User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Random news of the day with sheffield hatter on the Pub Forum

Peveril of the Peak, Manchester

127 Great Bridgewater Street
Manchester
M1 5JQ

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2 3

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 9 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Steve C left this review about Peveril of the Peak

The impressive tiling on the exterior of Peveril of the Peak makes it impossible to walk past without popping in for a pint. It looks out of place in amongst the large surrounding buildings and as I approached I thought of the film “Batteries Not Included”. There is a corridor that runs through the pub connecting the left and right entrances. Coming in from the left entrance, the curved bar is accessed through a glass panelled door to the right. To the left is a seating room that was packed with fiddlers and their adoring fans. Further along the corridor is a serving hatch on the right at the rear of the bar and on the left is another room, which was empty with hardly any furniture as it had been moved into the fiddler’s room.
The bar area is very cosy, but they’ve still managed to shoehorn in table football. The bar supports four handpumps that were drawing Timothy Taylor’s Landlord, Titanic Plum Porter, Brightside Brewery’s Mancunian Blonde and Milestone Brewery’s Lindum Pale Ale. A standard draught selection is also available. I found the service to be very friendly and the pub is a must visit.

On 15th February 2022 - rating: 9
[User has posted 3948 recommendations about 3925 pubs]


Brainy Pool left this review about Peveril of the Peak

absolutely lovely traditional multi roomed pub, why have I not been here before? very authentic, just a few locals in the bar on a Monday afternoon but plenty of banter going around. Brightside Mancunian and Titanic Plum Porter were the two real ales. the Jukebox was silent and I’m not convinced it is functional, but table football is up and running again in the bar. A museum piece.

On 13th September 2021 - rating: 10
[User has posted 907 recommendations about 880 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rob Hunter left this review about Peveril of the Peak

Visited yesterday (Tuesday lunch time). Separate entrance and exit, you are asked to add your name, contact number and time of visit to a notepad on the bar. Other than that all seemed as normal, four hand pulls for cask and all were on. You are free to sit inside or outside as normal. Some of the banquette seating in the main bar appeared to be taped off to allow for social distancing. My pint of Brightside The Mancunian was spot on.

On 19th August 2020 - rating: 8
[User has posted 678 recommendations about 560 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rob Hunter left this review about Peveril of the Peak

Visited mid week. Four hand pulls at the bar with one of those being off. My Millstone Tiger Rut was fine. Lovely traditional multi roomed pub with striking tiling externally. Normally this would be a 7/10 pub for me but the traditional unspoilt feel of the pub earns it an extra point in my book - well worth an 8/10 from me.

On 31st January 2020 - rating: 8
[User has posted 678 recommendations about 560 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about Peveril of the Peak

Appears to be keeping to the published opening hours - which is great news for beer tourists.

Must visit pub in a great City. Can combine with other gems, like the Britons Protection and the Temple Bar which also shouldn't be missed.

Grade II listed, C19th Century, exterior and interior tiling. Central bar with wood partitioned bar and a lounge in a separate room.

Great juke box music (Smith and New Order adding to the sense of place), friendly locals and other tourists that can't quite believe their luck to be drinking in a living museum. Superb. Authentic.

Timothy Taylor one of three hand pulls. Great condition.

On 4th February 2019 - rating: 10
[User has posted 989 recommendations about 981 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about Peveril of the Peak

This was my third attempt to actually get inside this Manchester institution having been thwarted by the pubs erratic weekend opening hours on previous visits and have had to satisfy myself with just enjoying the classic exterior tiling. I understand they have relaxed the weekend opening in recent years but this time I was taking no chances and had it as the penultimate evening stop on the recent Pubs Galore crawl.
Internally it did not disappoint in a couple of ways. Firstly, the wonderful preserved interior has been well described below and I did take the advice to take a good look at all separate rooms and the interesting drinking corridor all served from the island bar and parked myself in the side snug with the historic bell pushes and Victorian fireplace. Secondly the beer choice did not disappoint and any pub that has Titanic Plum Porter and TT Landlord as house beers is OK by me. And these were complemented by Millstone Tiger Rut and Brightside The Mancunian for our recent visit.
This is an iconic pub and they don’t make them like this anymore..

On 24th October 2018 - rating: 9
[User has posted 1845 recommendations about 1781 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about Peveril of the Peak

A beautifully tiled pub on the exterior and reassuringly traditional inside, as BF mentions below, the Brightside Mancunian was in good nick.
A must visit pub when in Manchester.

On 24th October 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1582 recommendations about 1563 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about Peveril of the Peak

A flat iron shaped pub with classic exterior tiling and a wonderful preserved interior ,it's worth drifting around and enjoying the original features.A number of seperate rooms and a drinking corridor are served from the island bar,the public bar has a table football,while a back bar has pool and darts.The woodwork is noteworthy.A side snug with bell pushes has a good victorian fireplace.
Four ales were on during my trip Brightside The Mancunian (very good),Millstone Tiger Rut,Timothy Taylor Landlord and Titanic Plum Porter which was a better selection than I was expecting.If you are keen on iconic pub interiors this is a must visit.

On 14th October 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2383 recommendations about 2383 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about Peveril of the Peak

A nice looking little pub. Well described elsewhere. Sadly the interior, though interesting, is a bit downtrodden and could do with a bit of attention. There were only 3 beers available on my visit but the pub is worth seeking out anyway. I liked it.

On 17th March 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3453 recommendations about 3359 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about Peveril of the Peak

One of Britain’s most iconic pub exteriors, this striking green and yellow glazed triangular pub is a survivor in an area undergoing a fair bit of change. The pub is named after a horse-drawn coach that used to run from Manchester to London through the Peak District, taking 23 hours. The interior is also of heritage importance - three rooms in total; a public bar with the original (and ludicrously rare) version of table football from the 1950s, a games room with pool and darts, a drinking corridor and a rear lounge with bell-pushes. There is plenty of lovely dark wood and oodles of art nouveau stained glass on display. However there does seem to be an air of shabbiness with some TLC required in places, particularly the rear lounge where the padded bench seating was one of the most uncomfortable my rump has ever encountered. Four ales on - Brightside Odin (fine) and Titanic Plum Porter (fine), TT Landlord and one from Seven Brothers. Deathly quiet on our Tuesday lunchtime visit - only one other customer and a bored barman. Though given the amount of offices nearby I would assume it gets much busier after work. It’s a definite must-visit if you’ve never been, but just falls short of being essential. A few quid in the right places would make it so. 8.5

On 1st February 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 4423 recommendations about 4408 pubs]

Page: 1 2 3