User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 15th Decenber 2019) with Bucking Fastard on the Pub Forum

The Three-Legged Mare, York Central, York

15 High Petergate
York
YO1 7EN
Phone: 01904638246

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Gill Smith left this review about The Three-Legged Mare

Called in this pub last month and found a good range of cask ales and some keg and ciders. Large room with a conservatory area at the rear, but beware the spiral staircase down to the toilets. A range of York brewery beers but we chose and enjoyed Half Moon That Old Chestnut from the available guests.

On 12th August 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1296 recommendations about 1186 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Three-Legged Mare

Decided to go back to the future and have the same beer as I did in 2009 on my previous visit - a Centurions Ghost - which was in good form. Very little change from previous, I sat in the rear section which housed the most interesting table, an old whisky barrel which contained a selection of papers. Sadly this perch had already been swiped by a local. Noted that taster trays are offered and that there was an excellent selection of foreign bottled beers alongside the eight or so ales. General feel is light and airy, akin to a continental cafe bar than a traditional pub but I think here it works quite well. There’s a red painted as well and I understand it to be tuned and used. I like it here but when it’s quiet, the silence can be a bit off-putting.

May 2009
A York brewery pub which sells their full range (including the unique-to-the-pub Wonkey Donkey) along with two guests. I was only in for a short while whilst Mrs Quinno disappeared off to the nearby shop for an emergency birthday present but was there long enough to appreciate my pint of Centurion's Ghost, polite service by the barmaid and observe a group of American tourists doing a cheese and ale tasting session. The interior is nice (it's a 'quiet' pub, no music or TV) and new without being overly sterile - it was converted from an old shop. There are three knocked-through rooms; front bar, rear section and conservatory beyond. There’s a very small rear garden that’s basically for the smokers. Its proximity to York Minster means it's an essential stop if nearby. Quiz fact: a Three Legged Mare was a form of gallows where three unfortunates could be dispatched in one go. Rated 8

On 3rd May 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3921 recommendations about 3909 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Three-Legged Mare

I popped into the Three Legged Mare on a recent Saturday just after midday when the pub was empty apart from a hen party group that were about to embark on a crawl of York. They were sitting in the front seating area so I found a high table by the bar in the rear. Beyond the bar area is an extension that houses some lounging furniture and a few board games. Out the back is a garden, most of which is out of bounds and the parts that are accessible would only be used by smokers.

The bar supports nine hand pumps and a selection of premium lagers. I didn’t see any food advertised during my lunchtime visit. There are no televisions and I do not recall there being any background music, but there is live music on Sundays from 20:30 and Ali is on the piano from 19:00 until 22:00 on Fridays. The Monday quiz starts at 21:00 and on Thursdays there is open mic from 21:00. Under 18’s are not permitted at any time.

I liked it in here and can imagine a good atmosphere when busy. I will return next time I am in the area.

On 26th April 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3546 recommendations about 3525 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Three-Legged Mare

A long and fairly narrow pub with the bar along a side wall towards the front, the place was shrouded in scaffolding on Saturday morning hence no updated photo. Inside there is a wooden boarded floor, regular seating to the front including a pair of high backed wooden benches then high tables and stools to the rear where the pub opens out a bit more. A partially divided area at the far end has a couple of lantern rooflights then beyond is a scruffy rather unkempt bit of garden up a number of stairs. I had been told of the hanging contraption that gives the pub its name however I couldn't see anything resembling this outside. The pub nickname of The Wonky Donkey has rather less sinister connections I think.
Nine handpumps, I managed the last pint of Arbor Oz I think before it went, it was fine, other beers were Yorkshire Terrier, Guzzler and Centurion's Ghost ale, all from York Brewery, Dark Star Espresso, Arbor Yakima Valley, Burton Bridge XL Mild and Sovereign Gold plus Red Squirrel Legally Blonde. All the York beers are priced at £2.70 on a Sunday.
A small stage contains a small red painted piano, Thursday is open mic night. Monday has a quiz and disputes can be settled by a few reference books on a shelf towards the rear.
Another very good York pub with friendly and knowledgeable staff.

