conwy I had two evening visits to this pub on the Thursday and Friday. I've known about this place for a few years so expectations were high and it didn't disappoint. It's well described below and on the Thursday I opted for the main bar and on the busier Friday the back room.
Although this isn't a micropub it is run on similar lines with no music, TV screens, fruit machines or mainstream keg beers. The wines and spirits are also non-mainstream apart from possibly Courvoisier Brandy.
The bar has ten hand pumps with two ciders, beers from the gang of four brewers who took it on and a couple of guests. On my visit guests were from the Conquest brewery and Derby. I had four different beers on my two visits Great Orme Chocoholic & Bad Bad Boy, Conquest ESB and Nant Cwrw Carw. The last one was £3.20 and the rest £3.30. All were in first class condition.
I really liked this place and discovered at the end of the second night that the owners had also taken on the Bridge in Conwy, I already knew about the Australia in Porthmadog. This is good as it gives me an excuse to return!

On 21st April 2016 - rating: 10
[User has posted 2128 recommendations about 2123 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


John Bonser left this review about The Albion

Inside the city walls, on a prominent street corner in the centre of Conwy, is The Albion Ale House, a pub that proudly displays a prominent banner proclaiming it as “CAMRA North Wales Pub of the Year 2015”

Externally the pub still retains some evidence of former Ansells ownership with the old trademark squirrel logo and several branded Ansells lamps still in evidence. The pub sign features an old sailing ship and merely refers to the pub as “The Albion”, although I gather that the pub’s official name is now The Albion Ale House – a name it took on when the pub reopened in February 2012, following an 18 month or so period of closure.

The pub is jointly owned and run by a consortium of 4 local Welsh breweries – Great Orme, Purple Moose, Bragdy Conwy and Bragdy Nant. Staff wear black T shirts with these names listed on the back to remind us of this.

The pub features in CAMRA’s National Inventory of Historic Pub Interiors for its unspoilt 1920’s interior which was lovingly restored and enhanced as far as possible by the new partners. It is said to be the best example of an inter war pub in Wales

There’s 3 separate rooms with the Lounge (formerly the Smoke Room) on the left as you go in being visually the most impressive. Here we see a fine large brick surrounded fireplace in a wide inglenook straddling almost the entire length of one wall with several small circular Art Nouveau stained leaded windows here. There’s an unusual alcove by the door with a double length seat. A number of old framed black and white photos and fixed seating around the wall with old bell pushes still in situ add to the fine traditional feel of this room. Heavy looking dark ceiling beams complete the picture here. There’s a separate entrance to this room direct from the street corner which features an Art Deco style curved top and some etched glass.

The bar servery is in the room on the right, which is effectively the public bar, seemingly being the favoured room of the regulars and features the original counter and a fine original mirrored bar back which prominently incorporates in the centre an old round clock. A good number of framed CAMRA award certificates are on display here, as is, high up on a shelf behind the bar, an old miniature Watneys Red Barrel

Behind this room, accessed via a corridor with green tiled walls and a quarry tiled floor, is the Snug, a room in similar style, with old bell pushes and fixed seating and a small serving hatch in the wall allowing service direct from the main bar. In this room we see a display of framed match books and a picture of a ship – Dryden ( Lamport and Holt Shipping Line ) – whose bell, we are told, is behind the bar in the Public bar and is still rung at closing time. A few photos of Conwy lifeboat crew also feature here.

There’s a small outside covered patio at the rear.

I think that this is probably the first pub where I can ever recollect seeing a substantial separate menu of dog food displayed on the tables – and I’m not talking about free dog biscuits and bowls of water here. A colourful “Great British Pub Dog Food” menu features such delights as Lamb and Rice Kibble, or Salmon and Potato which, for a standard 250g portion, will set dog owners back the princely sum of £ 2.99p. And all this, somewhat unusually in a pub, not on the South Downs or in The Lake District, where one might expect a good number of dog walkers, but inside the old town walls in the picturesque tourist destination town of Conwy. Not being a doggy person, I was not exactly disappointed that no dogs were present during the course of my visits

Pleasingly, us mere mortal humans are also catered for, food wise, with a range of cold snacks including pork pies, pasties, pickled eggs, nuts, crisps, olives etc being on offer. Potato crisps using 100% Welsh potatoes are supplied by (and I kid you not) a firm called Jones O Gymru.

There’s no TV or fruit machines here, just good beer, cheer and conversation. Notably, and pleasingly, on both of my visits, a small group of overseas visitors had specifically sought this pub out for its beer range and were suitably impressed.

