User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Yet another list with Aqualung on the Pub Forum

Dog & Bull, Croydon Town Centre, Croydon

24 Surrey Street
Croydon
CR0 1RG

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Dog & Bull

For far too many years, I had avoided this market pub as I guessed that it was a rough market-stallholders local where visitors were probably not welcome. However, once I ventured, in I found it to be a very pleasant, traditional boozer. The interior has been thoroughly refurbished and partially opened out to leave an island bar with a further room to one side. Interesting features include the dark wood panelling and decorative glazing panels in the front windows. There is also a substantial patio beer garden out back. It has now been rebranded by Youngs as a Ram Pub Co outlet, but on my last visit I found the regular Ordinary and Special supplemented by Doom Bar replicated from the two banks of three handpumps. Overall, I now really like this pub.

On 3rd June 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 4932 recommendations about 4932 pubs]


Malden man left this review about The Dog and Bull

A long standing Croydon market pub probably going back centuries, inside is rather more recent, there is an island bar with the room extending back to the rear and side. There is some clearly old wood panelling, the leaded glass front windows have interesting inserts featuring horse and ram's heads, a likely link to the local market. There are framed pictures depicting various stages of a butcher's business. Still on the market theme a wall mounted sign refers to "Pearce's Bacon and Cheese".
Despite the internal modifications you can still avoid the few high tables and stools, plenty of regular issue remain in usefully different sizes to suit groups small and large.
The inevitable music played but this time a decent 60s soul/Motown background, TV muted.
Youngs here if that's what they still are, Bitter, Special plus Hook Norton Old Hooky at £4. Liked it.

On 11th November 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1656 recommendations about 1635 pubs]


hondo . left this review about The Dog and Bull

Young's pub located on the market. A bare boarded interior with an island bar. 6 real ale taps serving 3 ales doubled up on my visit.

On 27th October 2017 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2448 recommendations about 2395 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Dog and Bull

This is a Young's pub, with Special, Bitter (£1.80 a half) and London Gold on. This pub has gone fairly foody, with the solid scrubbed tables, metal buckets with cutlery and condiments in them on all the tables that we often see in food led places. The fake flowers on the tables detract a bit from the upmarket feel they are clearly trying to create. But the food isn't overly expensive. The "stone-baked" pizza menu offers a range of 9" pizze for £6.45 - £9.25, or the 12" versions for £7 - £12.50. The other side of the single-sheet menu offers a "Bar-B-Q" menu" - the burger with fries is £8.95.

The pub itself is still quite impressive. The windows are atractively lattice glazed, with stained glass centrepieces featuring the eponymous dog and bull, and for some reason also a horse. A good amount of the wood paneling remains on the walls, but of course the pub has largely been opened up, although with some distinct separate dining and drinking areas. For example, there's a largish room at the back on the left with an attractive tiled fireplace, and which looks a bit like a dining room although I saw no indication that it wasn't available to drinkers. There's also a garden at the back.

There is the inevitable brace of tall tables/tall stools by the window, but this uncomfortable furniture is definitely in the minority here. The fruit machine seems a bit out of place here, as does the large TV (muted showing the news), but I guess that's what the customers want. This is still a pretty good pub.

On 8th May 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2380 recommendations about 2305 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Dog and Bull

My visit to the Dog and Bull was early on a recent Wednesday evening so there were no signs of the adjacent stalls and traders on Surrey Street Market. However, the pub was quite busy with a local crowd who were standing around the island bar and using the seating to the right and rear of the pub. This is a Youngs establishment so it wasn’t surprising to see Ordinary and Special available at the bar, but I think that two different beers tripled up on six hand pumps is a poor show. Standard and premium draught products were also available and the pub mains from the food menu were priced around the £10 mark.

I spotted a plasma screen which was switched off and there was some very low background music playing off a jukebox. There is a weekly quiz advertised for every Wednesday night from 20:00.

I found the service to be very friendly and I would have no problem returning for another well-kept pint of Ordinary if in the area.

