User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Crèche? with Spinko on the Pub Forum

The Beer House, Manchester

57 Manchester Road
Chorlton cum Hardy
Postal town: Manchester
M21 9PW

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Beer House

Beer house is a small bar with seating at the front and rear separated by a bar on the right hand wall that faces an exposed brick chimney breast and fireplace on the left hand wall. At the end of the bar is a table that is piled high with board games and there was some low background music playing to the half full bar on a recent midweek evening. There are two television screens, one was off and the other was displaying the available beers. The local cask from Manchester and Salford were Manchester Bitter and Pint from Marble Beers, Dr Worm and Cruffatin from Pomona Island, and Citra in Your Heart from Cloudwater. One of the seven handpumps was unused so the final cask was Palteau from Burning Sky, which is from up the road from me in Firle, East Sussex. There were also six keg products on, four craft, Paulener and Guinness. I went for half a Cloudwater Helles which was priced at £6 a pint. The service was polite and I quite liked the atmosphere so I would return.

On 28th September 2022 - rating: 7
[User has posted 5129 recommendations about 5098 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about The Beer House

Decent enough micro - with seating outside the front on the main road.

Knowledgeable bar man asked me what i liked and made a recommendation - Salt Brewery Yarn - which was lovely.

Would come again.

On 28th July 2022 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1315 recommendations about 1301 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rob Hunter left this review about Beer House

This is now just the Beer House, yet despite no longer being a Marble bar their beers were still present with three of the eight hand pulls offering Marble beers. A further two were from Ilkley, one was off, and I didn't make a note of the rest. Cask prices were ranging between £3.40 and £4.30 a pint.

Another busy Chorlton bar, but it had the benefit of being a bit bigger as it must go further back than some other places on this road. It was standing room only but we managed to find a loitering spot at the end of the bar where we did not feel conspicuous.

At the time of my visit the barman seemed pretty miserable, so service could have been better.

On 19th February 2020 - rating: 7
[User has posted 750 recommendations about 598 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about The Marble Beer House

A nice enough bar rather than pub. A small thin place with several Marble ales on. The place is bare bricked at the rear and wood panelled and plastered at the front. A glass cabinet to your left on entering has a collection of bottled beers. Its another bar rather than pub place but its not too bad.

On 14th April 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3487 recommendations about 3390 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Marble Beer House

One of many cafe bars in Chorlton, this is tied to the Marble Brewery (obvs). Beer posters on the wall, standard seating, good beer choice and quality.

On 1st March 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1451 recommendations about 1429 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Marble Beer House

This is another wooden floored shop conversion but has a slightly more pubby feel than the others around here and although still expensive not quite as outrageously as others.
The bar has seven hand pumps of which one was unused and the rest had Marble Ginger, Lagonda IPA, Pint and Bitter, Buxton SPA and Ilkley Siberia. I went for the Lagonda IPA which was outstanding but pricey at £3.75.
This wasn't too bad a place but if they are charging prices like this in the Marble Arch a pub I've been to a couple of times before, I won't be going back there again and I can't see me returning here either.

On 24th June 2015 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about The Marble Beer House

Yet another cracking little bar in Chorlton. A narrow frontage with a small outside veranda. Inside the bar goes back quite a way. There are a couple of large tables as you enter, a few bars stools at the bar and a couple more tables towards the rear and that's it. There's bare brickwork, wood panelling, books by the yard and some interesting artwork around the walls. 7 handpunps on the bar, which on my visit were serving 5 changing Marble beers and 2 changing guests. I had a pint of Bollington Long Hop which was in excellent condition and settled down at the bar to listen to some very funny but not very PC comments from a group of 3 regulars at the end of the bar. For some reason this pub does not feature in the CAMRA GBG2013, I think it should be in there.

On 24th March 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3200 recommendations about 3111 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Mat Nichol left this review about The Marble Beer House

Their own beer and several guest ales, this is a beer Oasis in South Manchester.

On 1st December 2006 - rating: 10
[User has posted 115 recommendations about 115 pubs]