User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Pub Snacks with Aqualung on the Pub Forum

The Crosse Keys (JD Wetherspoon), Leadenhall, EC3

9 Gracechurch Street
EC3
EC3V 0DR
Phone: 02076234824

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

J D Wetherspoon
Page: 1 2 3

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Ian Mapp left this review about The Crosse Keys (JD Wetherspoon)

former HQ of HSBC and now a Wetherspoons GBG 2020 entry.

The building - if you look up - is stunning. all marble columns and huge lighting rigs in a cavernously airy room.

If you look down, you'll see the usual JDW sticky tables covered in spent glasses and "interesting" carpet.

Beer Choice is beyond comprehension - 24 hand pulls advertised on TV Screens. If you use the app, you can only select the regulars. London Pride was in poor condition.

There is no doubt I would come again. So much to discover, if I actually get to the bar.

10 for the building/choice. 4 for the quality.

On 4th November 2019 - rating: 10
[User has posted 641 recommendations about 635 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Crosse Keys (JD Wetherspoon)

A huge Spoons in a fairly impressive building both inside and out, the former HQ of HSBC and a good amount of the former banking ornateness remains in situ; marble columns, statuettes, rotundas, globe skylights - that sort of thing although the dimness of the interior can make some of it difficult to immediately spot. Absolutely crazily busy on my weekday evening visit, so the oval-shaped island bar in the middle of the place does really help to thin out the queues at the bar. Unfortunately the service was, to put it politely, ‘haphazard’ which meant that when I received a pint of grot it took a fair while to flag down another member of staff to get it replaced (with something that was simply meh rather than actively unpleasant, an NBSS 2). With a maximum of 18 beers potentially on the go at any one time (check the electronic board, if you see it), perhaps my receiving poor ones should not have been too much of a surprise – is anyone there genuinely managing the ale? Unlikely. To get away from the scrum we decided to try and sit upstairs which proved to be a good move as it was far less busy and we managed to bag a seat on the balcony giving us a birds eye view of the whole ground floor. A mixed bag – I’d certainly recommend a visit for the interior but I’d be dubious about ordering ale again.

On 1st April 2019 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3969 recommendations about 3957 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Delboy 20 left this review about The Crosse Keys (JD Wetherspoon)

Impressive building and a larger than usual choice of ales for a Spoons. The one I chose wasn't the best but I may just have been unlucky! I would give it another chance when I am next in the area.

On 7th June 2018 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1049 recommendations about 1010 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tris C left this review about The Crosse Keys (JD Wetherspoon)

The Crosse Keys follows Wetherspoon's trend of naming some of their outlets after former local pubs, in this case an ancient Gracechurch Street coaching inn, rebuilt after the Great Fire of 1666 and surviving until at least the mid-19th century.
Opened in 1999, this was the headquarters of the Hong Kong & Shanghai Bank - huge doesn't do the place justice. To paraphrase Obi Wan: "That's no moon. It's a Wetherspoon's". The interior is rather plush, no doubt pandering to what must be the company's wealthiest client base. At centre, there's a large oval bar with seating all around with many customers eating. It's the deep coffered ceiling though that's most impressive. Out of the rear fire escape, and there's access to a small churchyard. The list of ales is impressive and the quality is there, but of course you now have to pay in advance of being served which isn't on, although at least it's cheap - for London - with two pints coming in at £6.90.
The interior may be impressive up to a point, but the noise of chatter and poor acoustics means that it's very noisy in here with little in the way of creature comforts - if you like drinking in a posh airport departure lounge with flashing games machines this may appeal. There's also the advantage that it's open until 11.00 pm on Saturday and 9.00 pm on Sunday, when hardly anything around here is open at all during the weekend.
As far as the ale department goes, this place ticks many boxes but as with virtually all 'spoons, there's nothing for the all-round traditional pub enthusiast.

On 27th April 2018 - rating: 5
[User has posted 953 recommendations about 939 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Graham Coombs left this review about The Crosse Keys (JD Wetherspoon)

A vast selection of real ales and craft taps in a huge and splendidly imposing interior but, as mentioned below, the brewery promotion material was very out of place. Possibly because it was a Monday but quite a few of the 18 or so ales were out so ended up with my 4th choice which was at least in good condition. Certainly somewhere you could have a good session.

On 29th January 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2194 recommendations about 2145 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The Crosse Keys (JD Wetherspoon)

A massive former bank that gets more ornate towards the rear but the puggy machines and the drinks promotions detract from the ambience. The central island bar has TV screens listing 24 ales/ciders available. Double it up with the nearby counting house for another impressive interior.

On 24th November 2016 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2692 recommendations about 2636 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Crosse Keys (JD Wetherspoon)

Huge former banking hall, with a high ceiling and a single oval island bar. There is also a rear room and a balcony area, although the latter is not always open for general use. Always has a fine choice of ales from the 24 handpumps, and these are helpfully listed on TV screens so that you can work out what's on before heading for the counter where you can probably only see six or so clips from any one position. Quality always seems good too, and I enjoyed a pint of Nethergate Harvest Stout (£3.40) on my latest visit. Overall, remains one of the destination pubs in the City (particularly if you can get there at a quieter time).

On 24th September 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6000 recommendations about 6000 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Crosse Keys (JD Wetherspoon)

I paid my long overdue first visit to this place the other day, and was duly impressed. This is a vaulted cathedral of a pub. There is a large open space, like most ‘spoons, crammed full of normal tables and chairs with a few tall tables/tall stools at the sides. The majesty of the place is diminished somewhat by the banks of fruit and games machines flashing away in a distracting manner, but I suppose they must be there to make money. The most unusual things here are the TV displays above the bar showing the available ales. This could be very useful when the pub’s busy, but as I was in very early for a traditional breakfast, and being a bit of a traditionalist, I found looking at the pumpclips easier.
There are three banks of handpumps. The two banks at the front to the left of the server were all guest ales with no doubling up as far as I could see. The third bank is tucked away at the back out of sight behind the servery; fair enough as it contained only the usual suspects. You would be very unlucky if you couldn’t find something you fancy drinking in here. My Oakham Inferno was to notch.
For a ‘spoons it’s good. Magnificent it is; cosy it ain’t.

On 18th July 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2575 recommendations about 2493 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Crosse Keys (JD Wetherspoon)

Another 8 from me and close to a 9 - for a Spoons! I couldn't fault this place. The service was excellent. Well this was mid-Monday afternoon. Still, the staff didn't hide away anywhere when you went up to the bar. I have to agree with Just a Quick Pint, there was a good choice of ales on. The main area is vast and even the large central oval bar is swallowed up. The full 24 handpumps were all dispensing on our visit, so it was like visiting a mini beer fest. The Southwark Brewery Bermondsey and Dorking Brewery Red India Ale were top notch. Well worth a visit.

On 10th February 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2975 recommendations about 2975 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about The Crosse Keys (JD Wetherspoon)

Big pub that suffers from lack of natural light and guest beers.Supposedly 20 guest beers but only 5 fairly common to Wetherspoon beers on my visit.They do make the effort when the beer fest is on but I have had this problem on previous visits.A very Crosse customer moi.

On 18th July 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 933 recommendations about 920 pubs]

Page: 1 2 3