User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Yet another list with Mobyduck on the Pub Forum

The Angel (JD Wetherspoon), N1

3-5 Islington High Street
N1
N1 9LQ

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

J D Wetherspoon
Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Rex Rattus left this review about The Angel (JD Wetherspoon)

This a typical formulaic 'spoons, pretty much a carbon copy of of many other 'spoons that I've visited. There are the usual tall tables/tall stools crammed in at the front area of the pub, with the usual normal tables and chairs crammed in at the back, mainly on a carpeted raised area on the right.

But, as always, the 'spoons is the best value for a bite to eat with a decent pint, with the pepperoni pizza accompanied by a pint of Portobello Chestnut Ale coming in at £8.79. The guest ales here are £2.39.

This pub is OK for what it is - a good value busy 'spoons on a busy thoroughfare.

On 6th January 2020 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2573 recommendations about 2491 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about The Angel (JD Wetherspoon)

Small dull basic Spoons but busy and warm on a cold nightand snowy night.Good selection of London festival beers and the two I tried were good.Slight problem getting 2 halves and using a voucher but eventually resolved.

On 2nd February 2019 - rating: 6
[User has posted 923 recommendations about 910 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Angel (JD Wetherspoon)

This is a surprisingly small branch of the ubiquitous Wetherspoons chain, which has adopted the name of its famous predecessor from which the area takes its name, although the original pub was not on the site of the present day venue. The original pub was apparently built in 1639 and then rebuilt on at least two occasions before finally closing in 1921 and if you want to see the building it last occupied, you need to look out for Lyons Corner House, a little further up the road. The pub has a simple rectangular room split across two levels with the bar to the front left. You enter into the lower front half with exposed floorboards and lots of high tables and stools as well as plenty of slot machines. The bar has a curved ended counter with the usual polished stone top, plus a fairly unmemorable dark wood, mirrored bar back. As you pass the bar, the lower section continues along the left hand side where some nice back to back banquette booths can be found beneath some plain mirrors and a board listing the craft beer range. To the right is the carpeted raised seating area with lots of standard tables and chairs and some long banquettes under a selection of old pictures of the pub and local area as well as the normal selection of local history boards. A TV to the front was showing muted news coverage, but seemed to be the only screen in action throughout the pub. Rather off-puttingly, a number of tables had warning plates stuck to them, alerting customers to the presence of bag snatchers and advising punters to keep their belongings close to hand.
There was a disappointing ratio of six 'Spoons regulars (some doubled up) and three guest ales on the bar, with the remaining hand pumps showing two 'Coming Soon' signs and one reversed clip. I tried a pint of Wimbledon XXK, which was in pretty good nick and went down well after a long walk here.
This is a pub with an iconic name but a pretty underwhelming appearance which I found to be somewhat disappointing, if perhaps not entirely unexpected. It goes without saying that it's a good, cheap option that is very handy for the eponymous tube station, but there are plenty of better pubs close by and I didn't feel particularly bad by the fact that I've somehow never been in here before - I don't feel I was missing out on much. It's a solid enough option, but best to search a little further for much greater rewards.

On 23rd July 2018 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2402 recommendations about 2402 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Angel (JD Wetherspoon)

A very basic 'spoons,and not that huge.The bifold doors open onto a pine floor and the bar to the left side.There are a vast array of copper topped high tables to the front,while at the rear there are two raised section with standard issue tables and chairs.It's functional but unmemorable.
At the bar there are two ranks of 6 handpumps with regulars Doom Bar and GK IPA doubled up,leaving guests Green Jack Lurcher Stout,Phoenix Hopsack,Belhaven Robert Burns Brown Ale,Redemption Red,Wychwood Hobgoblin,DBC Jurrasic,Reunion Single Double Hop and Southwark Neckinger Amber (fine but not a great brew).Well done to the cellar team here,no available soon notices and some tasting notes ,so that's an extra mark from me.Service however was painfully slow.
A wide range of cheap real ale makes it worth a visit but there's not much more to see here.

On 27th January 2018 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2046 recommendations about 2046 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tris C left this review about The Angel (JD Wetherspoon)

This is a fairly typical 'spoons, situated in a former theatre/cinema and taking its name from the legendary Angel pub next door, an imposing baroque structure built for THB, which closed in 1921 and gave its name to this area and - hence square - on the UK Monopoly board.
Inside, you know what to expect, with carpet, pale wood a split level and games machines.
Clients ranged from the trackied-up chavvy to the very elderly with a stag and hen party in between - Aqualung sums it up perfectly '...extras from Last of Summer Wine and Shameless'.
At 12.45 on a Saturday lunchtime, service, as mentioned below, was painfully slow though there was a decent selection of ales, all priced between £2.79 or under; a typical pint in this area of London will set you back north of £4.50 and although I forget what I chose, it was very decent indeed.
All in, the pub's grade arrives largely for serving decent ale at very low prices. However, service leaves a lot to be desired and after all, this is a 'spoons, with all the baggage this attracts.

On 16th July 2017 - rating: 4
[User has posted 950 recommendations about 936 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about The Angel (JD Wetherspoon)

Not many Spoons don't have Abbot ale, but this was one of them. It did have Doombore; however, which I did not partake of. Went in this place a couple of times last week and found the service was good and the Revelation @ 5.5% was in good order.

On 19th January 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1598 recommendations about 1596 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Angel (JD Wetherspoon)

This was our first port of call on a mini crawl around Angel. Service was slow and with patience we managed to get a fairly average Trumans Gypsey Queen and a Portobello Summer Blonde, which tasted ok, until after a few sips, I noticed it was from the bottom of the barrel. The pub had a large selection of bottled craft beers and a selection of their gin was dispensed from glass jars along the back bar.

On 11th August 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2947 recommendations about 2947 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Angel (JD Wetherspoon)

Slow staff, which really went down well in a pub packed out with the Christmas drinkers and their L-plates. Gave up waiting and walked out after 5 minutes.

On 8th January 2015 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3969 recommendations about 3957 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The Angel (JD Wetherspoon)

Quite a bland modern styled interior. It's spoons you know what your getting.

On 19th March 2014 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2670 recommendations about 2613 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Angel (JD Wetherspoon)

I arrived here just before midday today to find this place quite busy, mainly with the extras from Last of the Summer Wine and Shameless.

It's a much smaller place than I expected and to be honest it's quite basic for a Spoons with a wooden floor and basic wooden furniture. Needless to say it's a shop conversion so the building has no redeeming features at all.


What really annoyed me was that on arrival there was just one member of staff serving despite the fact that it was busy. After a while a Zombie like female who looked like she had just been awoken from a deep sleep also appeared which improved things slightly.

I tried the Butcombe Old Vic Porter at £2.05 which turned out to be the cheapest pint of the day. It was in very good nick.

I wouldn't make an effort to return here, but it gets an extra point for the beer quality.

On 18th January 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2147 recommendations about 2142 pubs]

Page: 1 2