User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Oh dear, self promotion FAIL with Maldenman on the Pub Forum

Craft Beer Co, N1

55 White Lion Street
N1
N1 9PP

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about Craft Beer Co

Proper pub feel - outside and inn. Friendly Bar Staff.

Multiple rooms inside - a bar, a more formal area with leather wing back chairs and a canteen style room with long tables and several posters to the art of brewing.

Unusual Black IPA from Fynes Ales in good condition.

On 14th November 2018 - rating: 6
[User has posted 818 recommendations about 810 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tris C left this review about Craft Beer Co

Until 2012 this was a Greene King outlet called the Lord Wolseley. Now part of the Craft Beer Co. and visited for the first time in September 2016. It's more of a boozer with a focus on interior comforts to a greater extent than any other branch I've visited. There's a part carpeted and part bare boarded floor with high tables and stools at front, traditional furniture to a rear room and a more modern makeover to a smaller room further to the rear. Décor comes in the form of brewery mirrors and period prints to the walls; there's a dartboard and small outside patio. Muted music (the Beatles) played over the stereo and there's also an upright piano. This outlet has 26 keg outlets and 10 cask pumps from which I chose something I can't recall which was very good, coming to about £4.25 which is pretty good value for this area. But...this is the second time I've come here in fairly quick succession and on both visits, conspicuous by their absence, were the ales with a sea of unused pumps or ones with reversed clips, thereafter a choice of just three; I don't know what's going on here or if this is happening at all their branches.
This place is light years better than the Joker of Penton Street around the corner, however it's a pity this company insists on expunging traditional pub names with its corporate branding.

On 30th June 2018 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1166 recommendations about 1145 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about Craft Beer Co

Very good pub with a good selection of ales - I had an IPA @ 5.5%. Also Radiohead on in the background. Would definitely revisit this one.

On 19th January 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1693 recommendations about 1691 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about Craft Beer Co

Nicely laid out with high tables/benches to window and a more traditional area to the right.

Dark green walls, old signage & curtains.

Blues style music in background.

All very relaxed and comfortable with good beer

On 21st November 2016 - rating: 9
[User has posted 1287 recommendations about 1265 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Craft Beer Co

Another worthy nine for this pub, their beer were excellent, the staff were very friendly and helpful and the pub also had a good traditional London pub atmosphere. Our beer choice was a superb Blue Monkey Brewery Simian Summer and a nearly as good, Clerkenwell Pale, brewed by Kent Brewery for the Craft Beer Co.

On 12th August 2016 - rating: 9
[User has posted 3012 recommendations about 3012 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about Craft Beer Co

This is the most pubby of this excellent chain that I have visited so far.The wooden floored area around the L shaped bar allows vertical drinking but also has some seating by the window while the raised side lounge has a rich red carpet,mixture of trad furniture,elegant drapes and framed prints on the wood panelled walls.Beyond this is a windowless snug with more trad furniture.The overall affect is relaxing and pleasing and given it's distance away from the main Angel drag,it is a comfortable place to spend an evening despite being constantly busy on my Friday evening visit.
The star of the show is the ale and keg range.The 10 handpumps were showcasing Blue Money (Infinity +1,99 Red Baboons,Right Turn Clyde,Guerilla,Sanctuary) and Anarchy (Strait Jacket,Crime Scene,Anti Venom,Blonde Star) together with Kent Brewery Clerkenwell Pale.Everything sampled was on top form.There are also 9 regular craft beers with 15 guests for keg fans together with a long bottled list.Food is from Forty Burgers and there is an outside beer garden.
Less hectic than some bars in the chain,it's on the list for a revisit after this memorable Blue Monkey frenzy !

On 30th November 2015 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2175 recommendations about 2175 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Craft Beer Co

Compact, multi-room bar with a traditional look but modern feel. Great range of choice from ten handpumps (including Tiny Rebel Beat Box at £3.85) and numerous keg taps. Only had time for a flying visit, but will certainly be back...

On 26th September 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6546 recommendations about 6546 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about The Craft Beer Co.

I must admit to having been a little nervous about coming here. There's something a little aggressive about Craft Beer Co as the name of a pub - not as in-your-face as BrewDog, perhaps, so maybe it's the word-association with that other innovative beer company that was putting me off. In fact, I needn't have been so neurotic - this is just a pub, after all, and the surroundings were typical and accommodating, and the barman welcoming, friendly and knowledgeable without being an opinionated show off, which can be a hard act to pull off.

Others have described the pub well, so I'll just say that I was steered in the direction of a beer that was designed to obliterate the bad half of London Pride I'd just consumed in 'Round Midnight, so I came away a very satisfied customer. (It was one of three Redemption beers on the bar, by the way, a brewery that has gone up in my estimation recently. Others of the eight beers available were neither recognised nor remembered, though I do recall my guffaw at the description of one as a "hoppy brown ale".) Will defo, as another of our reviewers would say, be back.

On 3rd September 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2727 recommendations about 2567 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Craft Beer Co.

Another addition to the popular Craft Beer Co empire and, as others have mentioned, this one has perhaps a ‘pubbier’ feel to it than the other London outlets. The place has a three room layout with the servery along the back wall of the left hand room. High tables and stools run under the front windows opposite the bar and an upright piano can be found here with a few board games stacked on top of it. A door leads out to a beer garden, which given the terrible weather on my visit, remained unvisited by me. The room to the right has dark walls adorned with a few old paintings, pictures and bar billiards mementoes and is filled with standard table and chair arrangements. In many ways, this is the nicest spot to grab a seat, although I quite enjoyed relaxing in the small, bare brick rear room with standard and low stool seating and a couple of button backed armchairs. Large canvas prints showing elements of the brewing process cover the walls. Weird music played throughout my stay, but it was low enough to only be noticeable in the quiet back room.
A typically long row of hand pumps faced me on arrival offering three beers from the Cairngorm Brewery, two from Siren (including a collaboration with Evil Twin), one from Weird Beard, the house ale from the Kent Brewery and an excellent pint of Fyne Rune which slipped down nicely. The usual vast array of craft keg and bottled offerings applied and a pricey menu is available as always to help you decide how to most efficiently empty your wallet. The barman who served me was very friendly and notably less snobby when helping people decide what they should pick than in other craft beer venues.
I certainly agree that this has more of a pub feel to it than the other London outlets and that it benefits greatly in terms of general ambiance and comfort. An excellent addition to the chain and although I marginally prefer the Leather Lane branch, I hope that future policy will see new branches follow in the same vein as this place.

On 1st September 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2607 recommendations about 2607 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Craft Beer Co.

I didn't see the beer list on the tables (possibly not yet put out as we were in at just after noon on Friday) but judging by Maldenman's experience I think I can safely say that I would have found no practical use for it. The ales here are still priced by ABV level, with the price list clearly displayed on the bar counter, which is an unusual but highly welcome thing to do. Of the ten pumps "only" eight were in use, with a range of different ale styles thus providing something for everyone. I didn't see a menu but there were pork pies on the bar counter, for about £4 a go as I recall.

The pub is as described earlier, with the bar counter is in the main room as you enter. The pub has clearly been extended into the house on the right at some stage, which has provided the two further on the right. There is a bit of outside seating in the alley to the left of the pub.

I rate this pub very highly. It has provided a comfortable setting without completely destroying the original feel of a pub. Eight (and sometimes ten presumably) ales with none from the mainstream brewers is a definite plus as well. I will certainly be back here.

On 3rd June 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2583 recommendations about 2499 pubs]

Page: 1 2