On 30th March 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1685 recommendations about 1662 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Three-Legged Mare

The pub looked tired and scruffy on this visit, so could do with a bit of a spruce up. The staff are very professional in here, as they don't tend to stand in front of you impatiently when choosing a beer. There were three from York brewery and four guest to choose from. I went for the Greenfield Silver Owl, which was top notch. A good pub and always worth visit.

On 12th August 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2915 recommendations about 2915 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The Three-Legged Mare

A York brewery pub 6 real ales on offer during my visit.

On 18th May 2013 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2648 recommendations about 2591 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Three-Legged Mare

This is a narrow but long pub, seemingly a shop conversion, in a good location close to the Minster. The pub takes its name from a type of gallows and I was led to believe that there was a replica of such a contraption in the garden to the rear, but I strained to see it through the rain streaked windows at the back of the pub and failed to spot anything fitting the description. The locals have interpreted the name slightly differently, affectionately referring to it as the ‘Wonky Donkey’! The front of the pub has some standard seating around a number of tables including one constructed from some old barrels. The servery appears midway into the pub along the right hand wall and beyond this there is a conservatory area with a tiled floor and mainly low stool seating. The split level garden can be accessed from here. The walls have been decorated with lots of old brewery mirrors and black and white photos whilst some beer engines have been mounted on the walls of the staircase leading down to the toilets. Whisky and beer bottles line a high ledge and there are some framed cartoons towards the rear of the pub.
The pub is run by the York Brewery and their beers were prominent at the bar, with Guzzler, Ghost Ale, Terrier and England’s Pride available alongside Castle Rock Preservation and Sheriff’s Tipple and Dow Gladiator. I had the Preservation which was in decent condition although not as good as I remember it from the last time I tried it.
This is a nice enough pub that acts as a good showcase from York Brewery beers. I only managed a flying visit, but the beer selection and pleasant surroundings mean that I’d certainly consider a return visit.

On 11th July 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2374 recommendations about 2374 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john mcgraw left this review about The Three-Legged Mare

I have been in this York Brewery pub a few times and although it has a good choice of real ales it doesn't seem to have much of an atmosphere or the feel of a pub.Other than that a good place for real ale.

On 27th April 2012 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2039 recommendations about 2020 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about The Three-Legged Mare

One of our regular haunts whilst in York. We always call in for at least one whenever we're here, usually combined with a visit to the nearby Lamb & Lion. Always a good range of ales from the York Brewery along with a guest or two and always well kept. Open plan pub with a small separate room at the rear. Lots of mix & match seating & tables around the pub along with a piano. Friendly, efficient bar staff as in all 3 of the York Brewery pubs. This pub is known as "The Wonky Donkey" locally. Recommended.

On 4th August 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2762 recommendations about 2689 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


John Bonser left this review about The Three-Legged Mare

Situated close to York Minster, the Three Legged Mare is one of 3 York Brewery pubs in the City Centre.

Externally resembling a shop rather than a traditional pub, the interior is a not unpleasant mix of traditional and modern, but with an overall feel that is perhaps more continental café bar than a traditional British pub.

Outside a blackboard tells us that the pub was CAMRA York Pub of the Season in Autumn 2008. It promises us a friendly welcome and - at the date of my visit in late June - was proudly announcing itself as a football free zone.

The main bar contains a number of photos of old York and leads through to a small conservatory and an outside patio. In the conservatory we learn that a three legged mare was a novel form of gallows comprising a horizontal triangle supported by three legs. Its design meant that several felons could be hanged at once. A replica of this may be found in the back garden.

On the real ale front, there's 3 banks of 3 pumps. Beers on from the York Brewery were the usual 4 - Yorkshire Terrier, Centurion Ghost, Guzzler and Constantine. Also on from York Brewery were York Mild plus Wonkey Donkey, the latter of which is promoted as unique to this pub. Guest beers were from Tring and Castle Rock. York Brewery beers were generally priced at being between £ 2.60p and £ 2.80p. The Yorkshire Terrier was in good form. The pub is in the CAMRA Good Beer Guide for 2010.

The staff here were exceptionally attentive and helpful and, on my visit, were going way beyond the call of duty in helping a group of irritating and demanding tourists with limited English language skills, find their way to the brewery for one of the brewery tours.

This is a good place in the City Centre for sampling the wares of the York Brewery.

On 15th October 2010 - rating: 5
[User has posted 560 recommendations about 560 pubs]

Page: 1 2