User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Guess who I met today? with bcfczuluarmy on the Pub Forum

The Spread Eagle, Croydon Town Centre, Croydon

39-41 Katharine Street
Croydon
CR0 1NX
Phone: 02087811134

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Fuller's
Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Spread Eagle

Not been to this imposing Fuller's Ale & Pie House for years, but all seems much the same within this impressive building. The former bank has been well converted, and the main bar benefits from a high ceiling and windows on three sides. Further seating and dining areas can be found upstairs, with a theatre too. Dark wood-panelling throughout. Pride, Oliver's Island, HSB, ESB and the seasonal Spring Sprinter plus two guests from Gypsy Hill - Mosaic and the dry-hopped Bounder - available from the two banks of six handpumps on this long-overdue revisit.

On 21st April 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 5808 recommendations about 5808 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Spreadeagle

A rather opulent interior with high ornate ceilings and beams with decorative cornices. Large rather flamboyant chandeliers, lots of dark wood panelling. As hondo says below, Fuller's have plenty of experience of bank conversions, so they tend to turn out well. There were lots of framed pictures of this and that all over the walls, large vases of flowers on the bar ends; seating is mixed but with plenty of standard issue. The pub also contains a theatre which I presumed was situated up the central flight of stairs, apparently they show films too. Those wishing to watch football were being directed up there last Sunday while the oval ball game showed in the main bar. This seemed popular, I struggled to find a seat and ended up perched at a ledge.
As said, Fuller's, an Ale and Pie House, the afternoon in question had Pride, ESB, previously unknown to me Damson Porter plus guesting Sambrook's Battersea Rye.
Obviously meals are served, an ok spot this, more for the surroundings as Fuller's beers are available generally.

On 10th November 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1685 recommendations about 1662 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The Spreadeagle

Fuller's tend to get it right with bank conversions and this is no exception. Quite a grand interior with a theatre/cinema space upstairs.

On 27th October 2017 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2649 recommendations about 2592 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Spreadeagle

The Spreadeagle is a Fullers Ale & Pie House that is located in an old bank. The bar faces the entrance and is bookended by seating areas to the left and right. To the right there is also a flight of stairs which I did not venture up. The surroundings and décor suggested to me that the two plasma screens that I spotted would be for showing rugby and tennis on BBC. So I was surprised to see Sky Sports News being aired and advertisements for Premier League Football.

My visit was on a recent Wednesday evening when the pub was not at its busiest. Alongside a standard draught selection were six hand pumps that were drawing Fullers London Pride, ESB, HSB and Front Row alongside George Gale’s Spring Sprinter and Twickenham’s Page 24. Food is available all day and the price of most mains was knocking on a tenner.

Whilst in the toilet I spotted an advertisement for the attached theatre and I think that there is a weekly comedy night, although I did give up trying to decipher the poster.

I found the governor here to be very polite and I would return if in the area again.

On 8th March 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3546 recommendations about 3525 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Spreadeagle

A former Natwest bank,with a grand exterior and next door to the impressive Town Hall this is one of the few attractive areas of Central Croydon.It's a Fullers tied pub,so expect their very high pricing for all drinks.You enter the pub up a flight of stone steps,and into an open plan,high ceiling room with a staircase to the right leading to a section which was closed off on my trip for a private function.Notices also advertise that there is a theatre here,meaning I would guess small performances in this upstairs section.The bar is directly infront of the front door and the gents is around the back of the bar ,downstairs in what was probably the vault.There is a lot of wood panelling around,furniture is traditional looking with some chesterfield sofas thrown in for good luck.There are three flatscreens with Sky Sports,making this a popular spot to catch live footie so the atmosphere can be more bouyant than the surroundings might suggest.
The six handpumps were drawing London Pride,ESB(decent),Front Row,HSB and Spring Sprinter from Fullers with a single guest of Twickenham Page 24 Biere de Mars (OK condition). Two pints and a double whisky were eye wateringly expensive,but at least the grandeur of the place and an upbeat vibe was a bit of an offsetting factor.

On 31st January 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2020 recommendations about 2020 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about The Spreadeagle

Good Fullers pub with 5 Fullers beers on handpump and a guest beer. I had the Cronx -kotchin which was superb. Nice little outside area when the weather is nice.

On 28th June 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 913 recommendations about 901 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Spreadeagle

This is a huge Fullers Ale and Pie House in the middle of Croydon. Converted from a bank, there is ample seating including an upstairs area which is also available for private functions and doubles up as a free cinema on Monday nights. Large screens show major sporting events and the staff are very helpful and have arranged for me to watch lower league football matches on a second screen at short notice.
The full range of Fullers ales are always available and they are always in top condition. Some interesting bottled beers and a Weissebeer on tap are also on offer, but sadly the prices are fairly prohibitive. A recent beer festival of sorts saw a few guest ales make an appearance, but this hasn't been followed up since.
A good place to go with work colleagues or as part of a crawl, this is a solid part of the Central Croydon pub scene. The management seem keen to use the large building to maximum effect (there were Spanish classes on last time I was in here), which means that there's always a buzz, even on quiet nights.

On 21st January 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2347 recommendations about 2347 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


John Bonser left this review about The Spreadeagle

This is a Fullers Ale and Pie House occupying a prominent street corner position on the edge of the High Street virtually next door to the Town Hall.

It’s a former bank and those who are familiar with the Ale and Pie concept will know what to expect – wood panelling, impressive chandeliers, columns and an upstairs balcony with additional rooms.

In contrast to many of the other Ale and Pies which, being based in the City of London, do not open at weekends, The Spread Eagle does normal pub hours on both Saturday and Sunday.

On my recent Sunday lunchtime visit, the pub was quite busy with a broad mix of customers of both sexes and all age groups. A number of TV screens dotted around the place on both floors were showing football and rugby matches and a good natured atmosphere dominated throughout.

The normal range of Fullers and Gales branded beers were available and the Pride was in good form. The pub has been a CAMRA Good Beer Guide regular in recent years.

You should include this one in any Croydon crawl.

On 10th March 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 560 recommendations about 560 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Clive Thompson left this review about The Spreadeagle

Fullers pubs seem to be becoming clones of each other especially the Ale & Pie Houses. This one is no different, tiled floors, a couple of sofas, loads of dark wood and etched glass, a good range of beers and horrendously expensive.

On 10th May 2009 - rating: 6
[User has posted 737 recommendations about 676 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


train man left this review about The Spreadeagle

Clean, bright, offering a large range of Fullers beers in very good nick, had a plasma showing rugby (dk if they have sky), and the service was quick & friendly. After this visit, my calling this place bland-looking in a comparative review (of the Ship) now seems a little unfair.

On 11th October 2007 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 411 recommendations about 410 pubs]

Page: 1 2