User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Summer 2018 crawl with Real Ale Ray on the Pub Forum

The Lord Aberconway, Liverpool Street, EC2

73 Old Broad Street
EC2
EC2M 1QS
Phone: 02079291743

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Nicholsons (Mitchells & Butlers)

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tris C left this review about The Lord Aberconway

I have a hunch that this place is a relatively modern conversion, designed to have a High Victorian appearance with its dark wood, impressive bar back, high ceiling and mezzanine, all in the typical Nicholson's style with conventional furniture, naturally.
Music played though it was far too loud and the games machine looked unappealing.
Ales: Nicholson's Bitter, Fuller's London Pride, Triple F's Pressed Rat & Warthog and California Common at £2.05 a half and OK.
This place isn't great, probably due to its proximity to Liverpool Street Station but it's a lot better than the Railway at the end of the road.

On 25th August 2016 - rating: 4
[User has posted 811 recommendations about 797 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The Lord Aberconway

Quite a small Nicholson's pub with a mezzanine level. 6 real ales and food served.

On 30th October 2015 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2418 recommendations about 2368 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Lord Aberconway

A small L shaped interior to this Nicholson's with a fine wooden bar back,leather bound banquettes and two private drinking booths to one side.The wooden floor and the large mirrors add character.The upstairs gallery is now marked as for diners only,there is a fine view of the interior from up there.The place does have some character and is comfortable when not too busy.There are six handpumps with regular ales London Pride ,Doom Bar and Nicholsons Pale Ale while the three guests on my trip were all Xmas specials Brains I Sea Santa,Adnams Rudolf Nose Best and Harviestoun Sleigh Rider (£3.80,decent enough )
One of the better drinking establishments around Liverpool Street,I would pop in again for a quick one.

On 8th December 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1700 recommendations about 1700 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Lord Aberconway

Smallish Nicholsons, previously known as the Metropolitan Railway's 'Refreshment Rooms' / 'Railway Buffet'. Well known for its booths, but not many other tables at ground-floor level in the 'L'-shaped bar. Additional seating on the mezzanine. Six handpumps offering usual suspects like Pride, Doom Bar and Tribute plus guests such as Vale Black Beauty, Titanic Centenary and Rudgate Ruby Mild (£3.40). Overall, not a bad spot given how close it is to a main-line station.

On 16th June 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 4769 recommendations about 4769 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


John Bonser left this review about The Lord Aberconway

A stone's throw away from Liverpool Street Station and Bishopsgate, is The Lord Aberconway, a Nicholson's pub that forms part of their "Classic Pubs" chain.

Those who are familiar with the Nicholson's brand will know what to expect here - a largely reconstructed traditional pub interior featuring bare boards, much wood panelling, a high ceiling and some ornate woodwork. Of particular note in The Lord Aberconway is a pleasant, more comfortable upstairs mezzanine bar and, on the ground floor, some railway carriage style drinking booths that afford a degree of privacy so often overlooked by big pub chains nowadays. Seating is the usual mixture of stools and more comfortable leather banquettes.

The normal Nicholson's framed information panel tells us that the pub was rebuilt in the 19th Century and was named after the last chairman of the old Metropolitan Railway. Memorabilia - framed posters, pictures etc - inside the pub is disappointingly limited. The monument to the Great Fire of London is close by and it is alleged that the pub is haunted by spirits of victims of the fire.

It's not a particularly large pub, but the crush can be partly avoided by drinking on the narrow pavement outside, although given its narrowness and the volume of people passing by, I'm surprised that this is allowed. I would imagine that the pub can be uncomfortably busy towards the latter part of the week.

Beers on were TT Landlord, Fullers London Pride and Summer Ale, Sharps Doom Bar and Black Sheep's Golden Sheep. Guest beer of the week was Leeds Brewery's Midnight Bell, a strongish tasty dark mild which tasted very moreish - £ 2.95p. Somewhat surprisingly, hardly anyone else seemed to be drinking it on my recent early evening visit.

This isn't a must visit pub by any stretch of the imagination, but I'd be more than happy to drop in again when next in the area.

On 7th October 2010 - rating: 7
[User has posted 560 recommendations about 560 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Lord Aberconway

This is a dark pub with some nice booths and a balcony area overlooking the bar. There is a leather bound plasma screen up on the wall, but I wouldn't have thought that this place has Sky Sports.

Pride, Seafarers, Landlord and Brewhog's The Physics were available during my visit alongside Staropramen and Amstel, but I opted for the Guinness from the standard draught selection which was well served.

This is an OK for a pint or two

On 29th September 2009 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3308 recommendations about 3288 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about The Lord Aberconway

Have utilised The Lord Aberconway for an evening beer when emerging from Liverpool Street station of an evening as it is situated on Old Broad Street just across the road from the station.
The name is a reference to the last chairman of the Metropolitan Railway, and has a bit of a Victorian character to it which becomes evident when you adjust your eyes to the fairly dark interior, although I’m not sure how much of it is genuine.
I particularly like the few small covered booths in the ground floor bar which, if you are lucky enough to be able to occupy one, is like your own personal space in which to enjoy a beer whilst the hustle and bustle of the city carries on outside your small alcove.
The beers on my visits have been GK IPA and Abbot, TT Landlord and Fullers London Pride, so unfortunately nothing special, but the Landlord and Pride have been well kept and served well. And I have been served quickly, which is always a bonus for this part of town.
So in conclusion, although I cannot comment on what it’s like at a lunchtime or what the grubs like, in my experience it’s a solid pub for a decent evening pint within close proximity of Liverpool Street Station...

On 30th May 2009 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1475 recommendations about 1427 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


andrew parr left this review about The Lord Aberconway

Nice old pub near Liverpool street stn.Very good beer and a lot cheaper than the Railway next door

On 28th March 2009 - rating: 10
[User has posted 105 recommendations about 100 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john mcgraw left this review about The Lord Aberconway

Medium sized single pub with a couple of booths and upstairs gallery. has 4 real ales on tap but unfortunately on my visit the Landlord beer was in pretty poor condition. Does a vast range of sausages. just around the corner from Liverpool St station

On 2nd October 2007 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2041 recommendations about 2021 pubs]