User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
pubs galore bar with london calling on the Pub Forum

The Islington Town House, N1

13 Liverpool Road
N1
N1 0RW

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about The Islington Town House

Corner pub with a single downstairs room and some uninvestigated upstairs seating. I'm not sure of the image they were trying to project with exposed industrial ducting snaking around the ceiling and then an attempt at quirkyness with milk churn stools and fork handle handpumps, the three of these offered up just Doom Bar with the promise of Landlord coming soon. I settled for a half of Camden Hells on keg at pocket teasing £3.00. Not likely to return.

On 26th June 2019 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1354 recommendations about 1340 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about The Islington Town House

Poor quality real ale - won't be returning.

On 19th January 2017 - rating: 3
[User has posted 1673 recommendations about 1671 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Islington Town House

An attractive and prepossessing building on a junction next to the entrance to the marketplace. Inside the interior has inevitably succumbed to modish modernisation but in fairness is pretty tastefully done. Original floorboards have been sanded, stained and varnished, the colour scheme is a muted olive grey colour and there are attractive fabric banquettes spanning one side of the room. Craft beer is the big buzz here, with a wall dispensing six from Goose Island, Beavertown and a couple of lesser lights at hilariously inflated prices (£6.40 for a pint of 4.5% Shoreditch Blonde, anyone?). Three cask pumps (or, more accurately, spade handles) with just a single one on, Truman's Swift. My half was a surprisingly cheap at £1.85 although the barmaid attempted to short change me by the tune of 3 quid from a fiver. When challenged, I was then over-changed by a pound. P45 for her. My eventual half was pretty good. Hipster/Trustafarian/Young professional crowd bar the obviously out of place fearsome-looking local who was snorting away like an aggravated bull, replete with a cuddly staffie. Not too bad, though I suspect its obvious shortcomings would preclude a revisit.

On 25th October 2016 - rating: 5
[User has posted 4042 recommendations about 4030 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tris C left this review about The Islington Town House

All change, and this is now the Islington Town House, 'Islington' written in substantially larger script, suggesting that this will be part of a chain. This pub is now no longer a jazz and blues venue, but a rather formulaic modern venture which ticks all the modern boxes: boarded floor, spot lights and modern lighting, part bare brick and of course, grey paintwork all designed to attract a fashionable young crowd, though there were few customers. The problem of course is that all the pubs around here pretty much look the same.
Furniture is mixed with some high bench seats and milk churns to the bar converted into stools.
Ales: Truman's Swift, Hammerton's N1 and Purity's Mad Goose at £4.20 a pint which was on good form and reasonably priced given the area.
This new pub is already a bit old hat and though far better than the Joker of Penton Street, it's still no match for the Craft Beer Co.

On 14th September 2016 - rating: 5
[User has posted 998 recommendations about 983 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about Round Midnight

The beer range still seems to be Deuchars, Doom Bar and Pride, though only the latter two were available and a "back soon" note adorned the back of the other pump clip. I had a half of London Pride, and was surprised to be charged £2.15 - quite a price hike since the previous review, unless there's a "half surcharge". If I'd bought a pint I can't imagine I'd have finished it, because this was pretty poor stuff, and even allowing for the beer being nothing like as good as it used to be, some blame must attach to the cellarman and bar staff.

As a concept, a jazz and blues bar is something I welcome, as I can enjoy most performers of either genre, and the guy who was noodling away on his National Resonator was OK while performing, less good while talking between tunes. But why spoil the idea with badly designed and uncomfortable seating and bland and poorly presented beers at rip off prices?

Best bit of my visit: Bob Newhart's gag about country music which has been graffito'd in the gents toilet. Good enough to get the rating up from what was looking to be a derisory 4.

On 26th August 2013 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2648 recommendations about 2496 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Round Midnight

Dark, part-modernised corner pub, part-'rough and ready' live music venue. Uncrowded in the early evening before anybody came on stage, with quite a relaxed feeling and some well-chosen blues in the background. Pleasantly surprised to find three real ales on handpump - Doom Bar, Deuchars IPA and Pride (£3.50).

On 2nd April 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6199 recommendations about 6199 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Roger Button left this review about Round Midnight

As the Agricultural, this wasn’t a pub that I used particularly regularly when I workd in the area. Whilst there was never anything particularly wrong with it, it was always a bland and uninteresting pub with better options nearby. I was nevertheless quite shocked when I first noted its new incarnation as a blues and jazz bar.

The bar is still in the same place albeit with a neon strip around the edge giving the place a bit of kitsch value. A couple of acoustic guitars span the wall behind and Jimi Hendrix peers over from one side. There is now a decent size stage at the pointy end of the pub with a good rota of blues and jazz artists on an almost nightly basis with many events being free admission.

The seating is a bit of a problem with the built in leather seating opposite the door being particularly lumpy and even the most hardened posteriors may find an evening’s band watching a bit hard going for the rear end. In front of the stage are some cube pouffes that aren’t exactly built for an evenings comfort either.

On the beer front, the 3 pumps dispensed Deuchars, Pride and Doom Bar, the former at £3.35 is a bit pricey but I suppose if you are getting the entertainment thrown in for nothing, then it works out at good value across the evening if you can catch a decent act. Food seems to be limited to arrange of 12” pizzas priced between £8 and £11.

It isn’t generally my kind of place as far as pubs go but such pub venues are few and far between and it is certainly a more interesting place than it ever was. I certainly wouldn’t mind experiencing a decent music session in here, as long as I can find a comfy seat.

On 22nd December 2010 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1238 recommendations about 1232 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about Round Midnight

This place used to be called The Agricultural, but it is now known as Round Midnight and it is a jazz and blues bar. There is a stage area to the right of the entrance that was set up ready for some live music that hadn’t yet started when I visited at around 20:00 on Saturday evening. It is a single room establishment that I imagine gets very sweaty later in there evening so hopefully the bouncer on the door is there so that not too many people pack the place out. I found the staff to be friendly and along with an extensive cocktail menu there is a range of standard draught products and although one hand pump was unused Deuchars and Pride were both available.

I’m not a big jazz and blues fan so I won’t be rushing back, but I would recommend to those who enjoy this genre of music as it is a relaxed and welcoming place.

On 12th October 2010 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3586 recommendations about 3565 pubs]