User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Pub Of The Month - November 2021 with Spinko on the Pub Forum

The Phoenix, Bank, EC2

26 Throgmorton Street
City of London
EC2
EC2N 2AN
Phone: 02075887289

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Metropolitan Pub Co (Greene King)

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Graham Coombs left this review about The Phoenix

A high-ceilinged city pub in former bank premises with large windows but a rather gloomy green paint scheme. A fair range of beers though, with Truman's Swift, Twickenham Grandstand, By the Horns Giggle Mug, GK IPA and a house badged bitter. Craft beers also available.

On 27th February 2019 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2465 recommendations about 2410 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about The Phoenix

As AL would say a decent pub with decent beer.Large open plan but quiet tonight.Lots of brown wood and table lamps.Beers from Hopstuff,Southwark and GK.

On 22nd July 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 940 recommendations about 927 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Phoenix

Located roughly midway between Bank and Liverpool Street stations, the Phoenix is a huge open plan drinking barn that also happens to offer a decent selection of ales and craft beers. The pub comprises a huge single room in a T-shaped layout with dark floorboards throughout and some nice checkered floor tiling around the servery which runs down the left hand wall. The bar has a dark wood counter and ghastly metal framed bar back that someone presumably thought looked trendy, topped with blackboards listing the wine list and sharing platter menu plus a few old kegs. High tables and stools fill the centre part of the pub which is broken in places by a few pillars. Meanwhile, a raised seating area to the right offers standard tables and chairs under a large display of black and white photos of London plus a couple of TV screens showing muted live football. Banquettes run along the rear wall, where the room expands into recesses at either end - the left hand side being particularly pleasant, offering comfy seating under more London themed photos and a couple more TV screens. Everything has been painted in rather dull neutral shades, with only a few bits of patterned wallpaper and some small painted flower murals offering respite from the blandness. There are exposed ventilation ducts, pipes, wires and so on running around the ceiling in sharp contrast to the fancy chandeliers that someone thought would look good suspended from this mess. Loud music was pumping through the sound system throughout my visit to no great effect and there was a good mid-week post-work crowd in, although a pub-like atmosphere was still lacking.
Some relief was provided by the ale range, which comprised XT2, 8 Sail Blonde, Saltaire Sir Titus, Sambrooks Wandle, Greene King IPA and a house beer called Broad Street Brew. Keg beers came from Trumans, Meantime, Camden and other more exotic breweries that I couldn't identify. I gave the 8 Sail Blonde a try for £4.40 a pint and it was in pretty good shape - perhaps an indication of how this bar came to be in the 2017 Good Beer Guide. In amongst the disappointment, the barmaid that served me was very pleasant and friendly and service was generally prompt and unfussy, ensuring no queues at the bar.
This place put me in mind of the sort of all purpose student drinking venues I used to frequent in the mid to late 90's, which makes you wonder what purpose this place has in the 21st Century. I'd be happy enough to pop in for a quick pint in passing if there was something interesting on the bar, but there is little here to hold the attention and you can find better options in the surrounding area.

On 20th June 2017 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2630 recommendations about 2630 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john mcgraw left this review about The Phoenix

Large open plan pub that does not have a lot going for it. 4 real ales on with the Truman's Runner being in fair form and at 4.05 a pint is about the going rate for the City. I wont be back to this one.

On 7th January 2015 - rating: 4
[User has posted 2044 recommendations about 2025 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Phoenix

This is a large bland Greene King Pub with the usual ales and Peroni, like a couple of other pubs I have been into in this area. I spotted two plasma screens, but I saw no sport advertisements.

I will make a point of saying that the barman was extremely friendly, but this place isn't for me.

On 29th September 2009 - rating: 4
[User has posted 3599 recommendations about 3579 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about

Large Green King establishment sitting at the junction of Old Broad Street with Throgmorton Street with entrances from both sides.
Fairly modern décor and the large glass windows make it quite light and because of its size plenty of places to sit.
Wasn't overly busy when I visited , so got served without problem. Fairly standard GK ale offering and although the Moorlands Original was very nice there was nothing here that would pull me in again if I was passing on way to one of the better ale establishments in the City.

On 30th May 2009 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1770 recommendations about 1714 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Phoenix

If you go here expecting a larger-than-normal but otherwise nothing special Greene King City pub then you won't be disappointed. However, thankfully had Tanners Jack on which made a change from IPA or Abbot.

On 8th May 2008 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6612 recommendations about 6612 pubs]