User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Yet another list with oldboots on the Pub Forum

The Ship, Croydon

47 High Street
Croydon
CR0 1QD
Phone: 02086882810

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Local Pub (Marstons)
Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The Ship

Marston’s pub with a dark bare boarded interior. Proclaims itself croydons last rock bar and the music being played backed that up. 5 real ale taps 4 on during my visit.

On 4th October 2018 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2761 recommendations about 2703 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Ship

A sign on the exterior proudly states to all passers-by that the Ship is ‘The last real pub in Croydon’… No it isn’t!

The interior is long and thin with an alcove with seating along the left hand wall and a bar that runs along the right. There are a couple of high tables with some stools, but the majority of space is reserved for standing. There is a lack of natural light because the front window is blacked out where a DJ booth is set up, which explains the lack of furniture on the bare board flooring. During my recent early evening visit a muted Bond film was being projected onto the rear wall and some background music was playing at a bearable volume.

The bar supports five hand pumps that were drawing Wychwood’s Gold and Hobgoblin (x2) alongside Marston’s Help for Heroes. The fifth hand pump was unused, but there was a standard draught selection available. This pub opens daily at 17:00 and closes at midnight every night except for Fridays and Saturdays when it closes at 2am.

I found the barmaid to be very friendly, but I wouldn’t go out of my way to visit here again whilst this pub is in its present guise.

On 26th February 2015 - rating: 5
[User has posted 3592 recommendations about 3571 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Busy bee bumblebunny left this review about The Ship

Cosy atmosphere!

On 29th December 2013 - rating: 10
[User has posted 2 recommendations about 1 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Busy bee bumblebunny left this review about The Ship

Lovely pub, and a good one to add at the end of your crawl as you won't want to leave, plus they are open until 2am on fri and sat nights. Good variety of music with all sorts of "alternative" from 50's to present. Can be quiet early evening but rammed on sat night with DJs getting very loud. Nice ales (I had a hobgoblin but there was a couple of others) and a massive selection of whiskies etc. Landlord friendly and helpful. Seems to be child friendly in early evening (not after about 7 or 8 as it can get BUSY. Some nice old features like big fireplaces but a lot of cool lighting, lasers etc on weekends

On 29th December 2013 - rating: 10
[User has posted 2 recommendations about 1 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


dom hatcher left this review about The Ship

This pub is one of those old traditional types, no sport but good enough beer and a huge open fire which was a great welcome. It's been repainted since this picture was taken and is now black and white. Opposite the old surrey street market it's def worth popping in but seems to be more evening only now. Great little pub, nice staff and cracking atmosphere when it's busy. Top notch, esp if like me you like your rock. Good old fashioned type!

On 29th December 2013 - rating: 10
[User has posted 3 recommendations about 2 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Ship

Traditional-looking pub from the street, but on entering you immediately think 'live music venue' with all the dark wood and a paucity of furniture. Indeed, there is a small stage by the front windows. Large screen at rear showing sport. Side seating area in the back corner under lower ceiling. Just two of five handpumps were operational, offering the regular Hobgoblin plus Pedigree (and with the beer thankfully better than on my previous visit).

On 31st October 2013 - rating: 5
[User has posted 6222 recommendations about 6222 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about The Ship

Another very quiet pub on my visit even though they had football on the box.Comfortable sort of pub but Marstons beers are not for me and the EPA was in poor condition.

On 27th February 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 940 recommendations about 927 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


John Bonser left this review about The Ship

Occupying a High Street position near the top end of Surrey Street market is The Ship, a single bar pub with a strong music emphasis.

Much bigger than it looks from the outside, it’s a pleasant pub with a long bar counter and a rather dark and dimly lit wood panelled, bare boarded interior. Down the far end are a number of framed shipping prints.

The emphasis on live music is reflected in a slightly raised stage at the front of the pub by the window set up with musical instruments ( drums etc ). On the left hand side by the entrance door is an enclosed booth with a music deck which would appear to be for DJ’s or music comperes. Thankfully, on my recent Sunday lunchtime visit, a quiet subdued music free atmosphere prevailed.

The pub’s website tells us that it’s in the Marstons Inns portfolio, although I don’t recollect seeing any external branding. There’s 5 handpumps which were serving Brakspears, Marstons EPA and Hobgoblin. The Brakspears ( £ 2.40p !) was in good form, but I don’t imagine there’s much real ale trade here.

I’m not a big fan at all of live music in pubs, but I wouldn’t be averse to popping in here again during a music free period if the occasion presented itself

On 7th March 2011 - rating: 6
[User has posted 560 recommendations about 560 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ebenezer Crutton left this review about The Ship

I have to disagree with the comment about the 'generally well kept' ale. I went in there recently and the Brakspears was like vinegar. And the barman wouldn't accept that there was anything wrong with it! Not really a place for the discerning drinker. I'm told that the food is good, though.

On 6th March 2011 - rating: 3
[User has posted 9 recommendations about 9 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Ship

This small single room pub in the centre of Croydon used to be at the heart of the town's alternative scene, but has now lost its way somewhat following the success of the nearby Green Dragon. There are five hand pumps usually dispensing Hobgoblin and Brakspear plus others on rotation (Ringwood Fortyniner was the only other offering on my last visit). They are reasonably priced as well, with a decent pint of Hobgoblin coming in at £2.40 and although I've had the odd dodgy pint in the past, they are generally well kept.
The interior tends to be very gloomy, in keeping with the goth/heavy metal clientele within, with the seats towards the back of the pub giving so little light that it's almost impossible trying to read your paper there. Service is always very good - the bar staff are very friendly and good for occasional banter. They have an eclectic taste in music too and I often find myself enjoying the tunes that are played throughout the day.
I think the sign that calls this place 'The last real pub in Croydon' refers to a position it held back when the Green Dragon was a dull Hogshead and the Ship was a shining beacon for young Croydoners who were looking for something different to the Yates's, Walkabouts and Tiger Tigers that predominate the area.
Not as good as good as a couple of other pubs in the town centre and not really a pub for the traditionalist, but I'd say it was worth a look if you're on a crawl or fancy rocking out for the evening.

On 10th March 2010 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2546 recommendations about 2546 pubs]

Page: 1 2