User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Favourite Bands with Al Bundy on the Pub Forum

Lendal Cellars, York Central, York

26 Lendal
York
YO1 8AA

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Greene King
Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Old Boots left this review about Lendal Cellars

Strangely my first visit here, perhaps the ownership put me off but only one of the six cask beers was from the Suffolk sludge meisters. As people have said before it’s brick cellars supposedly from a medieval monastery but with thin Tudor bricks forming arches. I went up to the counter directly in front when entering, I could hear staff but no other sign of life, traipsing round to the adjacent arch the four of them were having a good old chinwag. A nice greeting and immediate service improved things no end only to be let down by a dirty glass with various lumps of pony stuck on it. A bit pricey at £4.10 a pint for a 4% IPA but it wasn’t in bad nick. Sadly I missed out on the 10% Camra discount.

On 11th January 2020 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2258 recommendations about 2098 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about Lendal Cellars

The rest of my group had thought this place had closed, owing to the preponderance of Jamie Oliver signs in the entrance. Happily I prevailed and we went down the steps to the bar. Decent enough choice of real ales on the right hand bar. This one is now back on the list!

On 26th January 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1672 recommendations about 1670 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alex Conway left this review about Lendal Cellars

Located down some stairs is the Lendal Cellars off St Helens Square. A former cellar this is now a Greene king pub. Due to the recent floods there is a very notable damp smell throughout the whole building that while not their fault is rather off putting and i would not like to eat in this environment.

The pub is on two levels, the first level that id down a set of stairs which houses the main bar which is separated in half because of a half supporting wall and a long narrow dining area with many tables and chair with some bench seating that is also used for drinkers.

The cask ales are all now located on the right hand bar as you enter, an improvement seeing as before you had to make your way round to both bars as each had different beers. There are eight hand pumps whcih on my visit were dispensing a very bland selection of Greene king IPA, Old speckeled hen,, Greene king purple rain celebration ale and a house beer called lendal butter. there was also iold rose cider and Hogsback TEA (£3.50) that was nicely kept put a bit on the sweet side for me with a further two pumps vacant of any clip. task with this limited lineup i opted for the lendal bitter, a 3.8% malty brown bitter costing £3.30 that did little to excited but did not insult to the degree their IPA would have done.

Aside from the smell issues I do not really take to this place, its a bit stuffy, there beer selection comes from a crap brewery and there are many better places near by with far superior in every way. basically everything you come to expect from a Greene king pub here, not terrible but not really worth a return.

On 12th May 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 447 recommendations about 447 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Blackthorn _ left this review about Lendal Cellars

Tucked away just off St. Helen’s Square, this is, as it’s name suggests, a subterranean bar consisting of three brick lined vaulted tunnels. The two higher level tunnels are broadly similar, with each having a flagstone floor and a bar counter at the end, although only one of these was actually open when we visited. Various arty pictures and wine crate ends were dotted around the walls. The lower level down a few steps to the side is broadly similar but extends much further back and the flooring is mostly wood strip giving it a slightly cosier feel. There were a couple of plasma screens around showing a sports channel, but these were mostly recessed in to alcoves with the volume off, so were not too intrusive.

Despite being a Greene King pub, the beer choice was surprisingly broad and on this occasion consisted of their own IPA, Stoodley Stout, Collingham Journeyman, Treboom Tambourine Man and Collingham Artisans. Ciders too were well represented with Strongbow, Aspall’s Suffolk, Old Rosie and some concoction with wild berries from Rekorderlig.

On 9th April 2015 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1748 recommendations about 1683 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about Lendal Cellars

Tucked away down a wee lane 4 real ales and food served in a multilevel bar

On 6th September 2014 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2692 recommendations about 2636 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


John Bonser left this review about Lendal Cellars

Situated virtually opposite Harkers, on the other side of the road, is the Lendal Cellars, a former Hogshead pub, but now a rare Greene King outlet in this neck of the woods.

Arriving at the front entrance of the pub, down a small slope from street level, we see an information board telling us that the pub stands on the site of an Augustinian friary traced back to the 13th Century.

Inside, the pub is much larger than expected, with a number of interconnecting rooms with low arches and much exposed brickwork, as you'd expect from what were, presumably, at one time, cellars. There's something of that chainy pub feel to it however. Outside is a large seating area around three sides of the pub.

Loudish music means that the pub is evidently trying to appeal to the younger drinker and, on my recent June early evening visit, a few reasonably well behaved hen/stag groups appeared to put down roots for a long stay. Interestingly however, it was advertising itself as a World Cup free zone.

Being a Greene King pub, the beer is not much to write home about. The IPA was not on and, for some unaccountable reason, I went for the Ruddles County - £ 2.65p - in preference to the guest beer from the Warwickshire Beer Co. It wasn't very good at all, but not bad enough that I could justifiably take it back. In retrospect, I can't imagine there's much real ale trade here at all.

Whilst not being a particularly bad example of that genre, this pub is probably more suited to hen/stag parties and the circuit crowd. If you don't come into that category, I'd be inclined to give this one a miss.

On 15th October 2010 - rating: 3
[User has posted 560 recommendations about 560 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about Lendal Cellars

When i went in here i did'nt see all the rooms the Rob did.
I went down the steps and went to the right this room was a lot bigger than i thought it would be there were lots of different drinking areas and the bar was at the back.
There were five real ales on but i thought this might be a GK pub with three of their beers on these were GK Fresh Golden Ale which was quite nice there was also Abbot and IPA with the guest beers being Irish Whiskey Ale and Brains Bread of Heaven.
The pub seemed quite dark inside as it was undeground and it was very popular with familys.

On 8th October 2010 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about Lendal Cellars

Huge cellar bar that is effectively 3 stories. There is a large courtyard drinking area as you enter which is partially covered and also partially non smoking. Down a few steps and you are in the bar area. Down a few more steps on the left and you are in a very long room with a curved cellar roof. All the area is bare brick and flag floored. The bar is very small and causes real problems getting served at busy times. 4 handpumps on the bar selling GK IPA & Abbot, a real cider (Westons on our visit) and a guest which was Roosters GCB. I had a pint of this which was OK. It was reasonably busy for a Sunday evening, but I have been in here on a Saturday night when it's been rammed. The clientele has tended to be very student based whenever we've been in. I have to say that I don't really like the place as it always smells very strongly of fried food which I find offputting. The other half likes it though, which is why we had to call in again.

On 27th August 2010 - rating: 4
[User has posted 2820 recommendations about 2743 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Terry Algier left this review about Lendal Cellars

Tasty Yorkshire Pudding and equally tasty Real Ales. The venue is impressive as well!

On 26th April 2010 - rating: 9
[User has posted 20 recommendations about 20 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


James Joines left this review about Lendal Cellars

Real Ales available in this vaulted celler.

On 3rd May 2009 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 841 recommendations about 835 pubs]

Page: 1 2