On 1st March 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3336 recommendations about 3316 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Dog and Bull

An excellent traditional pub situated on Croydon's busy Surrey Street market. The wooden interior is dominated by the island style bar,with a couple of cosy seating areas to the side and rear. Nice frosted windows with picture insets give you a sense of the bustling market outside.
They have Youngs Ordinary and Special plus a seasonal beer on most of the time and they're, more often than not, in excellent shape. The bar staff have, in my experience, always been friendly, attentive and knowledgeable. The food looked good as well and a quick look at the menu suggestes that they have gone for quality food rather than the cheap and cheerful stuff served up in most of Croydon's other town centre pubs and bars.
The pub also benefits from having the best beer garden in Central Croydon, which boasts an outdoor bar and barbeque for the summer months, although it can get pretty busy in there as a result.
The only real downside was the refurb that took place a couple of years ago. Out went the old, lived in looking furniture and decor and in came some plush chairs and sofas that don't really belong in a Surrey Street Market traders pub.

On 21st January 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2135 recommendations about 2135 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


very wellinformed left this review about The Dog and Bull

I love this gem of a Pub, always a warm welcome, and always great beer. It is an old fashioned market pub, the traders in and out all day, great banter and atmosphere make this a must when in Croydon.

On 30th November 2010 - rating: 9
[User has posted 30 recommendations about 19 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


John Bonser left this review about The Dog and Bull

Visited in May 2010

The Dog and Bull is an excellent, traditional Youngs pub, situated in the heart of Croydon's Surrey Street Market. It's a Grade 2 listed building.

There's a central island bar surrounded by a mixture of seating and wood panelled walls with an additional drinking area at the back and in an extension on the right, which, although you wouldn't know it, was a later addition to the pub. The walls are decorated with a fine collection of evocative photos of old Croydon. Pleasingly, the framed pictures of the Queen Mother and Prince Charles, which used to be a feature of all Youngs pubs, are still very much in evidence. Splendid stained and frosted windows depicting the eponymous dog and bull are also a feature.

Unusually for central Croydon, there's a large outside sun trap garden at the back where summer BBQ's are held. An upstairs room has been brought into use as a function room, which I don't recollect noticing on earlier visits. There's now a Comedy Night on the first Tuesday of every month.

On my May visit, beers on were Youngs Special, Ordinary, London Gold plus Hooky Bitter, a guest beer sometimes seen in Youngs pubs nowadays. The Ordinary - £ 2.90p - was reasonable. The pub has been a CAMRA Good Beer Guide regular in recent years.

A recent refurbishment has seen the introduction of some plush seating and banquettes in place of some of the old basic furniture. In contrast to some earlier reviewers, I think that, unusually for Youngs, it is quite tastefully done and is probably a recognition that the pub needed to make more effort to extend its customer base beyond just market traders and customers.

Decent pubs are few and far between in Croydon. This is still one of the ones worth seeking out

On 20th October 2010 - rating: 7
[User has posted 560 recommendations about 560 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Clive Thompson left this review about The Dog and Bull

Fantastic Youngs house that is difficult to fault. There was a nice quiet easy going atmosphere when I visited and a friendly vibe from both customers and staff. There is a main bar and small seating areas both to the right and at the back. Look out for the decorative stained glass on the front windows featuring, unsurprisingly, dogs and bulls. The beer was in good condition and the Special was £2.80 which I though was reasonable by comparison. The hidden gem with this place is the beer garden out the back. It should perhaps be termed a beer patio as it is paved rather than grassed however there's plenty of foliage, flowerbed features and plant pots around to give it a garden feel. It's a large area with more than 20 wooden benches, some basking in the sun and others with umbrellas for those who like a bit of shade. It also has a purpose built BBQ area. A great Summer pub.

On 10th May 2009 - rating: 9
[User has posted 700 recommendations about 649 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Nick Davies left this review about The Dog and Bull

One of the greats. Keep using it, the current Young's management will kill it with ruthless efficiency if you don't.

On 24th January 2008 - rating: 9
[User has posted 421 recommendations about 413 pubs]

Page: 1 2