There’s 10 pumps, of which 2 are used for Welsh ciders. A range of real ales are offered, featuring prominently, but not exclusively, those of the 4 brewing partners and other Welsh breweries. On my visits on 2 consecutive days, breweries featured included Great Orme, Bragdy Conwy, Tiny Rebel and Waen amongst others. Beers on at any particular time was listed on a blackboard in the corridor with gravities and prices listed, along with details of what’s coming soon. Whilst there’s no beer taste or style details given, a small jam pot by each pump clip shows you the colour of the beer and the enthusiastic and willing staff will gladly give you a taster on request. Prices varied between £ 3.10p and £ 3.30p depending on gravity.

The CAMRA Good Beer Guide 2016 sticker is prominently displayed on the bar counter. It goes without saying that beer quality was top notch. If I have one negative, it is that there appears to be a disproportionate emphasis on higher gravity beers with, on my second visit, 4 of the 8 beers having gravities of over 5% (this later increased to 5 out of 8) and the weakest beer being 4.2%. A selection of foreign and craft beers are also available.

This is definitely a destination pub when anywhere near the vicinity – I really hope to get here again sometime

On 6th October 2015 - rating: 9
[User has posted 560 recommendations about 560 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Albion

Splendid award-winning, alehouse. Restrained, light decor in the 1920s interior of the bar area, side lounge and rear smoke room with period windows, lanterns, etc. Some interesting historical black & white photographs too. Small part-covered rear patio. A few bar snacks, but otherwise no food. Excellent choice of eight local and regional real ales - e.g. Nant Chwarel £3.10 - and two ciders. First class.

On 20th September 2015 - rating: 9
[User has posted 5639 recommendations about 5639 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about The Albion

Definitely the best pub in Conwy. Get your beards and chins out and stroke away to a number of real ales.

On 9th December 2014 - rating: 10
[User has posted 3348 recommendations about 3264 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Albion

This superb pub has been rescued and sympathetically restored by unusually, a consortium of four rival North Wales breweries, namely Purple Moose (Bragdy Mws Piws), Bragdy Conwy, Bragdy Nant and Great Orme ( Bragdy'r Gogarth). Dating from 1921, most original features have been restored where possible to their original condition and appearance despite the pub suffering some 1970s inappropriate alterations. There are three rooms, the main room with the bar along the back wall is the Public, and is where most locals seem to congregate, there is another large room to the side of this which has large ceiling beams and a baronial style fireplace in a huge inglenook. The side seating still has the old bell pushes on the dado rails and there is a small double seat in an alcove. The entrance door has a curved top and feature brick quoins. Arty black and white photos of the area in bygone times form the decor in here.
Behind the main bar is the old Smoke Room, now called the snug. There is another impressive brick fireplace in here and a serving hatch to the bar, complete with doors so the room can be used privately. There are framed matchbooks on the wall in this room. All rooms have wooden floors, parquet in the side and snug rooms, however I understand the public bar floor was lost and replaced by the bare boards which remain. Linking the rooms is a corridor with green wall tiles and a tiled floor. There are newspapers in a rack on the side wall here.
There is no TV, no music or games machines, just conversation and laughter, staff and locals alike were very friendly and welcoming. There are board games and a selection of books on a couple of the stained glass window's cills.
Beer wise, there are ten handpumps along the bar, on my visit featuring 8 ales and two ciders. Each handpump serving beer has a half glass in front with a shot of the beer inside to indicate its style and colour. My visit offered Waen Festival Gold, Great Orme 'Orme' and Merlin, Bragdy Conwy Shipwreck IPA, Purple Moose Glaslyn Ale, Nant Mwnci Nel, Lymestone Ein Stein, Otley Thai Bo plus ciders Black Dragon and Rosies Black Start. Main meals are not served, just top quality pork pies, scotch eggs, pickled eggs and olives. Pies are from locally reknown Edwards Butchers.
This is without any doubt a destination pub and worthy of any visit when chance allows.
I hope to be back some day to continue working through the pumps, a great pub and although I don't tend to score "10s" this one wasn't far off.

On 1st July 2012 - rating: 9
[User has posted 1681 recommendations about 1658 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gareth Williams left this review about The Albion

Now refurbished and re-opened under the control of four local real ale breweries. 10 handpumps. Probably the best selection of ales in North Wales which are immaculately kept and dispensed by knowledgeable staff.

On 28th June 2012 - rating: 10
[User has posted 15 recommendations about 8 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about Albion Vaults

re-opened. Sells about 6/7 real ales mostly Welsh.

On 18th April 2012 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3348 recommendations about 3264 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Clive Thompson left this review about Albion Vaults

Confirmed as closed and up for sale on my September 2010 visit. Not boarded up so hopefully a buyer can be found to continue trading as a pub.

On 3rd October 2010 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 737 recommendations about 676 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gareth Williams left this review about Albion Vaults

Sadly this is on the market and may well be used for another purpose. The interior must be saved!!!

On 2nd September 2010 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 15 recommendations about 8 pubs]

Page: 1 2