User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Virtual Great British Beer Festival 2020 with Komakino on the Pub Forum

Canalhouse, Nottingham

48-52 Canal Street
Nottingham
NG1 7EH
Phone: 01159555060

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Delboy 20 left this review about Canalhouse

Well worth a visit here - how often will you see a canal with a barge on inside a pub? Very good choice of beers on with a fair few local ales. Not cheap but it doesn't have to be. The menu looked good and the beers we tried were in good shape. I would definitely call again.

On 18th March 2019 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1052 recommendations about 1013 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alex Conway left this review about Canalhouse

truly unique concept with a working canal with boats in the center of the pub. This is a great find and is one of only a very few places that can cater for a genuine pub lover who wants a slightly livelier experience in an evening without having to resort to a bar. Although this place is still perfect for visiting in the day when things are more relaxed. In the evening moderate music is played at a nice level and a live singer is also usually on and this attracts a nice respectable clientele who are looking for a relaxed social evening. Outside there is a tremendous outside seating area overlooking the canal that is a sun trap and the perfect place to enjoy a beer in the sun .
There are six cask ales available with owners castle rock frequenting the most, they also tend to stock the seasonal castle rock ales more than other castle rock outlets do, along with one two guests. On my visit I enjoyed a pint of gales beachcomber summer ale and this was a lovely pint although a bit more expensive than other castle rock pubs that I put down to the slightly more up market appeal of this pub. There is also a hung range of tap “craft” beers available at their usual obscured prices and the biggest bottle selection in the city, it is impossible to not find a beer you like with the hundreds of choices on offer. A truly great pub that Is a must visit for ale and pub lovers.

On 23rd May 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 452 recommendations about 452 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about Canalhouse

A converted canalside warehouse. A novel feature here is that the inside has 2 canal boats moored in the middle of the pub. The place is a large single room and the servery is accessed by walking over a small bridge over the boats. 9 handpumps but only 6 on. There is an outside area that is glassed over so you can sit on the canalside in most weathers. As its a warehouse its all bare brick and wooden floored.

On 28th April 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3387 recommendations about 3302 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about Canalhouse

Converted warehouse that has the feel of a beer keller, exposed brick & cast iron beams/pillars, subdued red lighting. Pump clips all over the ceiling. The bridge over the canal wharf is a nice touch, couple of boats moored there. Rather warm, as is the beer, but can't help but like it.

On 27th April 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1276 recommendations about 1253 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about Canalhouse

I would suggest that anyone suffering from Coulrophobia avoid the cluster of pubs at this canal location. Every trendy clown in the East Midlands seemed to have converged on these pubs and their surrounds.
I had initially gone in the Fellows pub next door which was also rammed but had a dull beer selection so I left without ordering anything. This place looked like some sort of warehouse conversion and actually has a part of the canal within it. Surely having a stinking old canal in a pub is some sort of health hazard?
It was too busy to get a note of the beers but I spotted a Boss Brave which I had tried in a Cardiff Spoons a month earlier. I thought the one I tried in Cardiff was just as good if not better. It cost me £3.60 in here including 20p CAMRA discount whereas it was £2.50 in the Cardiff Spoons.
Despite being GBG listed I didn't take to this place, I thought it wws trendy, uncomfortable and expensive. I doubt that I would return.

On 9th July 2015 - rating: 4
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john mcgraw left this review about Canalhouse

Large canal-side pub with part of the canal inside for the mooring of boats with a bridge taking you over from the entrance.A very good selection of Castle Rock beers which were in very good condition.

On 19th June 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2043 recommendations about 2024 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Thuck Phat left this review about Canalhouse

There are plenty of reviews detailing this unique pub below so I'll confine myself to saying that I have never been in a pub within which was moored a narrowboat until now.
The building is magnificent but I'm not convinced that the sofas in the bar make the best use of space or that showing Doctor Who with subtitles on the large screen early on Saturday evening adds to the atmosphere.
Beers on: Castle Rock Harvest Pale, Sheriffs Tipple, Yellow Archangel and Preservation, Flipside Dusty Penny and Purbeck Solar Power. Everything we tried was at best so-so but I'm sure that the location, building and food attracts plenty of custom without having to keep tip top ale. And it is a very good place to enjoy the canal views on a nice day with a beer.
I'd treat it in the same way as Ye Olde Trip to Jerusalem, nip in for one and a look around then head off elsewhere for a decent pint.

On 17th April 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 670 recommendations about 669 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


A B left this review about Canalhouse

Definitely a top 10 Nottingham pub. great venue, great beer (both real ale and foreign bottles) and good food - I recommend the pizzas. its got a nice outdoors area by the canalside for when the sun is out. Had a brilliant pint of Moorhouse Black Cat Mild here.

Good place for a session with the mates or also to take a girl on a date.

On 8th January 2013 - rating: 9
[User has posted 27 recommendations about 26 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about Canalhouse

A Tynemill (aka Castle Rock) pub which has a USP that means it is worthy of a visit, the canal spur that runs into the pub (you cross a footbridge over it at the entrance to the bar) which often has a boat or two moored in it as it is accessible - the boats are not merely decorative. Now that bit’s out of the way, let’s do the rest of the review. The pub is housed in a large converted warehouse on the canal-side. The interior bar is pretty barn-like (a turn-of-the-millennium modern interior conversion) and didn’t do a huge amount for me, I think this is Tynemill’s attempt at attracting the student/city-dweller crowd for late opening. Beer-wise there are half a dozen ales with four from Castle Rock and there’s a big emphasis on bottled beers alongside some premium keg. The beer quality was a mixed bag and the female bar staff were pretty uninspiring on my visit, brusque and clearly preferring to relax than work. Another big selling point of the is the outside ‘garden’ which is a large cobbled wharf-side area packed with seating and covered by a glass roof, an ideal summer’s sun-trap and a great spot to watch the passing boat traffic. The gents, as noted elsewhere, are quite a hike up numerous stairs.

Well-worth the visit for the novelty value or on a summer's day. However I’d be less inclined to do this one over the other two Tynemill pubs in Nottingham on a return visit unless I had plenty of time.

On 18th November 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3997 recommendations about 3985 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about Canalhouse

Can safely say this is the first time I have visited a pub that has had a working boat in the middle of it.
But it works very well as a pub and is good to see a fine Victorian building continue life in this guise.
As other reviewers have mentioned the large internal space has been well utilised, allowing plenty of space for dining and a large area for vertical drinking by the long central serving bar. And a very pleasant outside tabled area by the canal that I would imagine is a great spot on better weather days than the one we had.
Six Castle Rock beers available during our visit and the Screech Owl IPA was well kept. Only slight negative was that the barmaids gave the impression of suffering for their profession, but overall well worth a visit and highly recommended.

On 17th November 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1699 recommendations about 1648 pubs]

Page: 1 2