User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
2020 Spring crawl: Preston on Friday, 17th April with oldboots on the Pub Forum

The Fellows, Dudley Central, Dudley

1 The Broadway
Dudley
DY1 4QD
Phone: 01384243600

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Peculiar left this review about The Fellows

Having seen their facebook page, I decided to pop in for a pint of Special bitter; big mistake! Place was gloomy and not very welcoming, only four people in (the barperson looked bored out of her skull) and the beer was warm - obviously none had been served since the pub opened.
You also have to pay £2 to park, this is apparently refunded in the pub but the sign on the parking meter is missing, so it can be a very expensive pint.
Not somewhere I'll go again.

On 24th August 2018 - rating: 3
[User has posted 92 recommendations about 87 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about The Fellows

Not too bad a place. Its split into 2 with the rear part for "Diners Only". The pub part has the feel of a basement bar despite it being on the ground floor. A total of 11 handpumps in two banks of 5 and 6. Four Holdens beers on and a cider all doubled up. Real ales between £2.50 and £2.80 is a fair deal.

On 1st July 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3380 recommendations about 3297 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Fellows

Edit: This is a Holden's tied house and now appears on their online list.

Visit 01st March 2014

I'm not sure that this is actually a Holden's tied house as it doesn't appear on the list of their pubs on the brewery website. It's about as far away as you can get from places like the Vine or the Beacon Hotel in that there is an emphasis on food, the interior is modern and it is used as a music venue some nights. There are two banks of pumps despite the fact that only the four standard Holden ales were on offer although the clipped mild is apparently bottled which seems a bit underhand.
I went for the Holden's Black Country bitter (£2.75) which was in superb condition and was the best pint of the day. It's more expensive than other pubs but this one is somewhat more upmarket.
This is probably the only Holden's beer you are likely to find in Central Dudley which makes it worth a visit, even if like me the interior isn't to your taste.

On 11th February 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2147 recommendations about 2142 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about The Fellows

The friends we were with brought us to this Holdens pub for a bite to eat, and it is in the 2014 Good Beer Guide. I thought being Christmas there may have been a seasonal at least, but there was only their Bitter, Special and Golden Glow on. We had the Golden Glow and Special, both of which were excellent, as was the food available. The steak bagette was really good value for money with the chunky chips.

On 2nd January 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1306 recommendations about 1196 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ale Monster left this review about The Fellows

Mid 1800’s Grade II listed former upper class gentlemen’s social club with castellated features and an interesting glazed gallery in the one corner of the first floor overlooking the car park towards Dudley Castle, the premises have been refurbished and reopened by the Holdens brewery just a couple of years ago. If you consider the front of the building to be the long right hand side as viewed from the street then the contemporary interior has two areas on the ground floor, a large public bar on the left and a small dining area on the right, there is also a larger restaurant area on the first floor which can be hired for events. The public bar entrance is in the front left corner of the building this reveals a dark wood bar counter across the back wall with a lovely old Victorian cast fire place with black painted wood mantle in the right wall, a modern wood floor, couple of wide brick pillars in the middle of the room, hand full of dark brown leather arm chairs dotted around and a large flat screen TV in the middle of the front wall. On the right of the bar, next to the fire place is a narrow opening through to the small dining area, but I only popped my head in to glimpse several standard four seater tables arranged next to modern fixed brown fabric bench seating against the walls and normal dining chairs. The walls and previously mentioned pillars are brick and half wood tongue and groove painted white.

Regular ales are Holdens Bitter, Mild, Special and Golden Glow with no guest beers as far as I can tell from a couple of visits. I asked for a Mild but it had run out so I had a Glow which was good. Full selection of Holdens standard range but no changing guests is a bit disappointing from a brewery that normally supports local micro-breweries.

A slightly more modern interior than I normally feel entirely comfortable having a drink in, but it has been refurbished in a fairly sympathetic manner by today’s standards, thankfully no horrible fairy lights or crap vases full of twigs. The public bar is a fair size and sparsely furnished with a plain decor which means it feels a bit clinical and lacking character, I imagine it feels better when there are more people in. I like Holdens beers so I would return for a pint but it’s not one of their better pubs or the first place in Dudley that I would consider for a drink.

On 22nd June 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 199 recommendations about 199 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about The Fellows

A large detached and almost country house place, complete with crenelations. It is in white render and now a part of the Holdens Brewery chain. It has been a private members club and a Beefeater in the past, so little surprise that this is in fact a pub and grill. There is a beer garden/patio area.

The interior is on a couple of floors with an extended dining area on the floor above. The ground floor, the bar/dining area is a general U-shape with part partitions around. The decor is a pastle green and white, with white ceiling and painted beams - the walls i think are similar upstairs. The floor is laminate wood. It is open plan, and supported by brick piers. There are some old photos on the walls, but it looked a little bare and there were pictures of Dudley Zoo upstairs. The service was functional and there were few in on our Sunday visit. We ate here and the food seemed decent enough. A TV was on, with the news and the music was general and an ok level.

Beer; tap stuff with the Holden's range, so that would be Bitter, Golden Glow and Special, as the MILD seemed not to be on. The Glow was fine of course. There was also a guest in the shape of Nottinghamshire Brewery's Extra Pale Ale.

It seems completely out of kilter with other Holden's pubs, so one-up for those that like a more crisp look. I will go back because it sells Holdens, though i will be disappointed if the MILD has gone for good.

On 7th June 2011 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3053 recommendations about 3048 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Delboy 20 left this review about The Fellows

The Fellows is now open again. It has been taken on by Holdens brewery.

On 28th November 2010 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1035 recommendations about 996 pubs]